Primary School speed limits

Billy Rubin

primary schools speed limit  

25 members have voted

The sun has been setting later for the last week or so - but as we celebrate this festive season we should seek inspiration from Mother Mary and make an extra special effort to look after the welfare of the bairns and get them home safe from school!     

I think most folks understand the main argument from lobby groups like Mumsnet,  What Car magazine, Daily Mirror readers, and Fast Ford.     But lets summerise the pros and cons.  

Increase the speed limits to 30m.p.h around primary schools

Pros

1.   Will help improve the flow of traffic and reduce the times of your average commute.  

2,   Young children's brains are like a sponge and very capable.   Therefore subjecting them to a *false* unrealistic speed limit can lead to poor road crossing decisions in other urban areas of their town and increase fatalities.    Speed = distance/time isn't taught till big school.    

Cons:   

1.    People don't like change.   

2.   Statistically,  the child will probably die if stuck at 30mph - although this isn't a cert -  even if its an SUV with bullbars.     

Keep the speed limit to 20mph around Primary Schools

Pros:

1.   "twenty's plenty"  has a catchy ring and people are generally adverse to change.    

2.   Any child struck my a motorcar would be more likely to survive at this lower speed.   

Cons:  

1.   20 zones can lead to an increase in death a serious injury compared with the national speed limit of 30 in our urban areas.  

2.  It's a boring half-way house that keeps nobody happy.    A 20 zone is essentially May's Brexit deal.    

Reduce the speed limit to 10mph outside our Primary Schools   

Pros

1.   At 10 mph even a 5 stone child can stop a car dead in its tracks.   There's do direct risk of hospitalisation at this speed which will take the strain of the NHS, especially during there winter months.  

2.  There won't be any need to drop off the child as they'll be able to alight the car safely at this speed.   This will reduce braking and increase the flow of traffic.   

Cons 

1.   This is pandering to the Greens.   Sure Patrick Harvie is a top boy but Greer is a c**t.   

2.   School fatalities are rare.   Lowering the speed limit might save a life or two but that would be it.   

It's a political hot potato Pie and Bovril readers!   Catch.   

Idiots speed on the roads near the primary school where I live. They don't care about kids walking home and probably don't realise the school day starts at 7.30am (breakfast Club) and ends at 6pm for some children.
There is talk of a 20 zone being introduced, though speed humps, which would be more effective, can't be introduced because it's a bus route.
I'll be having a chat with my local councillors about this again soon.

Drop children off at primary schools with drones. Or make the obese little fuckers walk and get some exercise and develop road sense. It would improve the genetic stock and the survival of humanity in the long term, albeit a tiny amount of short term tears over Volvo splashed infant blood.

Guest Moomintroll

20mph around Primary Schools is right imo, selfish, lazy b*****d parents who abandon their cars as close as they possibly can to the entrance thereby blocking other road users view and increasing the risk to children travelling on foot need taken out the back and shot however.

Problem is caused by lazy parents in general who'd be the first to claim compo and blame others should little Oscar/Ollie/Jaxon etc be knocked down by another vehicle after they had done the drive-by drop off technique favoured by fat slags who are still in their jammies.

Drop off points away from the school with kids allowed to go straight into the building rather than wait on the bell would help.

20 minutes ago, Black Dug said:

Problem is caused by lazy parents in general who'd be the first to claim compo and blame others should little Oscar/Ollie/Jaxon etc be knocked down by another vehicle after they had done the drive-by drop off technique favoured by fat slags who are still in their jammies.

Drop off points away from the school with kids allowed to go straight into the building rather than wait on the bell would help.

A major contributor is the total absence of the 'drive by drop off technique'. Before I had weans I had never appreciated the capacity women have to park their Kugas and Qashqais outside the school and talk shite to their pals for 20 minutes.

13 minutes ago, Deontay WildPar said:

^^^ The next Tory manifesto writer likes this.

The Tories behind the curve again with decades of Socialist and Nationalist influence fucking Scottish education.  I'm only taking P&B as my touchstone, mind.  

The number of fat munters with obese offspring is a problem in modern Scotland. Therefore cars should be banned within a mile radius of any primary school and the tubby wee fuckers made to walk. 

I used to walk half a mile down the road to my primary school. Aged 7. On my own. In the 1970s. I'm surprised I was never murdered by Jimmy Savile types... 

5 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

The number of fat munters with obese offspring is a problem in modern Scotland. Therefore cars should be banned within a mile radius of any primary school and the tubby wee fuckers made to walk. 

I used to walk half a mile down the road to my primary school. Aged 7. On my own. In the 1970s. I'm surprised I was never murdered by Jimmy Savile types... 

You were probably too ugly for them.

A major contributor is the total absence of the 'drive by drop off technique'. Before I had weans I had never appreciated the capacity women have to park their Kugas and Qashqais outside the school and talk shite to their pals for 20 minutes.
Hang on... You had never appreciated the capacity for women to talk shite?