Next Scotland Manager

22 minutes ago, The Elephant & Castle said:

Has to be Stevie Clarke, if the sfa c***s have any ambitions at all. An up & coming manager, passionate too aboot his country.

Mind you Stevie likes to speak his mind & the sfa don't really like anyone wi the potential to step outta line.

"Up and coming", he's 55, same age as Moyes.

2 hours ago, TheScarf said:

The USA qualifying for a Word Cup is probably the least impressive feat you can achieve in international football.

New Zealand qualifying for the World Cup would respectfully disagree 

18 hours ago, BingMcCrosby said:

You didn't realise he won euro 96 did you

I had no idea about that tbf. 

I was fairly young when we appointed Vogts, you'd think appointing a manager who had so recently won a tournament would be a coup but I'm sure I remember the press being dicks about it. 

Bruce Arena :lol:

Aye SFA, appoint a fucking hopeless foreign manager so you can justify refusing to entertain non-Scots for the 10 years after hes inevitably punted.

2 hours ago, Burnie_man said:

"Up and coming", he's 55, same age as Moyes.

Age has nothing tae do with it, Clarke's been an assistant coach most of his non-playing career, Killie is only his 3rd manager position, has been a caretaker manager a couple of times too. Point is he's no really one o the boys on the managerial merry.go.round and might be a right good kick up the arse the national team needs

30 minutes ago, The Elephant & Castle said:

Age has nothing tae do with it, Clarke's been an assistant coach most of his non-playing career, Killie is only his 3rd manager position, has been a caretaker manager a couple of times too. Point is he's no really one o the boys on the managerial merry.go.round and might be a right good kick up the arse the national team needs

He's managed in the English Premiership. He's 55. He isn't up and coming..........

2 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

New Zealand qualifying for the World Cup would respectfully disagree 

New Zealand hardly ever qualify for the World Cup because they generally have to beat a much bigger nation from another continent in a play-off.

Marc Wilmots under consideration so, surely he will become the new favourite soon because his pedigree is better than Bruce Arena.  In fact, if he's on the shortlist as The Sun report then, he must be favourite ahead of Steve Clarke or second favourite just behind Steve. 

I would be happy with Marc Wilmots but his lack of English would be a worry. 

7 minutes ago, accies1874 said:

Was Wilmots not perceived as a bit of a failure with Belgium given the players he had?

Yeah.

There’s a large number of people advocating any old manager who has prior international experience - regardless of how good they actually were.

11 minutes ago, accies1874 said:

Was Wilmots not perceived as a bit of a failure with Belgium given the players he had?

A relative failure perhaps, but he still took them to the quarter-finals of the World Cup and the Euros.

1 hour ago, accies1874 said:

Are you just going to dismiss every manager touted!!?  Wilmots would be a great appointment for us, especially if he adds a Scot to his coaching team. 

Its ridiculous how every manager gets dismissed due to "being a failure" elsewhere, ffs, we had MCLEISH who is worse than Bruce Arena and Marc Wilmots combined!! 

19 minutes ago, Caley Shaun said:

Are you just going to dismiss every manager touted!!?  Wilmots would be a great appointment for us, especially if he adds a Scot to his coaching team. 

Its ridiculous how every manager gets dismissed due to "being a failure" elsewhere, ffs, we had MCLEISH who is worse than Bruce Arena and Marc Wilmots combined!! 

As mentioned many times previously being better than mcleish is not a reason to appoint a manager. Jim duffy would have been better than mcleish.

Wilmots was not good, couldn't get a brilliant team playing well. He would be a honking appointment.