Falkirk v Alloa, Saturday, 6th April 19

They're also not doing anything that any non-joke part-time side have done since day dot. You'd think it was some sort of miracle that they've managed to win a couple of games this year. It's not like they're in a league with Barcelona and Real Madrid. 

Their media coverage merely fits in with the medias preferred narrative for Goodwin.

Same as Naysmith at Queens. When they were doing ok he was getting praised to the rafters. Not much now though....

Not a criticism of either guy btw, but its clear that those two along with Caldwell can do no wrong in the Scottish Football media world.

ETA take it as criticism of Caldwell tho since he is very obviously a bellend.

• Replies 269
1 hour ago, Marshmallo said:

They're also not doing anything that any non-joke part-time side have done since day dot. You'd think it was some sort of miracle that they've managed to win a couple of games this year. It's not like they're in a league with Barcelona and Real Madrid. 

You post the same pish about us every week.I will have a word and see if we can,t get you,re sweets returned.

15 minutes ago, Kobe2010 said:

You post the same pish about us every week.I will have a word and see if we can,t get you,re sweets returned.

He's spot on though. Alloa are really just playing like a bang average part-time team in this league. You have even been given a boost with the likes of ourselves and Partick Thistle having car crash seasons. If Alloa stay up, indeed it willl have been a good season for them; however, nothing extraordinary. Dumbarton managed to survive in this league for 6 years, including a 5th spot finish, which is worthy of credit.

Absolutely terrified about this game today. A defeat will all but confirm us in the bottom two.

18 minutes ago, wee_bairn said:

He's spot on though. Alloa are really just playing like a bang average part-time team in this league. You have even been given a boost with the likes of ourselves and Partick Thistle having car crash seasons. If Alloa stay up, indeed it willl have been a good season for them; however, nothing extraordinary. Dumbarton managed to survive in this league for 6 years, including a 5th spot finish, which is worthy of credit.

Absolutely terrified about this game today. A defeat will all but confirm us in the bottom two.

Dumbarton have easily been the best part time side in the championship in recent years,no argument there but they also benefitted from car crash seasons from Morton,QOS,Raith and the Pars.They also benefitted from never being the only part time team in the league.We ourselves had three seasons in a row and Cowden had four out of five when not the only p/t teams in the league.

11 minutes ago, Kobe2010 said:

Dumbarton have easily been the best part time side in the championship in recent years,no argument there but they also benefitted from car crash seasons from Morton,QOS,Raith and the Pars.They also benefitted from never being the only part time team in the league.We ourselves had three seasons in a row and Cowden had four out of five when not the only p/t teams in the league.

This. Dumbarton also offered better money than we did around that time. Probably still do. Edinburgh City pay their highest paid player substantially more than we do. Airdrie offered Parry a substantial amount more than we did.

When there are two or three teams you're on equal or better footing than, 7th and 8th place is the expectation. 10th was everyone's expectation for us but if we beat that by being above Falkirk or Partick who've got budgets 4x the size of ours and both went out and seriously invested again in January then it'll be exceptional.

1 hour ago, Kobe2010 said:

Did you just headbutt the keyboard then hit post? 

39 minutes ago, Kobe2010 said:

You're proving my point with that final sentence btw - your season just now is par for the course for a non-joke part-time outfit in the second tier of Scottish football. Because of Brechin last year and since it's media darling Jim Goodwin, you'd think Alloa were competing in La Liga with their current budget. 

40 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

Did you just headbutt the keyboard then hit post? 

You're proving my point with that final sentence btw - your season just now is par for the course for a non-joke part-time outfit in the second tier of Scottish football. Because of Brechin last year and since it's media darling Jim Goodwin, you'd think Alloa were competing in La Liga with their current budget. 

The only point i,m proving is how difficult it is for the p/t teams in this league as we are the only ones and maybe not for much longer.Arbroath next season and maybe another from the playoffs and they will find it tough also.Brechin had a holocaust of a season as did Stirling a few years ago so its not too hard to see why we are not gutted at our efforts this far.The La Liga reference is off the charts asno Scottish team survives in that.I do agree with you,re opinion on Goodwin though.

18 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Any team news from Alloa? Wonder if big Roscoe has managed to get Zak "Fucking Goals" Rudden out his head yet?

Wee Zako was in there moving all the furniture about last time out.

Maybe we should get our "Zack " to sort him out , but that said we would lose and he would be sent off..