Barcelona

Ned Nederlander

1 hour ago, Ned Nederlander said:

Hey Chaps, couldnt see another thread:

Thinking of 10 days in Barcelona in August, never been before so looking for info on best airport to fly to, hotel recommendations and things to do.

Any info appreciated.

Universal on Parralel is a good and has a metro on its door step though walking into the centre at night means cutting through Raval which is not great.  Catedral and H10 Montacada (on Via Laetana) also good.  

A hotel close to the centre will give you the best experience.

The metro system is brilliant and easy to use, get a 10 journey ticket.

Only ever flown into Prat, never the regional airports.

Do all the Gaudi stuff well worth it and a trip to the Camp Nou obviously.  The hop-on-off bus rides are great.

The magic fountain is great (free) entertainment and go around the central cathedral at night and listen to the street opera singers.  I’ve seen this guy a few times, he’s really good.

PM me if you want some restaurant recommends.

Try to find the tapas restaurants the locals go to. They can be a bit off the beaten track so try a wee Google search for places near you. You might have to wait for a table but well worth it and a lot better than the places on the tourist trail.
The tour bus is a good way of seeing the place and getting your bearings when you first arrive. Gives you a good idea of where you want to go back to. Probably don't need to bother with the green route- the red and blue routes cover pretty much everywhere worthwhile.

Any must-do restaurant recommendations would be welcome. 
Tickets seems to get great reviews so will probably go there.

There’s a place on Carrer de Corsega in Eixample called La Pepita that is sensationally good.

Also the mixed seafood grill from La Torna at Mercat de Santa Catarina is divine.

On 22/01/2019 at 20:54, Ned Nederlander said:

Hey Chaps, couldnt see another thread:

Thinking of 10 days in Barcelona in August, never been before so looking for info on best airport to fly to, hotel recommendations and things to do.

Any info appreciated.

Be aware of pickpockets. They are notorious in some areas. Stay safe and enjoy your visit to a beautiful city.

https://www.barcelonayellow.com/bcn-tourist/115-safety-barcelona-top-tips-pickpockets

3 hours ago, Blue-Toon said:

Be aware of pickpockets. They are notorious in some areas. Stay safe and enjoy your visit to a beautiful city.

https://www.barcelonayellow.com/bcn-tourist/115-safety-barcelona-top-tips-pickpockets

The bottom of the Ramblas and around the railway station are a bit dodgy, haven't noticed it anywhere else. Anywhere in Spain it's worth keeping your bag close though, don't just leave it by your table when you go for a pish and expect it to be there when you get back. 

Edited by welshbairn

On 15/03/2019 at 16:48, Honest_Man#1 said:

Any must-do restaurant recommendations would be welcome. 

Tickets seems to get great reviews so will probably go there.

Perla (via liatana) for cheap no frills Italian, great pizza, pasta and house red.

Nerja (also via liatana) tapas

4 cats for something special, Gotic just along from 4 cats for something different

For fancy sea food avoid the maritime museum area and go further out to the restauarants past the yacht club, you’ll be spoilt for choice.

The bottom of the Ramblas and around the railway station are a bit dodgy, haven't noticed it anywhere else. Anywhere in Spain it's worth keeping your bag close though, don't just leave it by your table when you go for a pish and expect it to be there when you get back. 
A couple of women from work went for a meal, putting their bags under the table and two guys came in and sat at the next table, ordering drinks rather than food. It took ten minutes for the drinks, guys and one purse to be gone. Seems to be very much 'a thing' in Barca.

17 minutes ago, Hampden Diehard said:
On 29/04/2019 at 20:07, welshbairn said:

A couple of women from work went for a meal, putting their bags under the table and two guys came in and sat at the next table, ordering drinks rather than food. It took ten minutes for the drinks, guys and one purse to be gone. Seems to be very much 'a thing' in Barca.

My aunt had her handbag stolen in Seville while she had the window open in the passenger seat of a hire car by a passing cyclist.