Liam Neeson

Wasperoonie

2 hours ago, Dons_1988 said:

I definitely fall in the camp of 'fair fucks to him for being honest'.

What he said is actually a really important message to angry young guys out there.  That youthful aggression nearly led him to ruin his life before it had even really started.  He must feel very fortunate he never acted on it.  How many young lives are ruined to this shit, both victim and perpetrator.

On this occasion it's worth looking at the bigger picture than just 'he said something about hurting a black guy'.  

Seriously?

It's not a reasonable reaction at all. Even if you are a complete bam reacting to a rape by attempting to provoke someone of the same race as the rapist so you can murder them is fairly out there behaviour. The idea that he would have been out looking for any white guy is completely laughable.

I am very sceptical about this though as the Taken movies are basically wish fulfilment fantasises for old racists who are raging about their daughters getting pumped so he is probably trying to tap further into that market. I've not seen it but apparently the new Death Wish movie is an auld racist fantasy as well so there must be money in it. If he had really wanted to fight a guy of any race on a Saturday night in 80s or 90s he would have got a scrap no problem (and probably weighed in if he was alone). File this very much under Did Ye Aye?

• Replies 53
1 minute ago, Detournement said:

Seriously?

It's not a reasonable reaction at all. Even if you are a complete bam reacting to a rape by attempting to provoke someone of the same race as the rapist so you can murder them is fairly out there behaviour. The idea that he would have been out looking for any white guy is completely laughable.

I am very sceptical about this though as the Taken movies are basically wish fulfilment fantasises for old racists who are raging about their daughters getting pumped so he is probably trying to tap further into that market. I've not seen it but apparently the new Death Wish movie is an auld racist fantasy as well so there must be money in it. If he had really wanted to fight a guy of any race on a Saturday night in 80s or 90s he would have got a scrap no problem (and probably weighed in if he was alone). File this very much under Did Ye Aye?

Think you're missing the point?

I'm not saying it's a reasonable reaction, he's not saying it's a reasonable reaction.  He's saying it's a horrific reaction, but in his youth he nearly did something horrendous which would have destroyed his and others lives.  The whole point is that anger and that sense of needing revenge can provoke actions that are totally unreasonable.

As to the veracity of it all, you may be right.  I don't know.

Guess if this teaches us nothing, it's that it is better to have learned from your mistakes and pretended you never made them, than to admit that you have grown as a person and were previously misguided in your beliefs.

Nicely put. It’s a miserable state of affairs. I hope Neeson comes out and says something to this effect and doesn’t pander to the pathetic people who are offended.

Being young and thinking that violence or using a weapon is a sensible option isn't remarkable. What is exceptional about this is the American History X level random racism.

American history X is actually a good example.

Young misguided idiot ends up in jail and life ruined over a mindless act of racially aggravated revenge. That film is also about how utterly futile that kind of hatred and anger is.

Good point well made.

Sounds like something that didn't happen to me. Making him sound a bit psycho helps keep the revenge violence porn dollars keep rolling in, when he should be pottering around the garden pruning shrubberies and the like.

16 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

American history X is actually a good example.

Young misguided idiot ends up in jail and life ruined over a mindless act of racially aggravated revenge. That film is also about how utterly futile that kind of hatred and anger is.

Good point well made.

They are proper Nazis in AHX tho. Liam Neeson seems to think he can claim that he was murderous racist for a week and a half as if it was a short blip.

Imagine he had said he was planning to rape someone for a week and half then decided it was a bad idea! I doubt he would be getting the support he is now.

1 hour ago, ali_91 said:

Best thing about this is John Barnes coming out and calling Winston Churchill a white supremicist and a murderer, and in doing so causing serious offence to the same gammons who have spent all day calling people who get offended snowflakes. 

John Barnes was spot on with the recent discussions regarding racism in football and he is spot on again here.

Also Churchill was a c**t so points again for Barnsey. 

14 hours ago, ali_91 said:

Best thing about this is John Barnes coming out and calling Winston Churchill a white supremicist and a murderer, and in doing so causing serious offence to the same gammons who have spent all day calling people who get offended snowflakes. 

Again, what you see with John Barnes is an intelligent football player (albeit an awful, awful football host and/or manager).  When he expresses an opinion that seems incongruous with monosyllabic football fans and monosyllabic football supporters, the gammons watching Sky Sports News get very, very frightened.

If we've learned anything from this, it's that John Barnes > Liam Neeson > Nigel Farage > Sky Sports News fans.

8 minutes ago, Savage Henry said:

Again, what you see with John Barnes is an intelligent football player (albeit an awful, awful football host and/or manager).  

Dreadful rapper too.

20 minutes ago, Savage Henry said:

When he expresses an opinion that seems incongruous with monosyllabic football fans and monosyllabic football supporters

Image result for nerd simpsons

The most worrying thing about all this is the "minority report" style of retribution that many want dished out to Neeson.

The guy's opened up his heart (if you believe him) and told the truth about his primal feelings that all of us have inside us, however there appears to be a clamour to punish him for something that he could have did or might have done, which I find rather frightening, but not at all surprising, judging by the way our society is rapidly descending into a social media driven mob rule.

The other sad thing which will come out of this, is that nobody will give any sort of interview or tell any truths without first running it past Lawyers, Management companies and advisers, so basically we'll just get happy clappy pish rammed down our throats from everyone everywhere (as if it hadn't already been going that way of course).........

Isn't the whole point of Liam Neeson telling this story, about how it's possible for people to evolve throughout their lives due to experience and seeing first hand the error of their ways?

What he doesn't address is that this personal evolution can be a double edged sword, as some people regress as they get older.