Two Doors Down

Flybhoy

I was a bit 'meh' about this show at first, the couple of one off editions of it were mildly amusing in parts but nothing spectacular. 

Since being made into a series it has benefited greatly from some good cast additions (Elaine C Smith is surprisingly good, even 'Grado' does well in his role as gormless Alan) and some decent script writing input, always a few belting one liners each show, the tactless goon Alan revealing after telling how he and Michelle had been dating since school that he had..

'Pumped this one lassie before her but it's just been her since then'... was my highlight of the first episode of the new series last night. 

Doon Mackichon as alcoholic radge wife and horrible cow Cathy is the genuine star of the show for me.

Still Game has, since it's comeback become a bit of a  tragic parody of its glory years of series 2 to 5 in my opinion but, while TDD has a bit to go to reach that peak it has potential in my opinion, even Jonathan Watson is quite good in this, just a shame he doesn't put all his time and energy into it solely and bag that OAE garbage every New Year. 

I’ve mentioned on another thread how much I enjoy this show.

It’s been really consistent over the three series and the Hogmanay pilot it had a few years ago. More consistent than Still Game anyway...

The writing is bang on for the most part as well but the ensemble really bring it to life.

Waiting for Daniela Nardini to show up after her star turn in the pilot episode. Greg McHugh was pretty decent in that too.

I was worried it wouldn't be as good as the pilot when Daniela Nardini wasn't in it, but the character of Cathy has been immense. Would still like to see her return for a wee episode.

As has been said, been really strong throughout, and I actually thought the other night's new episode was one of the best so far. The "Wedding Dance" scene had me in stitches!

Don't think that there has ever been an episode that I have not found funny, either through fantastic one liners or just great acting and scenes. The wedding dance or the 'lovely fucking trifle' being served in the new episode. 

Great casting and acting and consistently my favourite comedy on TV.

It even makes Jonathan Watson look funny - although he is cast as an annoying wee know-it-all p***k

Edited by MEADOWXI

Have been watching this since the pilot and think it is a great comedy show with well balanced cast.  Elaine C Smith has some great one liners,  Cathy is completely outragous and one of the best episodes was when Colin ( Jonathan Watson) admitted he had been wanking while watching porn on th internet. 

There was talk in the paper last week of making a stage show which would be good in a smaller theatre rather than the Hydro.

Started watching this this on iplayer, have got as far as midway through season 3. Brilliant television, the cast and writing make it. Elaine C Smiths drops some perfectly timed F-bombs and one liners and Cathy is the nest character in the show! 

The best scene iv seen is the Ally McCoist sticker on the family portrait! Proper burst out laughing at that and couldn't stop!