Albums regarded as classics that are absolute gash

RockMusic

On ‎26‎/‎03‎/‎2019 at 21:43, Lofarl said:

gt Pepper.  It may have been a huge change  in regards of production.  But overall bar a decent track or two its warbling pish. 

Sgt Pepper's lonley hearts club band.  Not a bad opening, upbeat and promising.

Fucking help of my friends, f**k off Ringo you wanky dick.  No c**t likes you. 

Lucy in the sky has a decent chorus and thats it. 

Getting better, naw it isnae

Fixing a hole, sounds like an advert for friendly bacteria Yakult

Shes Leaving home.  No wonder Paul, you warbling p***k

Mr Kite.  Just f**k off John

George Harrison Sitar song.  George Harrison Sitar song

When I'm sixty Four.  Nothing says I buy the Daily Mail like this song

Lovely Rita.  Not a bad song.  Good beat despite the Ringo handicap

Good Morning.  It has cats and dogs and Elephant noises on it and foxhunting.

Reprise.  Again a decent wee song

A day in the Life.  One of the best songs of the sixties.

So 2 good songs and one great one.  This is regarded as a classic.  f**k off.

Pepper isn't The Fabs' best album, but it's still a great record.

The title track and its reprise are ok.

With a Little Help from my Friends is a great tune - very melodic, and I love Ringo. :wub:

Lucy in the Sky, Getting Better, and Fixing a Hole are drug-fuelled psychedelic classics, imo.

She's Leaving Home is great - Mike Leander's string arrangement is brilliant.

Never been a huge fan of Mr Kite, tbh, but it has strong melodies, and an inventive production. 

George's tune is brilliant - a great mix of Eastern and Western musicians combining - the strings in the call-and-response instrumental middle section are stunning. 

When I'm 64 is a great wee song that harks back to music hall song writing, although it has a relatively week middle eight, imo.

Lovely Rita is ok - the outro is trippy as f**k.

Good Morning is ok - bits of it are in 5/4, and the guitar solo is stunning. 

A Day in the Life is sublime - Ringo's fills are perfect. 

It's become fashionable to knock Pepper, but it's a great bunch of songs on the whole, with brilliant innovative production techniques for the time - great harmonies, some terrific guitar parts and sounds, and some of McCartney's best basslines. 

The main thing about it, though, as you say, is that it was a game-changer.

Interesting that no singles were culled from Pepper. 

Watched The Bootleg Beatles do that album a couple of years ago in Portmeirion with an orchestra, and it was good fun. Much like a lot of The Beatles' stuff, I quite like most of it without really loving it, but I'm a HUGE fan of "She's Leaving Home".

6 minutes ago, RockMusic said:

How could I forget: Paul Simon's Graceland is one of the most serious pieces of pretentious gash ever put to record. Compare that pile of dung to what he did in the 60s.

I think this one is probably the one one I can think of off the top of my head. Just not my thing at all.

2 minutes ago, Principal Flutie said:

I think this one is probably the one one I can think of off the top of my head. Just not my thing at all.

It was a spectacularly bad record, only got airplay due to the use of African musicians, who were popular at the time.