Annan v Clyde/ Clyde v Annan

59 minutes ago, Annan Massive said:

Never a penalty !!!
Midgets and jakey's the lot of you's !!!

Aye it was cause the ref gave it. 

And yeh, I’m a midget and a jakey but I’m a celebrating midget jakey ! 

Have a nice night. 

Looks like we're definitely on our way back. Thank f**k. Congratulations to everyone at Clyde. The manager, the coaching staff, the players and finally the supporters, who are, by far, the best in the League.

Annan are brutal to watch but you have to give credit to a them for getting to the playoff final. Their management team have done a fantastic job with little financial backing.

I thought Bobby Madden had a very good game today. He was not taking Annan’s play acting and time wasting at all. Didn’t let the physio on unless someone was clearly injured (compare that to Tuesday) and penalised the yard stealing at throw ins early on (again, compare that to Tuesday ! ). 
I didn’t see the penalty incident but what was notable to me was that Annan players didn’t put up much of an argument which tells a story. Hand ball I think. 
I really wish I knew how to down vote this comment.

Madden was dreadful. Allowing Annan players to feign injury and not having to go of the field. Not to mention the stealing yards and time wasting.

Pointing to his watch every time Annan performed their time wasting antics and then adding one minute injury time to that first half.

He was a joke.

Really enjoyable game of football that. Congratulations to Clyde have a great night lads and enjoy yourselves. Back to farm for Annan on Monday.

Has the boy Banks came through the Clyde system? Genuinely one of the best young talents I've seen at this level since Templeton was breaking through. Reminds me of David Brooks at Bournemouth I'm excited to see how his career progresses after that today.

1 minute ago, haufdaft said:

I really wish I knew how to down vote this comment.

Madden was dreadful. Allowing Annan players to feign injury and not having to go of the field. Not to mention the stealing yards and time wasting.

Pointing to his watch every time Annan performed their time wasting antics and then adding one minute injury time to that first half.

He was a joke.

Did you see the ref on Tuesday !? Constantly let the physio on for nothing, etc...Madden didn’t let them away with it. He was much better than a lot of refs we’ve had this season. 

Only my opinion ! 

1 minute ago, Neilly said:

Really enjoyable game of football that. Congratulations to Clyde have a great night lads and enjoy yourselves. Back to farm for Annan on Monday.

Has the boy Banks came through the Clyde system? Genuinely one of the best young talents I've seen at this level since Templeton was breaking through. Reminds me of David Brooks at Bournemouth I'm excited to see how his career progresses after that today.

He's on Dundee Utds books we got him on loan hopefully we have him for next season too 

1 minute ago, Neilly said:

He’s been on loan from Dundee United. He’s a great talent. Has sometimes struggled with the physical side of things but he’s only 17. Would love to have him back next year but I think anything like that would be very dependent on what league Dundee United find themselves in.

2 minutes ago, Neilly said:

Neilly, Banks is on loan from Dundee United. He’s only 17. Great prospect. 

I thought Bobby Madden had a very good game today. He was not taking Annan’s play acting and time wasting at all. Didn’t let the physio on unless someone was clearly injured (compare that to Tuesday) and penalised the yard stealing at throw ins early on (again, compare that to Tuesday ! ). 
I didn’t see the penalty incident but what was notable to me was that Annan players didn’t put up much of an argument which tells a story. Hand ball I think. 

Agreed, but I felt at times that he had left his book at home.

What a day. Didn’t think we played very well at all, players looked well nervous, McStay in particular, but couldn’t care less how we done it. Fair fucks to Love for taking the penalty, must have been quite nervous.

Don’t think Annan offered anything. They set up to frustrate us and to an extent in the first half it worked.

Delighted, absolutely delighted. Fair play to Annan fans for kicking about at FT to applaud the team. Best of luck next season. Try to rap the time wasting tactics on the head however [emoji6]

3 hours ago, badgerthewitness said:

Good luck, Annan. Get them hounded.

4 hours ago, PELE said:

May the best team win. Still think it will be Annan.

2 hours ago, Hossy87 said:

Hoping Annan do it today. 

1 hour ago, Annan Massive said:

Never a penalty !!!
Midgets and jakey's the lot of you's !!!

Fucking brilliant

Also, Tom Lang had an absolutely brilliant game, him and Grant were clear stand outs for me. Praying Goodwillie will be fine and on form for League 1 next season.

We go again [emoji837][emoji836]️[emoji835]️

Annan were a decent football side under Cairney, regressed with Chumpman and are unwatchable under Murphy. If they tried and concentrated to play football then they might get somewhere although I reckon their board doesn't have the ambition. Could end up like Gretna.

Firstly, another offer of commiseration to Annan and their fans who travelled in decent numbers today. Your final position belies just how magnificent a season of relative over-achievement you've had; Murphy has worked wonders with you, and if he can somehow have more resource made available (and you can hold on to him), I wouldn't bet against him having you involved in the promotion reckoning again next term. This squad maketh not always a team for the purists, but you can only work with what you've got at hand and amid a Clyde onslaught you can't blame their usage of every single trick in the book - and even invention of some new ones - today, although I do feel that they wilted a little with the occasion and could have shown some more ambition going forward. In saying that, Tony Wallace was a few feet away from ending the tie with that volley in the first half. Nade caused us some real bother at times today, but in truth I thought Muir would have been on sooner. In any case, unlucky again. It's a bit disappointing to see Murphy coming out and lambasting the ref who didn't really do enough to stamp out some of Annan's antics; I don't think he should be arguing too fervently that we didn't deserve that today, all-told.

As for Clyde, I could sit here and write until the end of next season about today. I thought that was the tie finished when Annan capitalised on that missed penalty in the first leg, and was watching on through my fingers praying that they wouldn't get another. As I posted last night, though, I was confident that if we managed to keep our heads, we would at the very least claw ourselves back level. A slice of luck (although one which was richly-deserved, given the way the game had gone) and a typically (what?!) McNifficent finish was what brought it, and I think that was always going to be the case as Annan started defending ever-more-manfully. Scott Banks' inclusion was a masterstroke; Annan couldn't live with him today and he was very unlucky not to score himself. Syvertsen showed some flashes of brilliance, too. I am exceptionally proud of every single one of those players; I questioned their record in big-stakes games and today, every single one of them got it right up me and left everything out on that park. I think just about every player had a "moment", or made a mistake, but they handled the occasion so, so well and far better than I thought possible. 

As things wore on, I grew more and more resigned to the glorious, spectacular and belief-defying failure Clyde seem to specialise in more than most - a sucker-punch seemed ever more likely as the number of imperfect final balls mounted and Mitchell was called into some sound stopping action, and then at 1-1 I felt that the loss of Goodwillie would rock us. Ally Love, though. An absolutely outstanding squad player and super sub for us this year and through my blurry, frenzied vision came the euphoric sight that was his penalty rippling the back of the net.

I still can't really believe this has happened, and it all just seems so perfect; Duffy's somewhat Annan-esque side missing winning penalties at New Bayview, David Galt merking us with that obscene strike a few years later. Watching Charlie Miller being walked past as we tamely surrendered 4-0 at Hampden. Bottling a title battle in 2016, testing the trapdoor to near its limits just a year later, the brave new dawn of Jim Chapman falling apart and our disappointment when we just missed out last year. My first consistent attendance of Clyde games coincided with our first season in the Third Division/League Two; I was sold a cheap season ticket and a tall tale of Clyde enjoying a revival, having not been that bothered about attending games previously - when we were actually not that bad. Every single season, as everyone does, we have dreamed, but we've carried an expectation and been let down in just about every way imaginable. But today we weren't and here we are now - being run as well as we have been since our last promotion, with a young squad it is impossible not to completely and utterly adore. A brilliant manager (and assistant) at the helm, and the closest thing we've had to a united fan base in well over a decade.

It hasn't been easy being a Clyde fan for quite a while now, but being there through so much shite just makes this day all the sweeter. Magic.

Edited by the_bully_wee