Queen's Park V Peterheid

1 hour ago, The man with no name said:

Congratulations to Peterhead.

Non event today. We created nothing and were pedestrian throughout. 

Looks like a trip to Cove next season. 

At least the trips to Cove will be offset with your two trips to Broadwood

26 minutes ago, Hampden Diehard said:

The game highlighted the difference between where we are and where the top four are. We need more of a physical presence. Peterhead seemed to have a full six-foot plus team.

We're absolutely miles off top four. It's a crucial summer for us. This trap door gives me a jittery arse.

You'd think Rovers will improve from where they were for much of the season. Looking like Cove will come up and they're not short of a bob. Everyone else around us will be hoping for improvement and playoffs, but inevitably some will be sucked into the basement battle. We've got to hope it's not us. 

3 minutes ago, Officer Barbrady said:

Fair play. Congrats PedroCranium. Bluffed it better than last year, and we totally shat the bed today with a 90 minute version of all your second-halves since Christmas. 

c***s. 

Glad its over & done with. May seem a bit strange after a title win with a good points total but there have not been too many games where we have really played well this season, can only think of a couple that I came away from thinking we played really well there. Certainly happy not to have to endure the play offs again depending how they all work out League 1 will be a challenge unless we improve again.

14 minutes ago, peternapper said:

Glad its over & done with. May seem a bit strange after a title win with a good points total but there have not been too many games where we have really played well this season, can only think of a couple that I came away from thinking we played really well there. Certainly happy not to have to endure the play offs again depending how they all work out League 1 will be a challenge unless we improve again.

Yes, absolutely. Objectively, i think a serious revevaluation is needed for you guys. Pardon me for not giving a f**k whether or not you action it at this moment. Personally, even i cant say we deserve to top you after turning out that turgid pish today. Our Autumn maliase cost us- i can only wonder if any of our happy-clapper arseholes will admit to its culpability in not beating you. 

Best of luck. Gen up. 

Edited by Officer Barbrady

4 hours ago, As Easterly as it gets! said:

Beg pardon. 

I remember about 5 young neds standing behind us at Boroughbriggs shouting....'were gonna win the R B Farquhar league'.

That count?

FWIW, you didnt.

no one cares in peterhead about their home team but money counts

45 minutes ago, peternapper said:

If you keep that squad together, add a bit of depth and get a half-decent manager to take charge of it - should McInally walk, as has been suggested - then you'll have no bother in League One, and depending on the overall strength of the league could be an outside bet for a promotion playoff berth. 

33 minutes ago, Officer Barbrady said:

Our Autumn maliase cost us- i can only wonder if any of our happy-clapper arseholes will admit to its culpability in not beating you. 

I think, in the end, several things cost us. Nobody can ever know what would have happened if we hadn't had that wobble (how long would it otherwise have taken for us to drop Nicoll and free Rankin?), if the Fitzpatrick situation hadn't arisen/the punishments were less severe, or if certain results had been different (3-3 draws against Berwick and Peterhead at home in games we really ought to have won stick out, given what was in front of us on both occasions). We could've wilted under the pressure of going top; this squad has done exceptionally, but they've always been so as 'chasers', both last season and this. I don't think any single factor can be pointed to - though some are more glaring than others - but we're still in a strong position and have a right good chance of realising our season's ambition. Gutting that there's no trophy to show for what's been a cracking season all-in, right enough, and it'll be a footballing injustice if we don't end up promoted.

34 minutes ago, the_bully_wee said:

If you keep that squad together, add a bit of depth and get a half-decent manager to take charge of it - should McInally walk, as has been suggested - then you'll have no bother in League One, and depending on the overall strength of the league could be an outside bet for a promotion playoff berth. 

I think, in the end, several things cost us. Nobody can ever know what would have happened if we hadn't had that wobble (how long would it otherwise have taken for us to drop Nicoll and free Rankin?), if the Fitzpatrick situation hadn't arisen/the punishments were less severe, or if certain results had been different (3-3 draws against Berwick and Peterhead at home in games we really ought to have won stick out, given what was in front of us on both occasions). We could've wilted under the pressure of going top; this squad has done exceptionally, but they've always been so as 'chasers', both last season and this. I don't think any single factor can be pointed to - though some are more glaring than others - but we're still in a strong position and have a right good chance of realising our season's ambition. Gutting that there's no trophy to show for what's been a cracking season all-in, right enough, and it'll be a footballing injustice if we don't end up promoted.

Yes it will, Ross. But there's something of a shop-window feel about the containment of our success up until now. It reeks of us once again falling at a hurdle that isn't so difficult elsewhere. I mean, for fucks sake, Callum Home has a medal out of this!!

I felt our amatuerish start today was reminiscent of our game vs Berwick last year, where the 90 mins in front us dissipitated on the basis that it required a jump-start from the "other" match- immaturity? idealism? who knows? We clearly have little focus when the prizes are in sight, even after estsblishing our own credentials. They didn't need to bother about events at Hampden today, yet couldn't match what was in front of them. The point of runs taking in 1 defeat in 25 is that there's a plan behind it, and today there wasn't. Absolutely f**k-all. Maybe the straight knockout minileague could benefit us, but if Cowden can see through us, why shouldn't Edinburgh or Stenny or Annan? 

I'm not sure we have it left to give. Peterhead would smash all three into the ground, frankly. 

Edited by Officer Barbrady

2 minutes ago, Officer Barbrady said:

Yes it will, Ross. But there's something of a shop-window feel about the containment of our success up until now. It reeks of us once again falling at a hurdle that isn't so difficult elsewhere. I mean, for fucks sake, Callum Home has a medal out of this!!

I felt our amatuerish start today was reminiscent of our game vs Berwick last year, where the 90 mins in front us dissipitated on the basis that it required a jump-start from the "other" match- immaturity? idealism? who knows? We clearly have little focus when the prizes are in sight, even after estsblishing our own credentials. They didn't need to bother about events at Hampden today, yet couldn't match what was in front of them. The point of runs taking in 1 defeat in 25 is that there's a plan behind it, and today there wasn't. Absolutely f**k-all. Maybe the straight knockout minileague could benefit us, but if Cowden can see through us, why shouldn't Edinburgh or Stenny or Annan? 

I'm not sure we have it left to give. 

Without wanting to derail this thread too far, team selection was the main issue today/yesterday for me. Tight, bobbly pitches are our nemeses and Lennon (a brilliant manager for us, but in no way immune from criticism) seems to subscribe to the fairly simplistic but understandable theory that Nicoll should play on such surfaces. He shouldn't, though, because we are a good footballing team and - for all I love him and his shithousing cameos to protect leads - his inclusion from the start is detrimental to our ability to move the ball with any real tempo. We were far too low-tempo and direct today and, regardless of whether that was by design or not, we should always try to stay true to what we are. I love that we can mix it but also play direct at times (that's what carried us this far), and we mixed it very well at a genuinely awful Cliftonhill pitch last month, but no such balance was struck vs Cowden. My fear is that the performance was not just circumstantial and a instead a direct result of Rankin's absence, and the subsequent absence of his intelligent runs into channels/showings for possession from deep. Only Cuddihy could step into that role and perform well and if he's goosed - or we don't play him there - then I fear we could be in the shit and liable to further performances like that one earlier. 

2 minutes ago, the_bully_wee said:

Without wanting to derail this thread too far, team selection was the main issue today/yesterday for me. Tight, bobbly pitches are our nemeses and Lennon (a brilliant manager for us, but in no way immune from criticism) seems to subscribe to the fairly simplistic but understandable theory that Nicoll should play on such surfaces. He shouldn't, though, because we are a good footballing team and - for all I love him and his shithousing cameos to protect leads - his inclusion from the start is detrimental to our ability to move the ball with any real tempo. We were far too low-tempo and direct today and, regardless of whether that was by design or not, we should always try to stay true to what we are. I love that we can mix it but also play direct at times (that's what carried us this far), and we mixed it very well at a genuinely awful Cliftonhill pitch last month, but no such balance was struck vs Cowden. My fear is that the performance was not just circumstantial and a instead a direct result of Rankin's absence, and the subsequent absence of his intelligent runs into channels/showings for possession from deep. Only Cuddihy could step into that role and perform well and if he's goosed - or we don't play him there - then I fear we could be in the shit and liable to further performances like that one earlier. 

Absolutely. 

2 hours ago, Muzza81 said:

Get it right up Clyde.

:lol: Thats a pretty funny end to the season girfuy , But  ,, Credit to Edinburgh and Clyde who made that League exciting till the end . I honestly thought it was going to be like Montrose last season.. Hope Annan win the play  offs ..Good team and good folk ..

8 hours ago, elgin proud said:

no one cares in peterhead about their home team but money counts

Really? And Elgin fans are top notch , never miss a game types?

Theres a lot more kids buying and wearing PFC football strips now than there was 10 years ago. 

We have the same problem as every other highland town.....buses leaving for Glasgow . Nothing is going to change that. Apart from a temporary lull from one or t'other of the terrible twosome. Even then , only a handful of those guys will make the effort to turn up at Balmoor.

It is what it is.

All this 'I can pish higher than you' garbage solves nothing, but on you go.

Just watch the wind is not in your face.

4 hours ago, gastropod said:

:lol: Thats a pretty funny end to the season girfuy , But  ,, Credit to Edinburgh and Clyde who made that League exciting till the end . I honestly thought it was going to be like Montrose last season.. Hope Annan win the play  offs ..Good team and good folk ..

I think the biggest surprise was how badly Edinburgh City fell away. They looked a decent outfit with a good goalscorer.

16 hours ago, strichener said:

Not at the game due to other commitments but I can assure you that I have cheered and shouted after all three goals.

Given our recent results you can certainly understand the lack of premature celebrations.

Totally get why fans  wouldn’t want to prematurely celebrate, but there weren’t even even any songs of support either. Very bizarre.  Took until the 89th  minute to get any sort of song going. Fair play to the one guy singing ‘a little respect’ and attempting to wake up the support though. Good effort 

I'm not sure we have it left to give. Peterhead would smash all three into the ground, frankly. 
Stenny would probably smash us yet again. Thankfully we don't have to worry about that.

1 minute ago, Blootoon87 said:
8 hours ago, Officer Barbrady said:

Stenny would probably smash us yet again. Thankfully we don't have to worry about that.

You are fairly ruthless when it matters this year, tbf. Best team won it.

Totally get why fans  wouldn’t want to prematurely celebrate, but there weren’t even even any songs of support either. Very bizarre.  Took until the 89th  minute to get any sort of song going. Fair play to the one guy singing ‘a little respect’ and attempting to wake up the support though. Good effort 
Oh aye, I vaguely remember that now. Thought it was worth a shot.