The Official Airdrieonians Thread - 2019/20 and beyond

5 minutes ago, CHEMOMAN said:

A wee birdie told me last Saturday that if Thistle got Cole McKinnon on loan from the Rangers, we'd be in for the return of Kyle Turner!

At this point even rumours like this are struggling to tide us over. Really worrying signs in terms of recruitment. Whilst it's not his fault I just can't help but think the management set up is putting players off? 

1 minute ago, Chapelhall chap said:

Raymond and Robert with a swipe device? I might just park off campus. Why this rush to digital when the pen has failed to appear? I do remember ink wells at Primary school so I guess I need to modernise.

Was bloody painful experience on Tuesday night paying by card🤣

2 minutes ago, Diamond8 said:

Was bloody painful experience on Tuesday night paying by card🤣

I presume you mean at the stall but I was well fed and hydrated before taking my seat. I rarely can be bothered with the inevitable queues in the concourse, and indeed don't quite get the need to stop cash payment. 

2 minutes ago, Diamond8 said:

At this point even rumours like this are struggling to tide us over. Really worrying signs in terms of recruitment. Whilst it's not his fault I just can't help but think the management set up is putting players off? 

It could do if players think it's a old pals act, it's hard but I think we will have to put our trust in  management, we are not far away from a good football playing side that will get results, as someone said if nothing happens before Tues start to worry then, 

12 minutes ago, Diamond8 said:

Heard the same and also in for a 17 year old centre half from Celtic...

to be fair it is McCabes fault, if he is determined o sign a quality of player that the club cannot back up wage wise, then he has to swallow his pride and get other less talented players who are willing to accept the wage offered, do we think Craig Bryson signed for Stenny because he likes the views of the of ochilhills or do we think Kirk Broadfoot has a fetish for wearing parkas in the summer while he runs out for a non entity club at Broadwood..

54 minutes ago, Rossm25 said:

The club are 100 percent trying to get players in. I don't like the ITK stuff cause its just not my place to say anything and if it doesn't work out I end up looking like the boy who kept touting the west ham striker. But I know that we are in for a few exciting players including loans. I'm quietly positive we will more in place for the St Mirren game. If it gets to arbroath and Huttons playing up top then I'll worry! 

And remember we can't force folk to sign for us...

I know you're completely bang on here. But thing is people were saying exactly this a fortnight ago and there hasn't be a scrap of proper progress since Rae arrived.

6 minutes ago, cb_diamond said:

I know you're completely bang on here. But thing is people were saying exactly this a fortnight ago and there hasn't be a scrap of proper progress since Rae arrived.

I get that but you've got folk saying we need more players but good ones . The club offer deals to good players who want time so the manager has given them time. Now folk are saying let's bring in anything and anyone but I guarantee you the second we sign someone who folk don't instantly know their will be nose bleeds galore on here because we've signed a nobody. Like the poster above "rhys needs to swallow his pride and sign shite" (paraphrased) 100 percent he would be the first person to moan if we filled the bench with diddies. 

Honest question, do you think the club are doing nothing ? Or do you think it's just a hard market made even more difficult by the fact there are bigger clubs in our league now. We cannot compete financially with Dunfermline,  Falkirk,  probably Kelty and queen's. Then on top of all that add in all the absolute crap that the club has as baggage from last season with Rico, the muppets at cove etc and we aren't exactly selling ourselves to potential recruits. 

We all want signings and we wanted them weeks ago. But like I've said a million times,  you cannot force players to sign for us. 

1 hour ago, Chapelhall chap said:

I presume you mean at the stall but I was well fed and hydrated before taking my seat. I rarely can be bothered with the inevitable queues in the concourse, and indeed don't quite get the need to stop cash payment. 

Nah, when I was going into car park the card machine was getting waved about. Wish I'd just paid cash shortly after

I get that but you've got folk saying we need more players but good ones . The club offer deals to good players who want time so the manager has given them time. Now folk are saying let's bring in anything and anyone but I guarantee you the second we sign someone who folk don't instantly know their will be nose bleeds galore on here because we've signed a nobody. Like the poster above "rhys needs to swallow his pride and sign shite" (paraphrased) 100 percent he would be the first person to moan if we filled the bench with diddies. 
Honest question, do you think the club are doing nothing ? Or do you think it's just a hard market made even more difficult by the fact there are bigger clubs in our league now. We cannot compete financially with Dunfermline,  Falkirk,  probably Kelty and queen's. Then on top of all that add in all the absolute crap that the club has as baggage from last season with Rico, the muppets at cove etc and we aren't exactly selling ourselves to potential recruits. 
We all want signings and we wanted them weeks ago. But like I've said a million times,  you cannot force players to sign for us. 

Seems like it’s everyone else’s fault we’ve not managed any decent signings in a couple of weeks.

55 minutes ago, Passionate said:

Heard the same and also in for a 17 year old centre half from Celtic...

to be fair it is McCabes fault, if he is determined o sign a quality of player that the club cannot back up wage wise, then he has to swallow his pride and get other less talented players who are willing to accept the wage offered, do we think Craig Bryson signed for Stenny because he likes the views of the of ochilhills or do we think Kirk Broadfoot has a fetish for wearing parkas in the summer while he runs out for a non entity club at Broadwood..

It's not his fault that he's a young manager and to some players it could be off putting. I hope that's not the case but it's definitely crossed my mind a few times in the past week. We aren't far away from a decent side but we are soft as shite through the middle and could be doing with a few experienced players to toughen us up.

Kyle Turner absolutely ran Killie ragged in midfield last night for Thistle and McCall is a huge fan of him stretching back to his Stranraer days. Tried to sign him a few times when Ayr manager.

I’d be shocked if he let him drop to League One.

1 hour ago, cb_diamond said:

😂😂😂 I've already seen one of my posts screenshotted on there. Absolute weirdo behaviour.

I wonder if his post will be screenshotted on Facebook

If the answer to the question is LEMMINGS then what is the question.......

5 minutes ago, She who dares gins said:

Seems like it’s everyone else’s fault we’ve not managed any decent signings in a couple of weeks.

It's not a fault thing , it's business. 

If you want to blame the club for not rinsing the bank balance clean then fine. But I'd rather be realistic than become Falkirk and operate at 900k loss a year. We've went bankrupt before don't really fancy it again. 

All I'm trying to do is apply a bit of logic , I want signings as well , good ones. But recruitment is always tricky. All the good players we got last year came with risk , Easton and frizz were injury prone and written off as has beens. Mccabe was similar but had a family connection. 

Like every other job in the world we will have a hiring budget and a list of candidates,  you try and sign the first choices but is that doesn't work out its no ones fault. It's crap and frustrating, but its not a blame thing to throw aggro at the club. 

19 minutes ago, Diamond8 said:

It's not his fault that he's a young manager and to some players it could be off putting. I hope that's not the case but it's definitely crossed my mind a few times in the past week. We aren't far away from a decent side but we are soft as shite through the middle and could be doing with a few experienced players to toughen us up.

The club had promised McCabe a support structure ? Has that happened, does McCabe want it......   Do we get enough from Prunty and Hutton...are they the support structure...  Does anybody know....

49 minutes ago, Rossm25 said:

To be fair all the "shite" players have been snapped now anyway, we have waited too long for them as well ffs...

6 minutes ago, Rossm25 said:

It's not a fault thing , it's business. 

If you want to blame the club for not rinsing the bank balance clean then fine. But I'd rather be realistic than become Falkirk and operate at 900k loss a year. We've went bankrupt before don't really fancy it again. 

All I'm trying to do is apply a bit of logic , I want signings as well , good ones. But recruitment is always tricky. All the good players we got last year came with risk , Easton and frizz were injury prone and written off as has beens. Mccabe was similar but had a family connection. 

Like every other job in the world we will have a hiring budget and a list of candidates,  you try and sign the first choices but is that doesn't work out its no ones fault. It's crap and frustrating, but its not a blame thing to throw aggro at the club. 

I think most of us were delighted with Easton signing but even then, he was much better than I expected him to be. Frizzell is an interesting one as he was the one I was least keen on from the Dumbarton contingent, whereas I was very keen to sign Wardrop and I expected to sign Quitongo but wasn't as fussed about him. Look how they all turned out! I'm sure Watson as the first proper signing got mixed reviews too while Salim was considered a good signing (he may well still be). I suppose it shows how much we know, it's often hard to tell which players will fit in well even if they have struggled at previous clubs. 

My concern is mostly that we end up missing out on a few key targets and have to panic sign a few players just before the Peterhead game. I'm happy to take some time to try and bring in the best players possible but there does come a time when you need to move on. It's a gamble but equally so is building a full squad in June and then potentially missing out on some players over the next few weeks. 

Just now, Mr November said:

I think most of us were delighted with Easton signing but even then, he was much better than I expected him to be. Frizzell is an interesting one as he was the one I was least keen on from the Dumbarton contingent, whereas I was very keen to sign Wardrop and I expected to sign Quitongo but wasn't as fussed about him. Look how they all turned out! I'm sure Watson as the first proper signing got mixed reviews too while Salim was considered a good signing (he may well still be). I suppose it shows how much we know, it's often hard to tell which players will fit in well even if they have struggled at previous clubs. 

My concern is mostly that we end up missing out on a few key targets and have to panic sign a few players just before the Peterhead game. I'm happy to take some time to try and bring in the best players possible but there does come a time when you need to move on. It's a gamble but equally so is building a full squad in June and then potentially missing out on some players over the next few weeks. 

Aye its totally a risk. But look at our bench the first half of the season. Name one person who could turn a game coming off the bench? If we can get Telfer over the line,  bring in Moffat and whatever other loan signings,  then we can panic re-sign Dean ritchie