LL Relegation

Baxter's Nutmeg

23 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

This is where the SFA/Maxwell don’t understand the non-league game, word is that Maxwell was not aware of the 31st March LL deadline.  I’d like to think the LL will amend the deadline based on whenever the SFA make a decision on Licence applications.

Question - why would they change the rules in this case ?

Question - if the vacant position is open for clubs who qualify to apply , who votes on this ?

2 hours ago, selfassemblyshire said:
2 hours ago, Golum said:
The Deadline has now elapsed for membership meaning only Linlithgow ( licensed) could come up 
As the board seem so entrenched in abiding by rules and wording that means probably no promotion ?

thoughts ?

Linlithgow will be in the LL next season, via promotion or application for selkirk's position.

What makes you say this ?

Who votes on this ?

26 minutes ago, Golum said:

Question - why would they change the rules in this case ?

Question - if the vacant position is open for clubs who qualify to apply , who votes on this ?

I'd guess that given the Licence situation is out of the clubs control, and the SFA were unaware of the LL deadline, that the LL could be practical about this and allow clubs to be eligible for promotion after the deadline because they should have been Licenced well before it if the SFA were doing their job.

No idea who votes on the vacancy, clubs? board? both?

If clubs vote then ww safe as nonone gonna vote up better teams if available imo 
Not sure about that, plus Linlithgow are fully licence compliant with lights, but probably wont win their Conference, so they are in a strong position to take up the vacancy.

What needs to happen soon is SFA confirm licences, then LL confirm that they will allow promotion on that basis given the exceptional circumstances.

26 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

Not sure about that, plus Linlithgow are fully licence compliant with lights, but probably wont win their Conference, so they are in a strong position to take up the vacancy.

What needs to happen soon is SFA confirm licences, then LL confirm that they will allow promotion on that basis given the exceptional circumstances.

Exactly , Could not agree more

But that would imply common sense on this and sadly i doubt the Powers behind the curtains will see it that way

1 hour ago, Kelheart said:

If clubs vote then ww safe as nonone gonna vote up better teams if available imo 

Especially when the LL clubs already voted in favour of WW on the bottom Club issue ( which the SFA decided to block )

6 minutes ago, Golum said:

Especially when the LL clubs already voted in favour of WW on the bottom Club issue ( which the SFA decided to block )

WW will go down as the bottom club and (probably) Bonnyrigg will replace them, assuming the Licence situation is resolved.

We then have the situation of club 16 for which any Licenced club can apply, Linlithgow will without a shadow of a doubt, and I'd hazard a guess at most of the other top EoS clubs will as well, Broxburn, Penicuik, Hill of Beath etc.  If WW also apply then I think those clubs would expect their application to be assessed on merit alone, and the LL need to ensure that happens.

Maybe it's the LL Board who make the decision as they will be the ones to scrutinise each application.

28 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

WW will go down as the bottom club and (probably) Bonnyrigg will replace them, assuming the Licence situation is resolved.

We then have the situation of club 16 for which any Licenced club can apply, Linlithgow will without a shadow of a doubt, and I'd hazard a guess at most of the other top EoS clubs will as well, Broxburn, Penicuik, Hill of Beath etc.  If WW also apply then I think those clubs would expect their application to be assessed on merit alone, and the LL need to ensure that happens.

Maybe it's the LL Board who make the decision as they will be the ones to scrutinise each application.

We all ken you want us oot but ffs you'd rather see a team promoted by default because they are licensed. Im all for us going doon as we'd deserve it but no way at the expense of a team who canny win their conference ? That would just be typical Scottish fitba mentality.

Play offs are much talked aboot why no have a pre season play off as well ? As it stands we'd get horsed anyway but least let us founding members of the LL, when no one gave a fcuk, fight oor corner  ? 

5 minutes ago, newcastle broon said:

We all ken you want us oot but ffs you'd rather see a team promoted by default because they are licensed. Im all for us going doon as we'd deserve it but no way at the expense of a team who canny win their conference ? That would just be typical Scottish fitba mentality.

Play offs are much talked aboot why no have a pre season play off as well ? As it stands we'd get horsed anyway but least let us founding members of the LL, when no one gave a fcuk, fight oor corner  ? 

I couldn't care less if it was WW or Dalbeattie who finished bottom,   I want the LL to treat applications for the vacancy on merit, not an auld pals act. That's all.

47 minutes ago, newcastle broon said:

It would also be a very Scottish football situation if the SFA board didn't grant a licence to clubs in the EOS without floodlights, meaning that a licensed club without floodlights doesn't get relegated. Are you expecting to be allowed to keep your licence without floodlights after your licensing committee review comes around in late 2019?

As for the LL founding members - there's only 8/12 left, and that could be 6 in a couple of months. And most of those are near the bottom of the league so in a few years there might only be a couple left.

Thinking of criteria the LL might use to judge current LL clubs against applicants for club 16 - anything else?

• first team competitiveness
  • youth system/U20 team
  • floodlights
  • crowds, including away
  • increasing attractiveness of the league to sponsors
  • financial stability
Edited by Ginaro

4 minutes ago, Ginaro said:

Are you expecting to be allowed to keep your licence without floodlights after your licensing committee review comes around in late 2019?

Na but I'd expect some kind of leniency regards getting the funding since we are one of the few clubs that actually  own their park  ? 

7 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

Not seen it but I believe it is quite detailed and covers stuff like facilities, average attendances,  on field success, future plans etc.

EDU SPORT = zero for all of the above

14 minutes ago, pipedreamer said:

Edusport were promoted on merit though. So the criteria doesn’t apply given they weren’t voted into the league for a vacancy.

True , 

Just the best example of ,

no ground 

no fans 

no success no plans etc 

Hopefully all this will be cleared up sooner rather than later as teams need to plan  for the future 

As for Welfare not sure how they are meant to build for the future without knowing what league they will be in or not ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,same for EOS winners 

1 minute ago, Golum said:

True , 

Just the best example of ,

no ground 

no fans 

no success no plans etc 

Hopefully all this will be cleared up sooner rather than later as teams need to plan  for the future 

As for Welfare not sure how they are meant to build for the future without knowing what league they will be in or not ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,same for EOS winners 

Well they do have plans and by the looks of things will have a ground out of the Motherwell area next season.

And winning the SoS is a certain level of success considering the competitions they have competed in.

Less said about Glasgow United the better though :) Not sure they've completely dropped that idea.