The Official Airdrieonians Thread - 2019/20 and beyond

6 minutes ago, Diamonds are Forever said:

I'd assume both. The reality is we are expecting to compete with clubs like Falkirk and Dunfermline with far bigger budgets than us, plus Queen of the South who you'd think would be roughly similar to us financially but their squad size suggests otherwise. You've also got clubs like Kelty and Edinburgh who can probably offer more.

The reality is for us to compete with those teams and get the quality of player necessary we have to run a smaller squad and focus our resources. The alternative would be to sign a bigger squad with less quality which is never going to win you the league.

In terms of recruitment no-one surely thinks McCabe is deliberately running a small squad which gives him no options off the bench, so it's clearly a case that for what we are offering we cannot get the players in. You could sign a few Dean Ritchie types but what is the point? I want us promoted as much as anyone and I do think we have the core of a good team, but the reality is given our resources we should probably be finishing anywhere from 3rd to 6th. We need to remember last season was the exception for us in this league, not the rule, and anything above scrapping for the play-offs is us punching above our weight a bit.

Not suggesting he is deliberately running a small squad but he has always spoke about only bringing in players that can add something which I 100% agree with. It boils me when a new signing is referred as a "squad" player although I'll make an exception for goalies.

Is that the budget done? 

How much has the youth set up impacted it?

Or has Rhys stuck to his signing policy in the hope that we can be lucky with injuries and then strengthen in the next window?

13 minutes ago, Kenny_m said:

Not suggesting he is deliberately running a small squad but he has always spoke about only bringing in players that can add something which I 100% agree with. It boils me when a new signing is referred as a "squad" player although I'll make an exception for goalies.

Is that the budget done? 

How much has the youth set up impacted it?

Or has Rhys stuck to his signing policy in the hope that we can be lucky with injuries and then strengthen in the next window?

In fairness that's what happened last season, from November onwards we had our first 11 in every game pretty much. I know guys like McGill and Kerr missed chunks but they weren't really regulars anyway. If like this season we'd had our goalie out we wouldn't have gone on that run (for all Currie's flaws he is better than Cantley) and all our key players played every game. In that sense we got lucky last season (or weren't unlucky), the squad last season in terms of competent first teamers wasn't much bigger than this season, it's just that they were always available.

I think every football fan can start knee jerking after a bad performance or a few bad performances (myself included) and I was frustrated as everyone who watched that game last night.

I think McCabe going into the job as a 29 year old player manager has done pretty well so far. We have had some pretty impressive results (4-0 vs Falkirk and 2-0 vs St Mirren). I don't think we were every going to reach the heights of last season, but I think the thing about this league is, we don't have to. Queens Park drew 50% of their games last season and got promoted so I'd say the objective at this stage of the season is to be in amongst the play offs.

Looking back at previous seasons, Cove lost 4-2 to East Fife who got relegated and won the league. Thistle had a poor run of games until they signed Scott Tiffoney and went on a great run and ended up winning it. Every team is going to have a bad dip in form.

On the game last night, what cost us was poor defending and poor finishing. I don't think they will be many other teams in league 1 who go away to Montrose and get 24 shots at goal. Their were positives I seen in that performance their is clearly quality within the squad to perform well and get results, but we really do need to be more clinical.

I echo the concerns over the light squad and I felt we should of had another centre back come in as well. I do believe this team will turn things around after a poor run on games, if going 2-0 down and we just collapsed, id be massively concerned but coming back at 2-2 shows the team does have some fight in it. The Edinburgh game I understood what happened, but other than that the only game this season where I took zero performances from in the league wad Kelty.

Also want to point out, I feel some fans comments on twitter telling our manager to GTF and to get sacked already is way OTT.

31 minutes ago, Diamonds are Forever said:

... The reality is we are expecting to compete with clubs like Falkirk and Dunfermline with far bigger budgets than us, plus Queen of the South who you'd think would be roughly similar to us financially but their squad size suggests otherwise...

... The reality is for us to compete with those teams and get the quality of player necessary we have to run a smaller squad and focus our resources. The alternative would be to sign a bigger squad with less quality which is never going to win you the league.

Can't argue that the Pars/Bairns larger budgets should be reflected in better quality squads and so they will be the likeliest candidates for the league title.  Of course as we all know, other factors also come in to play along the way.

I'd also agree that (without any factual financial evidence to support this) it appears likely that Airdrie and Queens probably have similar budgets and if that is the case, then as you say, it looks like Queens have gone for more quantity than quality across our squad - although we have some promising players in there too but no mega stars in the making.  Focusing on a smaller but higher quality squad strategy certainly has its positives but also carries a lot of risk in terms of the almost inevitable injuries and suspensions across a long season.

The comparison between Airdrie and Queens is intriguing for these reasons and also because we have both gone down the player/manager route - although have to say that I'm not a fan of player/manager roles.  Having said that, Gibson has started to realise that he still needs to play, being a level of quality above others vying for that position (even at his age).  McCabe of course is younger and will still think he has a few more seasons in him on the pitch.

Keen to see how these two match up on Saturday.

5 minutes ago, David Fernández said:

I think every football fan can start knee jerking after a bad performance or a few bad performances (myself included) and I was frustrated as everyone who watched that game last night.

I think McCabe going into the job as a 29 year old player manager has done pretty well so far. We have had some pretty impressive results (4-0 vs Falkirk and 2-0 vs St Mirren). I don't think we were every going to reach the heights of last season, but I think the thing about this league is, we don't have to. Queens Park drew 50% of their games last season and got promoted so I'd say the objective at this stage of the season is to be in amongst the play offs.

Looking back at previous seasons, Cove lost 4-2 to East Fife who got relegated and won the league. Thistle had a poor run of games until they signed Scott Tiffoney and went on a great run and ended up winning it. Every team is going to have a bad dip in form.

On the game last night, what cost us was poor defending and poor finishing. I don't think they will be many other teams in league 1 who go away to Montrose and get 24 shots at goal. Their were positives I seen in that performance their is clearly quality within the squad to perform well and get results, but we really do need to be more clinical.

I echo the concerns over the light squad and I felt we should of had another centre back come in as well. I do believe this team will turn things around after a poor run on games, if going 2-0 down and we just collapsed, id be massively concerned but coming back at 2-2 shows the team does have some fight in it. The Edinburgh game I understood what happened, but other than that the only game this season where I took zero performances from in the league wad Kelty.

Also want to point out, I feel some fans comments on twitter telling our manager to GTF and to get sacked already is way OTT.

Everybody to their own opinion 

First half yesterday was awful and after 15 minutes with us 2-0 down and Frizzell off injured I thought it might end up a cricket score but we were very good in the second half and deserved to get it back to 2-2. I was particularly impressed with Devenny’s drive in midfield. In the end it wasn’t to be and another defeat is obviously very disappointing but at least the desire was there in the second half which is more than can be said for the Kelty game. I’m just hopeful that Frizzell’s injury isn’t too serious as he’ll be a massive miss.

For me I’m not too concerned about us not being clinical in front of goal. Yes we had chances and shots that might’ve been goals on other days but we’ve went away to Montrose and scored twice. We also scored five against Clyde and four against Falkirk. We will have days where we’re wasteful in front of goal, that’s football at this level. My major concern is how soft we’ve been at the back. The goals we’ve been conceding have been sloppy, and there have also been times where we’ve conceded chances through poor play and got away with it. None of our defensive players are innocent here, the goalie and everyone playing in defence has at some point this season gave the ball away sloppily or been too weak/soft in a challenge or been caught out of position. You could argue that, like being wasteful up front, that kind of thing is inevitable at this level but it’s too frequent for my liking. Said many times before I felt we needed to get a quality centre back in as Fordyce doesn’t have a natural partner in defence as for me Watson and ATS are full backs and McCabe is a midfielder, but I think our best bet is returning to last season’s centre back pairing of Fordyce and McCabe with Ballantyne and ATS playing at full back. That should give us enough experience at the back while using players that are all comfortable on the ball. I think part of why we done so well last season was because we retained possession so well that we rarely conceded chances. That back four, in my opinion, would be our best chance at returning to that.

Also think some of the comments on here are totally over the top.

Loads of folk commenting on a game they weren’t at. As one of the 42 Airdrie supporters at the game last night here’s what I saw. FWIW (probably nothing).

It was a bizarrely open game with a barrel load of chances at both ends. We created and created chance after chance after a poor start. The defending for their first two was lame, we lost nearly every 50/50 and were generally second to everything in that first quarter.
From then on we dominated possession, won most of the 50/50 and looked constantly dangerous for the middle 60 minutes of game. Scored two good goals and unlucky on a couple of other occasions.
The difference was made by their substitutes who really changed the flow of play. 
Odd how our defence has become so porous. Keeper is young and is just learning what’s needed in the league but hardly his fault our first choice keeper has yet to play a league game.

Shit result but for the most part played really well. Defence needs sorting out before anything else. The rest is working okay.  

1 hour ago, Diamonds are Forever said:

I'd assume both. The reality is we are expecting to compete with clubs like Falkirk and Dunfermline with far bigger budgets than us, plus Queen of the South who you'd think would be roughly similar to us financially but their squad size suggests otherwise. You've also got clubs like Kelty and Edinburgh who can probably offer more.

The reality is for us to compete with those teams and get the quality of player necessary we have to run a smaller squad and focus our resources. The alternative would be to sign a bigger squad with less quality which is never going to win you the league.

In terms of recruitment no-one surely thinks McCabe is deliberately running a small squad which gives him no options off the bench, so it's clearly a case that for what we are offering we cannot get the players in. You could sign a few Dean Ritchie types but what is the point? I want us promoted as much as anyone and I do think we have the core of a good team, but the reality is given our resources we should probably be finishing anywhere from 3rd to 6th. We need to remember last season was the exception for us in this league, not the rule, and anything above scrapping for the play-offs is us punching above our weight a bit.

I agree with this. I tend to base my expectations for the season based on budgets, as while there are exceptions having a bigger budget allows you to bring in better quality players. I could be wrong but I think Watson and Gallagher are our only part-time players, so as you say we're competing with Falkirk, Dunfermline and Queen of the South for full-time players when all of those clubs will presumably have a bigger or at least similar budget than us. Intentionally or not, it does feel like the part-time contingent has reduced each year since we went hybrid, but it's tough to bring in quality players when we're probably the lowest paying full-time club. I would assume that some of the players from last season are on increased wages too after their performances and no doubt interest from elsewhere. As you say, there are also part-time clubs who can offer more than us too, so we're in a tricky position.

I think the play-off final last season was a good example of our lack of quality on the bench. Murray made some strange decisions that day but every substitution made the team weaker. To be fair, you don't expect subs to be better but there was no one to come on and change a game by offering something different. Comparing last seasons squad to this years, I'd say the only players we haven't replaced are guys like Walker, Lyons, McDonald, Ritchie etc, who were mostly there to pad out the numbers. We're definitely light at the back and up front now Salim is away and I think we lack a winger or someone of that ilk 

We all want out of this league and if we couldn't win the play-offs last season then I'm not sure we ever will, but ultimately when we're competing against bigger clubs with far more resources than it is difficult to do that. My concerns at the moment are mostly around how soft we are, particularly defensively, which has led to us losing a few games in quick succession. We had a few dodgy moments earlier in the season but generally got away with them but the last month shows what can happen if you're soft at the back.

13 minutes ago, Mr November said:

agree with this. I tend to base my expectations for the season based on budgets, as while there are exceptions having a bigger budget allows you to bring in better quality players. I could be wrong but I think Watson and Gallagher are our only part-time players, so as you say we're competing with Falkirk, Dunfermline and Queen of the South for full-time players when all of those clubs will presumably have a bigger or at least similar budget than us.

Definitely bigger. Falkirk's playing budget is estimated at around 1.1m although a quick look at their forum will tell you that it's more than they can afford. Dunfermline's is probably similar and I'm pretty sure QOS and us are not remotely close to.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion and i think I am probably harsher than a lot of others on here but I don’t want to look for positives just for the sake of and I don’t want to defend things when I don’t agree with what I see in games. I try not to do long posts but here is what I think. 

Yesterday we deserved to lose that game. As people mentioned we were wasteful in front of goal but so were Montrose first half. They obviously came out with agame plan to sit in second half similar to the play off second leg and again couldn’t deal with the pressure we put them under. They changed it and brought on some fresh attacking options and it won them the game after the subs we fell right back out of it. I thought we played well second half and I thought we were going to get a result before the Montrose changes but I can’t pretend we were unlucky though as to me it was a deserved home win. 

The small squad I believe is not a reflection on our manager of course he will have identified targets and if the club are not able to secure said players that is not the fault of the manager. As much as we all know our squad is desperately light signing 4 absolutely diddies or players who are not good enough just to fill the bench is a pointless exercise. Me personally I would like to see some youngsters get more of a chance but the gaffer will know far more than I do about who could be ready to step up. Maybe even bring in a few more part time players there is plenty good ones out there

Where I do have an issue is how we have several mistakes in us every game and to be fair the young keeper has made some great saves and this has bailed us out on many an occasion. We try to play passing football and I love that and I have been very impressed with our play in most games but the constant errors at the back and from our keepers distribution has to stop. 

Despite what others say too not scoring enough goals is very very worrying. At QoS we should have had it wrapped up at half time but were lucky to escape with a point in the end. Alloa knocked us out the cup due to wasted chances. I go back to the cup game we lost on penalties to Edinburgh and then we have last night. I get there will be days where teams miss chances and it’s just not your day but that is 4 occasions already this season we have dropped points (league cup included) despite creating numerous opportunities if that trend continues then it could very well be another glorious failure of a season. 

I wouldn’t criticise individual players as I have seen them all play well and play poorly that is to be expected and some I wouldn’t play as regularly as they are doing but it’s easy for me to sit here and play armchair manager. 

Another thing I don’t like though is how the midfield looks since Telfer came in. I have no doubts he can play and no doubts he has ability but our midfield performances have dropped considerably in the last 3 games in my opinion. 

I wouldn’t even consider the idea of changing manager and as I say I am generally pleased with a a lot of what I see but there are massive worries and major issues that need addressed sooner rather than later. 

Edited by diamond_for_life

55 minutes ago, Xanadu2112 said:

Loads of folk commenting on a game they weren’t at. As one of the 42 Airdrie supporters at the game last night here’s what I saw. FWIW (probably nothing).

It was a bizarrely open game with a barrel load of chances at both ends. We created and created chance after chance after a poor start. The defending for their first two was lame, we lost nearly every 50/50 and were generally second to everything in that first quarter.
From then on we dominated possession, won most of the 50/50 and looked constantly dangerous for the middle 60 minutes of game. Scored two good goals and unlucky on a couple of other occasions.
The difference was made by their substitutes who really changed the flow of play. 
Odd how our defence has become so porous. Keeper is young and is just learning what’s needed in the league but hardly his fault our first choice keeper has yet to play a league game.

Shit result but for the most part played really well. Defence needs sorting out before anything else. The rest is working okay.  

A few would be watching for £12 on streaming, 

45 minutes ago, diamond_for_life said:

Everyone is entitled to their opinion and i think I am probably harsher than a lot of others on here but I don’t want to look for positives just for the sake of and I don’t want to defend things when I don’t agree with what I see in games. I try not to do long posts but here is what I think. 

Yesterday we deserved to lose that game. As people mentioned we were wasteful in front of goal but so were Montrose first half. They obviously came out with agame plan to sit in second half similar to the play off second leg and again couldn’t deal with the pressure we put them under. They changed it and brought on some fresh attacking options and it won them the game after the subs we fell right back out of it. I thought we played well second half and I thought we were going to get a result before the Montrose changes but I can’t pretend we were unlucky though as to me it was a deserved home win. 

The small squad I believe is not a reflection on our manager of course he will have identified targets and if the club are not able to secure said players that is not the fault of the manager. As much as we all know our squad is desperately light signing 4 absolutely diddies or players who are not good enough just to fill the bench is a pointless exercise. Me personally I would like to see some youngsters get more of a chance but the gaffer will know far more than I do about who could be ready to step up. Maybe even bring in a few more part time players there is plenty good ones out there

Where I do have an issue is how we have several mistakes in us every game and to be fair the young keeper has made some great saves and this has bailed us out on many an occasion. We try to play passing football and I love that and I have been very impressed with our play in most games but the constant errors at the back and from our keepers distribution has to stop. 

Despite what others say too not scoring enough goals is very very worrying. At QoS we should have had it wrapped up at half time but were lucky to escape with a point in the end. Alloa knocked us out the cup due to wasted chances. I go back to the cup game we lost on penalties to Edinburgh and then we have last night. I get there will be days where teams miss chances and it’s just not your day but that is 4 occasions already this season we have dropped points (league cup included) despite creating numerous opportunities if that trend continues then it could very well be another glorious failure of a season. 

I wouldn’t criticise individual players as I have seen them all play well and play poorly that is to be expected and some I wouldn’t play as regularly as they are doing but it’s easy for me to sit here and play armchair manager. 

Another thing I don’t like though is how the midfield looks since Telfer came in. I have no doubts he can play and no doubts he has ability but our midfield performances have dropped considerably in the last 3 games in my opinion. 

I wouldn’t even consider the idea of changing manager and as I say I am generally pleased with a a lot of what I see but there are massive worries and major issues that need addressed sooner rather than later. 

I think this is one area where we really need to have more sense tactically. It is hard enough for an 18 year old keeper to come in, but to then expect him to be playing out from the back like a top modern goalie is too much at this stage. We should be protecting him as much as possible by expecting centre backs to be dominant and not expecting him to be playing out from the back all the time. Obviously any keeper needs to be competent with his feet when needed but we are expecting far more than that at the moment. It was actually the same when Johnson played, his only dodgy moments apart from the throw-ins at Dunfermline were when he tried to play out from the back. For the marginal benefit it may bring in keeping possession it is not worth the risk, not only in the game but also in destroying his confidence.

Edited by Diamonds are Forever

6 hours ago, Xanadu2112 said:

Defence wouldn't need to worry if we had some strikers that could find the net, aye Gallagher scored but missed easy one aswell, 

20 hours ago, Mr November said:

I agree with this. I tend to base my expectations for the season based on budgets, as while there are exceptions having a bigger budget allows you to bring in better quality players. I could be wrong but I think Watson and Gallagher are our only part-time players, so as you say we're competing with Falkirk, Dunfermline and Queen of the South for full-time players when all of those clubs will presumably have a bigger or at least similar budget than us. Intentionally or not, it does feel like the part-time contingent has reduced each year since we went hybrid, but it's tough to bring in quality players when we're probably the lowest paying full-time club. I would assume that some of the players from last season are on increased wages too after their performances and no doubt interest from elsewhere. As you say, there are also part-time clubs who can offer more than us too, so we're in a tricky position.

I think the play-off final last season was a good example of our lack of quality on the bench. Murray made some strange decisions that day but every substitution made the team weaker. To be fair, you don't expect subs to be better but there was no one to come on and change a game by offering something different. Comparing last seasons squad to this years, I'd say the only players we haven't replaced are guys like Walker, Lyons, McDonald, Ritchie etc, who were mostly there to pad out the numbers. We're definitely light at the back and up front now Salim is away and I think we lack a winger or someone of that ilk 

We all want out of this league and if we couldn't win the play-offs last season then I'm not sure we ever will, but ultimately when we're competing against bigger clubs with far more resources than it is difficult to do that. My concerns at the moment are mostly around how soft we are, particularly defensively, which has led to us losing a few games in quick succession. We had a few dodgy moments earlier in the season but generally got away with them but the last month shows what can happen if you're soft at the back.

Soft at the back and powder puff up front, seems  manager and those closer to him will not see that we are very week upfront, 

14 hours ago, Jack Reed said:

Defence wouldn't need to worry if we had some strikers that could find the net, aye Gallagher scored but missed easy one aswell, 

I was sad enough to work out his goals per minutes so far in the league this season and it's a goal every 84 minutes. He'll always miss chances because he's not a great finisher, but he also gets more chances than anyone else through his own positioning and anticipation. A striker returning a goal a game isn't a problem.

More broadly, we are scoring 1.88 goals a game, the 2nd highest in the league (would be the highest if we hadn't shipped 6 goals to Edinburgh who are now highest scorers). That's without Smith really hitting form yet and there's more to come from Jamieson. I've got no real concerns with us attacking wise. But we are far too soft and easy to score against, teams have to do very little to get at our back line and we give the ball away too much in our own third of the pitch. That's where the focus should be.

26 minutes ago, Diamonds are Forever said:

I was sad enough to work out his goals per minutes so far in the league this season and it's a goal every 84 minutes. He'll always miss chances because he's not a great finisher, but he also gets more chances than anyone else through his own positioning and anticipation. A striker returning a goal a game isn't a problem.

More broadly, we are scoring 1.88 goals a game, the 2nd highest in the league (would be the highest if we hadn't shipped 6 goals to Edinburgh who are now highest scorers). That's without Smith really hitting form yet and there's more to come from Jamieson. I've got no real concerns with us attacking wise. But we are far too soft and easy to score against, teams have to do very little to get at our back line and we give the ball away too much in our own third of the pitch. That's where the focus should be.

Definately agree he is by far the best striker we have I would play him every week, are you sure someone is checking their boots are on the right feet, 

28 minutes ago, Diamonds are Forever said:

On that note, going by this we’ve taken 133 shots so far this season, the most in the league, yet only 51 of them have been on target. That points to a need for better decision making in the final third but as you say, we are still scoring goals. 

Interestingly we also have by far the lowest number of fouls conceded. I suppose that comes with having a lot of possession but it does point to a being too soft and a general need to be a bit more streetwise at times, rather than constantly trying to play our way out of things.

35 minutes ago, Diamonds are Forever said:

The thing is you can twist numbers to suit what point you want to make. We have all agreed that the defence is not good enough but yet I can throw the statistic we have kept 4 clean sheets in our 9 league games. Of the other 5 We have conceded 1 goal in 3 of those games. That’s is including trips to Queen of the South, Dunfermline and then Kelty. That does not seem like troublesome reading but what you watch on the park does not match what I’ve just wrote. 

36 minutes ago, Diamonds are Forever said:

there's more to come from Jamieson

I've virtually lost patience with Jamieson but I'd give him a run as the main striker, preferably in a two. He's offering nothing in the wider role he seems to occupy but does look like he has goals in him.