Trade Unions

Anyone on here in a Trade Union?

I work in the retail sector, but bullying is rampant within my company from top to bottom.

I'm currently working for a tit of a manager, who now thinks it's okay for my place of work to run with just TWO members of staff during trading on a Sunday which means you can't have an 'official' rest break, despite being contracted to work 7.5 hours on that day.

On an 8 hour weekday shift, it is also the norm to just have a one hour unpaid lunch-break, with neither of the 2 x 15 minute paid breaks you should get being taken.

Now I have asked for a 15 minute break before my lunch-break, I'm accused of causing an 'atmosphere' and am being flung a deafy.

Putting my fist through his face isn't an option, so I was thinking of joining a union.

Can anyone recommend one through personal experience, and how long do you need to be a member before you're able to call on their help?

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think the rule of thumb is that they cant help with things before you become a member but can after you have become a memeber - probably CAB or an employment lawyer will be good alternative. But I would sign up to the Union anyway our strength is in numbers

14 minutes ago, LincolnHearts said:

Anyone on here in a Trade Union?

I work in the retail sector, but bullying is rampant within my company from top to bottom.

I'm currently working for a tit of a manager, who now thinks it's okay for my place of work to run with just TWO members of staff during trading on a Sunday which means you can't have an 'official' rest break, despite being contracted to work 7.5 hours on that day.

On an 8 hour weekday shift, it is also the norm to just have a one hour unpaid lunch-break, with neither of the 2 x 15 minute paid breaks you should get being taken.

Now I have asked for a 15 minute break before my lunch-break, I'm accused of causing an 'atmosphere' and am being flung a deafy.