Alex McLeish Is Sacked.

Ludo*1

Alec McLeish might be "a very nice bloke" ,but he is no longer a half decent football manager .
For 10 grand a week he has managed to make some pretty good players look like they wouldn't get a game in the local pub league team .
If they keep him on to the summer we can write  off the playoffs , it has been a downward spiral since his arrival .

How do you know how much he gets paid?

Imagine being a regular in McLeish's local. I can just imagine him sitting on a high stool at a bar, coat on back of stool, bespectacled, doing that thing were he taps the corner of his glasses while he peruses the form guide for the 3.10 at Kempton. 

He'd actually be alright I reckon. 

Keith Jackson retracted his story or apologised yet?
Or just slinked away and continued peddling more pish without any consequences?

p***k.

To be fair, it’s the SFA who are handling things. Timescales mean nothing and decision making will be laboured.

2 hours ago, Scary Bear said:

To be fair, it’s the SFA who are handling things. Timescales mean nothing and decision making will be laboured.

Regardless of that, Jackson wrote a spurious story claiming he was being sacked that day, and cited a deeply troubling episode in a nippy wee aside insinuating it was a contributory factor. 

He said he would be relieved of his duties over the next 24 hours which appears to be a load of shite but who can tell. We haven’t heard from the SFA or McLeish since then.

You had to trawl through the rest of his article to get to this bit, which sounds a bit more like the SFA: ‘Maxwell has yet to call an emergency board meeting but it’s understood the rest of the directors are aware of his concerns over McLeish. It is expected they will be asked to officially rubber-stamp the decision to part company with the manager as early as next week.’

15 minutes ago, Scary Bear said:

He said he would be relieved of his duties over the next 24 hours which appears to be a load of shite but who can tell. We haven’t heard from the SFA or McLeish since then.

Wait, what? Since it's been more than 24 hours I think it's safe to say we can all tell it was a load of shite.

29 minutes ago, Rugster said:

Wait, what? Since it's been more than 24 hours I think it's safe to say we can all tell it was a load of shite.

He tried walking it back with a follow up article the other day, which only served to say "if it doesn't happen immediately it's the board's fault it's going to happen some day I was right all along". 

As you say though, the lack of factual accuracy in that Scoop Jackson exclusive was not even the worst thing about it.  

On ‎31‎/‎03‎/‎2019 at 21:52, Billy Rubin said:

All true but Berti got chased out by the media.   He's a sound bloke and would be welcomed back to Hampden.   Levein and McLeish are rather obviously complete bellends.    

What has McLeish ever said or done to be described as a bellend?

Dont know anything about Ian Maxwell but he seems as indecisive as the rest of the bungling Blazers on the SFA board .

Big Eck has been a total failure and has lost the backing of 99% of the TA yet he still has the support of Alan McRae ?

Eck must go now to give someone else a chance to sort out the mess before we hit the playoffs .

The SFA should have addressed this, either by releasing a statement saying it was a load of shite and that they back McLeish, or by firing him.

The silence is not good for them, McLeish or the fans.

On 4/2/2019 at 16:50, Rugster said:

Keith Jackson retracted his story or apologised yet?

Or just slinked away and continued peddling more pish without any consequences?

p***k.

4 hours ago, Rugster said:

Totally agree. Verging on libel. The tw*t should be held to account.

So according to The Sun today, Maxwell and McLeish have met. Assume that now the SFA are doing the ‘shall we sack him, aye or naw’ thing. Most of them probably can’t be bothered with the hassle of sacking him and recruiting a real manager given their lack of success in getting their man last time around with the boy from Northern Ireland.

If I was betting on it, they’ll wait until the next round of games, maybe check how many fans turn up for the Cyprus game in June. Even then, I can’t see them getting a replacement unless he is officially ill. Even then, it might be a caretaker post.