The Official Airdrieonians Thread - 2019/20 and beyond

33 minutes ago, AJ77 said:

By reading the match preview this morning IM saying he's not going to risk anything for the playoffs so could be a completely different team than what we're used to. Sensible decision. 

3rd kit at home too. Preserving the starting 11 and saving a wash for the home kit for Tuesday night 😂

It'll always have the Motherwell game of course, but I can't pretend to be a fan of the 3rd strip when all is said and done. Feel like we've used it a lot more than we've used our actual away kit, which is much more to my liking. 

IM quite rightly doing the sensible thing vis a vis team selection but I still hope and expect we'll still hit the 20 unbeaten mark. The squad is good enough to at least avoid defeat. 

Like everyone, I'm already casting forward to Tuesday night, but it'll be class to be there for the players awards presentation. 

18 hours ago, Kenny_m said:

If Falkirk have spoken to him, then poor show by them at a crucial stage for us.

If he spoke to them, then poor show by him.

Current rumour is that very brief discussions have been had between Murray and us, but pretty much a case of us going "we're interested" and Murray going "after the playoffs". Whether you believe that or not is up to you, but it was posted in our thread yesterday.

13 minutes ago, Chinatoon Bairn said:

Current rumour is that very brief discussions have been had between Murray and us, but pretty much a case of us going "we're interested" and Murray going "after the playoffs". Whether you believe that or not is up to you, but it was posted in our thread yesterday.

True or not your rumour mill is bonkers.

You've been rumoured to be in for just about every manager and player outwith the premier top 6 this season. 

The only one that came true was Griffiths...

1 hour ago, Rossm25 said:

True or not your rumour mill is bonkers.

You've been rumoured to be in for just about every manager and player outwith the premier top 6 this season. 

The only one that came true was Griffiths...

Aw I know, it's gone beyond the point of being enjoyable now. We've went from a board who couldn't keep their mouths shut about anything to one that rarely lets anything out so you're always going to get people claiming to be in the know.

And just as I type that, John McGlynn now is rumoured to be hot favourite for the job. Fuckin hell 😆

Edited by Chinatoon Bairn

15 minutes ago, Chinatoon Bairn said:

Aw I know, it's gone beyond the point of being enjoyable now. We've went from a board who couldn't keep their mouths shut about anything to one that rarely lets anything out so you're always going to get people claiming to be in the know.

And just as I type that, John McGlynn now is rumoured to be hot favourite for the job. Fuckin hell 😆

Whoever it is will enjoy your massive crowds for the 6 months before they are sacked...

4 hours ago, Chinatoon Bairn said:

Aye I think that sounds like a better rumor ! 

7 hours ago, Chinatoon Bairn said:

Ffs McG lynn,    the world has truly gone mad......  Surely Falkirk have went through enough😲😲

You lads confident about the playoffs ? Not really followed ye’s since the league cup derby last year 🤦‍♂️. Any other year ye’d have been champions just really unlucky ye’s had Cove this year. 
Think the Accies are missing a Lanarkshire derby tae more than treble their attendance so they need ye’s up 😆

1 hour ago, D-Fens Foster said:

You lads confident about the playoffs ? Not really followed ye’s since the league cup derby last year 🤦‍♂️. Any other year ye’d have been champions just really unlucky ye’s had Cove this year. 
Think the Accies are missing a Lanarkshire derby tae more than treble their attendance so they need ye’s up 😆

If you listen to any pundit, no team has a chance against John Hughes’ all triumphing Dunfermline side. Or something like that. 

13 hours ago, AndyDD said:

It'll always have the Motherwell game of course, but I can't pretend to be a fan of the 3rd strip when all is said and done. Feel like we've used it a lot more than we've used our actual away kit, which is much more to my liking. 

IM quite rightly doing the sensible thing vis a vis team selection but I still hope and expect we'll still hit the 20 unbeaten mark. The squad is good enough to at least avoid defeat. 

Like everyone, I'm already casting forward to Tuesday night, but it'll be class to be there for the players awards presentation. 

I get what you mean with regards the 3rd strip.   Not the worst we have ever had but I believe every airdrieonians top should have the diamond on.    It does seem though if we going up it will be the strip we would be wearing.  Dunfermline or Queens final 2nd leg would be away and would require a change.  Both of the being black and white our 3rd is most likely option.   

4 minutes ago, Ballboy said:

I get what you mean with regards the 3rd strip.   Not the worst we have ever had but I believe every airdrieonians top should have the diamond on.    It does seem though if we going up it will be the strip we would be wearing.  Dunfermline or Queens final 2nd leg would be away and would require a change.  Both of the being black and white our 3rd is most likely option.   

If we are lucky enough to make the play off final Second leg against Dunfermline it would indeed be the 3 rd strip,   if Queens Park beat Dunfermline we would then become top ranked side which would give us the second leg in Airdrie, with no logical reason why we couldn't wear our home strip..

at the moment all teams have a 25% chance of promotion, I think every team is there on merit and all games will be incredibly tight..

7 hours ago, Passionate said:

If we are lucky enough to make the play off final Second leg against Dunfermline it would indeed be the 3 rd strip,   if Queens Park beat Dunfermline we would then become top ranked side which would give us the second leg in Airdrie, with no logical reason why we couldn't wear our home strip..

at the moment all teams have a 25% chance of promotion, I think every team is there on merit and all games will be incredibly tight..

I know you’re probably referring to the League One teams, but it’s a funny thought to describe Dunfermline as being in a relegation playoff “on merit”. I suppose it is true in a way, as under Peter Grant they looked destined to finish bottom.