The Official Airdrieonians Thread - 2019/20 and beyond

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/local-sport/ex-airdrieonians-midfielder-ryan-conroy-18322252

Ryan Conroy having a wee greet aboot being publicly transfer listed.

Maybe my memory is more affected by this whole old age thing than I would like but I'm fairly certain that in the history of football clubs, at the end of a season there have been numerous announcements of player x, y and z having been "made available for transfer".

And the wee lamb didn't enjoy the last 6 months. Never mind us who endured the entire 3 fucking years of it.

Stuart Miller's comments are good. Hits the nail on the head.

and to be fair to Conroy, the rest of his comments (i.e. not the stuff about being publicly transfer listed) are fair enough. It must have been difficult, it's been turmoil, false dawn, tumoil, false dawn for years now.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/local-sport/ex-airdrieonians-midfielder-ryan-conroy-18322252

Ryan Conroy having a wee greet aboot being publicly transfer listed.

Maybe my memory is more affected by this whole old age thing than I would like but I'm fairly certain that in the history of football clubs, at the end of a season there have been numerous announcements of player x, y and z having been "made available for transfer".

And the wee lamb didn't enjoy the last 6 months. Never mind us who endured the entire 3 fucking years of it.

I'll be honest, I don't think I've ever seen a club making public announcements about who's on the transfer list (unless there's been some sort of incident or public falling out).

I actually think Conroy has a bit of a point. There wasn't really any need for it being advertised over social media or on your website. Surely an email round the clubs would suffice? I remember thinking at the time it all felt a bit odd that it was being advertised like that.

The club never hung about, They knew what they wanted and did so and by all accounts it worked very well. Every ones off the wage bill that was not wanted and they made some cash in to the bargain. We over paid for a mid table team last year and the club's done great to shift that bunch and move on so quickly.

1 hour ago, Diamondatheart said:

The club never hung about, They knew what they wanted and did so and by all accounts it worked very well. Every ones off the wage bill that was not wanted and they made some cash in to the bargain. We over paid for a mid table team last year and the club's done great to shift that bunch and move on so quickly.

Not true Jonathan Page (my hero!) is still there. I hope he doesn't go anywhere and continues to get well paid. If Murray doesn't want to use him, that's up to him. 

2 hours ago, Bring Back Paddy Flannery said:

I'll be honest, I don't think I've ever seen a club making public announcements about who's on the transfer list (unless there's been some sort of incident or public falling out).

I actually think Conroy has a bit of a point. There wasn't really any need for it being advertised over social media or on your website. Surely an email round the clubs would suffice? I remember thinking at the time it all felt a bit odd that it was being advertised like that.

I agree 100%  and said as much a few pages back. These players have been poorly treated and as you can see I'm cheering on Page for sticking with his contract and not allowing himself to be bullied out the door.

I hope I'm wrong and will be delighted if I am, but I've got no time at all for Murray and the way he's been running things. Now I see Edwards is away, obviously we aren't going to try and produce and bring on our own young players. We have Murray's constant defensive attitude - so he signs a striker and in the first competitive game, plays him at right wing back. Doesn't play Dean Hawkshaw despite the fact he's the most creative player we've got. Seems to want lots of pace in the team but has very few that can finish and makes the spearhead of his attack someone who hardly scores any goals. Cammy Russell looked really hungry in pre-season but didn't get into the first team. Probably he'll be the next one out the door, as he has already been out on loan and was a youngster under the previous regime,  which in Murray's eyes seems to make you surplus to requirements. The difference in Scott Stewart after Murray came in was very noticeable and not in a positive way. I have yet to see a player improve under Murray. Stewart and Edwards went very obviously backwards.

This is not a knee-jerk reaction, I was in favour of giving Murray a go in the first place, and as I said will be delighted if I'm wrong, but last season was the first one, in over 35 years of watching Airdrie, that I hardly watched any games after the turn of the year. When I watched us beat Stranraer  3-0 (on 29th Dec) and was bored out my skull I realised Murray's brand of football was not for me. Came along to the Albion Rovers game and was unimpressed again. Even when we're winning ,we're playing not to lose. This negative stuff is  just not entertaining.  I don't live in or close to the town any more and so I started going along to watch my local junior team and couldn't believe how  much more I was enjoying it.   I  have been listening to some of the old OTL podcasts this afternoon and found myself agreeing with everything Alan Porteous said. Murray would be great if we wanted to stay up in the championship, but I seriously doubt he's the man to get us there. 

I agree 100%  and said as much a few pages back. These players have been poorly treated and as you can see I'm cheering on Page for sticking with his contract and not allowing himself to be bullied out the door.
I hope I'm wrong and will be delighted if I am, but I've got no time at all for Murray and the way he's been running things. Now I see Edwards is away, obviously we aren't going to try and produce and bring on our own young players. We have Murray's constant defensive attitude - so he signs a striker and in the first competitive game, plays him at right wing back. Doesn't play Dean Hawkshaw despite the fact he's the most creative player we've got. Seems to want lots of pace in the team but has very few that can finish and makes the spearhead of his attack someone who hardly scores any goals. Cammy Russell looked really hungry in pre-season but didn't get into the first team. Probably he'll be the next one out the door, as he has already been out on loan and was a youngster under the previous regime,  which in Murray's eyes seems to make you surplus to requirements. The difference in Scott Stewart after Murray came in was very noticeable and not in a positive way. I have yet to see a player improve under Murray. Stewart and Edwards went very obviously backwards.
This is not a knee-jerk reaction, I was in favour of giving Murray a go in the first place, and as I said will be delighted if I'm wrong, but last season was the first one, in over 35 years of watching Airdrie, that I hardly watched any games after the turn of the year. When I watched us beat Stranraer  3-0 (on 29th Dec) and was bored out my skull I realised Murray's brand of football was not for me. Came along to the Albion Rovers game and was unimpressed again. Even when we're winning ,we're playing not to lose. This negative stuff is  just not entertaining.  I don't live in or close to the town any more and so I started going along to watch my local junior team and couldn't believe how  much more I was enjoying it.   I  have been listening to some of the old OTL podcasts this afternoon and found myself agreeing with everything Alan Porteous said. Murray would be great if we wanted to stay up in the championship, but I seriously doubt he's the man to get us there. 

Pretty much agree with everything said here. The whole setting out not to lose first and foremost is just pathetic. Then when we go behind there doesn’t seem to be a cohesive plan B.

And don’t get me started on the whole 11 players in the box at a corner thing!

59 minutes ago, DiamondOwl said:

Not true Jonathan Page (my hero!) is still there. I hope he doesn't go anywhere and continues to get well paid. If Murray doesn't want to use him, that's up to him. 

Nonsense. We’re gonnae win the league ♦️♦️♦️

52 minutes ago, DiamondOwl said:

Why is Page your "hero"? Leaving aside that Murray didnt/doesnt rate him, he didnt play well at all under Findlay -  in some games he was the preverbal "bomb scare". He  also admitted himself he wasnt as fit as he should have been - but still took his wages. So, can I ask why the love?

As for your comments about Murray -  I disagree - he polished the turds he inherited as much as he could - and that started by shoring up the defence - and by that dropping your "hero". This year? Well - it's his team, so he has no excuses.  But I feel optimistic - but then I always do - that's what happens when you follow Airdrie.

Anyway, I wish you and your local junior team well.

2 hours ago, DiamondOwl said:

Saying 'this is not a knee-jerk reaction' is really just an acceptance that you know it is exactly that.

He inherited a bunch of mid-table League One journeyman who at times looked like relegation candidates. Murray presumably played the way he thought would ensure survival and possibly fluke a play-off spot, and he was right. On how the players are treated, we have no obligation to play any players, as long as we are paying them their salary I don't see any issue. 

Edwards did not go backwards, the guy has got himself a move due to Murray playing him in a good run of games. His form dipped towards the end of the season, as can happen with young players. Chris O'Neil improved significantly under Murray, as did McIntosh and Hutton. So that is nonsense. Scott Stewart was the same under Murray has he had been the previous 4 years and it was best for everyone that he moved on. Most of that squad were/are journeyman who have reached the point where they have reached their level anyway, to get any improvement from that would have been an achievement and Murray did okay on that front. 

All that said, I have no real opinion of Murray yet, I'm just countering things which are untrue and an overreaction. I agree the football isn't great to watch but as I said so far he has had an excuse for that. He no longer does however and this is the season he should be judged. He has his own players and should be judged after this season, not on how he tried to clean up last season's mess.

Edited by Diamonds are Forever

1 hour ago, Roger Thornhill said:

Why is Page your "hero"? Leaving aside that Murray didnt/doesnt rate him, he didnt play well at all under Findlay -  in some games he was the preverbal "bomb scare". He  also admitted himself he wasnt as fit as he should have been - but still took his wages. So, can I ask why the love?

As for your comments about Murray -  I disagree - he polished the turds he inherited as much as he could - and that started by shoring up the defence - and by that dropping your "hero". This year? Well - it's his team, so he has no excuses.  But I feel optimistic - but then I always do - that's what happens when you follow Airdrie.

Anyway, I wish you and your local junior team well.

Page is not really “my hero” football wise.  I agree that, at times, that he was a bit of a “bomb scare”. Although he wasn’t always as poor as some have suggested on here. None of the ‘under contract’ transfer listed players were heroes of mine. The issue I have is the way these players have been treated. They were, as Conroy suggests (although I am certainly no fan of Conroy!), being marginalised. Treated persona non grata. Page is “my hero” because he has refused to be forced out. If the club won’t buy him out his contract or make good his loses, he’s not going anywhere. That is something I applaud, as IMO a bullying ‘get lost’ attitude is unacceptable in all workplaces.

I agree about getting optimistic at the start of a new season. It usually happens with me, sometimes I feel a little bit of it when I hear about new signings. It even happened this summer. But…. we’ve just started, and the same negativity is already evident in team selection.

Thanks for the good wishes, good wishes to you too! I’ll still go along to see Airdrie sometimes – can’t completely break the habit. The fact I’m posting here kind of illustrates that!

If the manager keeps playing players out of position there’s is only one way we will go ,I personally have not and could not watch any other team ,regardless what level they play at,just got to give the manager this season to prove his worth ,,

some interesting comments today. I don't agree with the conclusions that have been reached as I reckon Murray will get it right now that he has his own team.

But I can see why there would be concern about an overly defensive approach, and at times in the Cowdenbeath game you could see that struggle to impose ourselves in the final third in the first half which was so characteristic of last season.

On the flip side I don't buy the comments about Edwards getting his move due to improvements under Murray, I thought he was poor when he came back in to the team in the second half of the season. But then I wasn't a cheerleader for him getting game time, I was always slightly dubious, although to be fair he needs to develop he's only a boy. 

Murray appears to be ruthless, and that's not a bad thing in a football manager.

4 hours ago, DiamondOwl said:

How are we not producing and bringing on young players when you see the ages of our squad for this season? What a great opportunity they have in front of them! 

Edwards was signed from Crosshouse Boys Club and if you had told him back then he would be in the Airdrie 1st team, playing at Parkead in a Scottish Cup tie then moving to a Championship club - all within a few years, he would have been delighted at that prospect. The club have also received a nominal sum for him.

Stewart may have moved to Arbroath but the chance for him to shine in the Championship is a good one for him. 

Players will come and go - some will make it, others won't - but the notion that the club doesn't have an interest or develop youth is incorrect.

43 minutes ago, Diamonds Are Red said:

How are we not producing and bringing on young players when you see the ages of our squad for this season? What a great opportunity they have in front of them! 

Edwards was signed from Crosshouse Boys Club and if you had told him back then he would be in the Airdrie 1st team, playing at Parkead in a Scottish Cup tie then moving to a Championship club - all within a few years, he would have been delighted at that prospect. The club have also received a nominal sum for him.

Stewart may have moved to Arbroath but the chance for him to shine in the Championship is a good one for him. 

Players will come and go - some will make it, others won't - but the notion that the club doesn't have an interest or develop youth is incorrect.

Okay, you're right, I accept that we are at least trying to bring on some younger players.....  Although it's the younger players signed from bigger clubs that are the ones getting into the team at the moment.

The main point I was trying to make was that the young players there under the old regime are all being shipped out. Obviously Murray doesn't really rate any of them. If he had done, and displayed a better attitude towards them, we would have kept Scott Stewart and Josh Edwards. These nominal undisclosed sums are pathetic. Just tell us and let us be the judge of whether we think it's a good deal!

So yes the club does have an interest in developing youth at some level, but apparently not those players who were there before Ian Murray arrived.

Saying 'this is not a knee-jerk reaction' is really just an acceptance that you know it is exactly that.
He inherited a bunch of mid-table League One journeyman who at times looked like relegation candidates. Murray presumably played the way he thought would ensure survival and possibly fluke a play-off spot, and he was right. On how the players are treated, we have no obligation to play any players, as long as we are paying them their salary I don't see any issue. 
Edwards did not go backwards, the guy has got himself a move due to Murray playing him in a good run of games. His form dipped towards the end of the season, as can happen with young players. Chris O'Neil improved significantly under Murray, as did McIntosh and Hutton. So that is nonsense. Scott Stewart was the same under Murray has he had been the previous 4 years and it was best for everyone that he moved on. Most of that squad were/are journeyman who have reached the point where they have reached their level anyway, to get any improvement from that would have been an achievement and Murray did okay on that front. 
All that said, I have no real opinion of Murray yet, I'm just countering things which are untrue and an overreaction. I agree the football isn't great to watch but as I said so far he has had an excuse for that. He no longer does however and this is the season he should be judged. He has his own players and should be judged after this season, not on how he tried to clean up last season's mess.

Well said judge him this season I hope he takes us where we belong it will be difficult.

54 minutes ago, DiamondOwl said:

Okay, you're right, I accept that we are at least trying to bring on some younger players.....  Although it's the younger players signed from bigger clubs that are the ones getting into the team at the moment.

The main point I was trying to make was that the young players there under the old regime are all being shipped out. Obviously Murray doesn't really rate any of them. If he had done, and displayed a better attitude towards them, we would have kept Scott Stewart and Josh Edwards. These nominal undisclosed sums are pathetic. Just tell us and let us be the judge of whether we think it's a good deal!

So yes the club does have an interest in developing youth at some level, but apparently not those players who were there before Ian Murray arrived.

It's got he haw to do with you, how much they got! They are not under contract to you, and you don't pay their wages.

Do you go around telling everybody your accounts?

37 minutes ago, DiamondOwl said:

Why should he keep players if he doesnt rate them? Theres no room for sentiment in young players coming through...ultimately if they're not good enough then I'd rather find players who are, no matter where they come from. Stewart and Edward's have both had a fair crack at proving their worth and for me neither showed they were good enough.

1 minute ago, Rio 2 said:

It's got he haw to do with you, how much they got! They are not under contract to you, and you don't pay their wages.

Do you go around telling everybody your accounts?

Okay, supporters should have no say in their clubs, not be told anything re the club finances

Leave it to the big boys in the boardroom and keep your nose out. Well at least we all know where you stand!