The Official Airdrieonians Thread - 2019/20 and beyond

2 hours ago, ++Ammo - Airdrie++ said:

Tend to agree with that, I didn't mind Stallard.

I absolutely hated Kevin McDonald, Rhys Devlin and Michael Brown (the crème egg man)

EDITED TO ADD:

And FWIW Scott Stewart would be no where near my 11 of the decade.

Think McDonald just missed this decade otherwise he definitely would be in there. Brown is a great shout too though at least he was slightly comedic. 

Stewart was only mentioned because it was between him or Bain for the right-back slot. IMO a guy like Bain would ordinarily be nowhere a best XI of the decade either. Think that says it all about how little quality we've had over the last 10 years. 

38 minutes ago, Passionate said:

Let's not forget Scott Smith loaned from Dundee United, horrendous player. Or the prancing pony Sir Andy Ferguson

Great shouts too. God knows where Scott Smith ended up. Andy Ferguson was humming but I'll always remember his debut where he scored in the opening minutes at Alloa that week the snow had wreaked havoc and we were just about the only game in the country that was on. Scored two late goals to win 3-2 - Jamie Stevenson (I think) and Tony Watt nabbed them. 

1 hour ago, airdrieman said:

Think McDonald just missed this decade otherwise he definitely would be in there. Brown is a great shout too though at least he was slightly comedic. 

Stewart was only mentioned because it was between him or Bain for the right-back slot. IMO a guy like Bain would ordinarily be nowhere a best XI of the decade either. Think that says it all about how little quality we've had over the last 10 years. 

Great shouts too. God knows where Scott Smith ended up. Andy Ferguson was humming but I'll always remember his debut where he scored in the opening minutes at Alloa that week the snow had wreaked havoc and we were just about the only game in the country that was on. Scored two late goals to win 3-2 - Jamie Stevenson (I think) and Tony Watt nabbed them. 

Aye yer right, am thinking before 2010, decade should have been the hint 😑.

Aye that game against Alloa, wee Tony turned that on its head and I ended up getting thrown over the advertising board and sliding down the piles of snow at the other side after the 3rd went in!

4 hours ago, ++Ammo - Airdrie++ said:

Tend to agree with that, I didn't mind Stallard.

I absolutely hated Kevin McDonald, Rhys Devlin and Michael Brown (the crème egg man)

EDITED TO ADD:

And FWIW Scott Stewart would be no where near my 11 of the decade.

Those three would be in my "Aw Naw" response.  Scott Stewart had some good games but nowhere near my 11 either. What a great debate.

3 minutes ago, Old Diamond said:

Saw a cracking book in Waterstones yesterday. It's a Team Game by Steve Finan, has more than a fair share of Airdrie team photos, including the 1924 cup winners 9781845357948.jpeg

I bought this for Xmas rather than the Stadium one. The good lady decided to get that one but we ended up with 2 of the Team Game. Waterstones very good at swopping! Still to look at them after Xmas but the 1924 image is top priority.

3 hours ago, Chapelhall chap said:

I bought this for Xmas rather than the Stadium one. The good lady decided to get that one but we ended up with 2 of the Team Game. Waterstones very good at swopping! Still to look at them after Xmas but the 1924 image is top priority.

When did we start wearing the diamond?  I think I saw from a web-site that it was 1912, in which case why aren't they on the strips in this photo from 1924?

I bought a book on the Scottish Cup by Potter and Jones today at a 20% reduction in W H Smiths in Airdrie. It covers finals from 1873-2016 and is good reading. I only looked so far in depth  at the Airdrie finals . It's a wee bit patronising in that it describes us as " a small provincial club"  but agrees it was "no isolated fluke" having been runners up 4 times in the League in the 1920's. It has a photo of the team in Diamonds which looks as if it is at Broomfield. Lots of detail including four games against Ayr United  in the QF. My Dad was at the final as a teenager  and could rhyme off the winning team for the rest of his days. I had to get it right as well.

4 minutes ago, Chapelhall chap said:

I bought a book on the Scottish Cup by Potter and Jones today at a 20% reduction in W H Smiths in Airdrie. It covers finals from 1873-2016 and is good reading. I only looked so far in depth  at the Airdrie finals . It's a wee bit patronising in that it describes us as " a small provincial club"  but agrees it was "no isolated fluke" having been runners up 4 times in the League in the 1920's. It has a photo of the team in Diamonds which looks as if it is at Broomfield. Lots of detail including four games against Ayr United  in the QF. My Dad was at the final as a teenager  and could rhyme off the winning team for the rest of his days. I had to get it right as well.

My Granddad was the same. 

Ewart, Dick, McQueen....