New tv deal

Who should get the Scottish Premiership tv deal?  

119 members have voted

1. 1. Tv deal

• BT sport only
    • Sky Sports only
    • Joint deal again
    • Other (state who in the comments)

This poll is closed to new votes

• Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.
  • Poll closed on 11/11/18 at 19:39

The key thing here imo is that we are getting significantly more money. Hopefully the fact that it is set to become an exclusive Sky property means that we get better coverage and more attention placed on our league.  Another bonus is were are no longer signing up for 4-5 years at a time so if it doesn't work out then  if sky wrestle back the champions league then BT might swing round and try and bid heavily for our rights. 

1 hour ago, Squirrelhumper said:

I don't know many folk who give a f**k about what they sing, it's the fact it's £27 to go to a game at 12.15pm on a sunday live on TV.

Jeez.

I don't miss that about the topflight

Edited by Gaz FFC

If Sky invest more money in Scottish football and secure exclusive rights for it they will probably be looking to increase and improve the coverage they give to it.  One reason why BT Sport seemed to give more time to Scottish football is that they had less other sport to fill the space on their channels.  If you offered BT a swap of more English Premiership games for Scottish ones they'd bite your hand, and likely your whole arm, off.  

It's an interesting time for sports broadcasting in the UK, with a lot of new players in the market, a few mentioned on this thread.  Some smaller, and larger, companies have bet heavy on certain sports rights and I think that we'll see some significant changes in the sector in the short to medium term.  In that context, going with Sky is a no-brainer in terms of their longevity and reliability.   I think that BT Sport are going to face some challenges with their slate of programming - they have now lost some European football, UFC, NBA basketball, reduced their Premiership games.  Maybe Sky is a better longer term bet.

16 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

If Sky invest more money in Scottish football and secure exclusive rights for it they will probably be looking to increase and improve the coverage they give to it.  One reason why BT Sport seemed to give more time to Scottish football is that they had less other sport to fill the space on their channels.  If you offered BT a swap of more English Premiership games for Scottish ones they'd bite your hand, and likely your whole arm, off.  

It's an interesting time for sports broadcasting in the UK, with a lot of new players in the market, a few mentioned on this thread.  Some smaller, and larger, companies have bet heavy on certain sports rights and I think that we'll see some significant changes in the sector in the short to medium term.  In that context, going with Sky is a no-brainer in terms of their longevity and reliability.   I think that BT Sport are going to face some challenges with their slate of programming - they have now lost some European football, UFC, NBA basketball, reduced their Premiership games.  Maybe Sky is a better longer term bet.

I'm not sure. I'd say Sky are far more vulnerable to a change in the broadcast market than BT are, especially as Sky subs are expensive. BT's core market isn't TV or Sport but it is dominant broadband provider in many areas. 

BT's stuff was independently produced? Perhaps just getting the team that direct and produce the BT coverage would be a better idea. That said you don't know the budgets each programme has. 

Honestly gutted. Feel BT sports coverage is of better quality than sky's (they used to be involved with or associated to or supported or had a great grandfathers pal who liked one of the ugly sister's) coverage.

BT sport is also cheaper to boot.  Doesn't really affect me anyway seeing as my team won't be on the box next year.

20 hours ago, Firhill_Basin said:

I'd quite like Eleven to win them, as I hate indirectly funding the shite that is English football with my subscriptions to those services. I'd cancel Sky and BT immediately.

I'm thinking about subscribing to eleven for their UFC coverage....if they were to have Scottish football that'd be a no brainer for me.

6 hours ago, WATTOO said:

Eleven Sports are one of the main sports broadcasters in Poland and Portugal and personally I've found them excellent so far, with regards to their coverage of the Italian & Spanish football. It's really no hassle plugging your laptop into your big TV via HDMI.

As for Sky, they're only interested in American Sport or English orientated dross so they can just fcuk right off as far as I'm concerned.

Or cast it using chromecast or similar. Someone mentioned that streaming is the way forward and I have to agree there.

I just hope whoever gets it gives it a bit of attention and doesn't constantly pander to the "OF"

I'll be sad to see Sky getting the lot, if that's really how things go, but it sounds like a decent amount of money at last. For a lot of clubs, this will mark the point where the SPFL distribution exceeds gate money for the first time. If the figure of £33m a year is roughly correct, that's about £14m a year more, which means about an extra £1.9m a year for the SPFL winner, an extra £800,000 for 7th place, £630,000  more for 12th. That is significant extra money, especially for the smaller Premiership teams.

Even in the lower leagues, the effect is pretty significant. An extra £300,000+ for the winner of the Championship, £140,000 more for 5th, £100,000 more for 10th. Even bottom of League Two will get about £25,000 more a year.

Edited by bendan

You may not like Michael Stewart personally, but he is the least biased pundit out there, gives an honest opinion without trying to pander to folk in the game, takes a reasonable interest in and knowledge of all the top flight clubs and actually tries to give a decent tactical analysis.  He can get huffy and petulant when folk disagree with him admittedly.
Pat Bonner seems like a nice man. However, he has no interest in and very little knowledge of any team outwith Celtic, and possibly Rangers. He should be working for Celtic tv, or hosting Celtic hospitality lounges or supporters events. Basically nowhere near a national football programme.  Willie Miller the same regarding Aberdeen, although not quite as bad as Bonner.
To compare Stewart with Bonner is bizarre!
I don't mind Michael Stewart - he at least doesn't speak from the same Old Firm script that the others do.

Getting him on with Tom English would be interesting viewing.

6 hours ago, Big Fifer said:

This graphic is from the Record so obviously take it with a bit of a pinch of salt. I just can't seem to get excited by £30m a year when you've already got Belgium, Holland, Norway and Denmark earning significantly more. I'm sure there are reasons for it that I'm not aware of, but "whopping" is one thing I don't think this deal is.

Screen-Shot-2017-03-30-at-000635.png

Right, so, please feel free for anyone to correct me, but on the comparable deals:

Dutch Eredivisie - Every game is shown live on the pay tv channel, Fox Sports Eredivisie. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fox_Sports_Eredivisie

Belgian Jupiler Pro League - As far as I can tell, this is the same as the Eredivisie, all shown live on Proximus: https://www.proximus.com/en/news/all-belgian-professional-football-only-proximus-tv-until-2020#

Polish Ekstraklasa - Five games each, a week, between 2 broadcasters - https://www.digitaltveurope.com/2018/04/17/eleven-sports-shares-la-liga-rights-in-poland-with-canal/

Danish Superliga - 132 live games a year: https://www.broadbandtvnews.com/2014/06/30/mtg-prolongs-exclusive-rights-to-danish-superliga/

Austrian Bundesliga - All matches, all live: http://www.sportspromedia.com/news/sky-nets-austrian-bundesliga-rights

Swedish Alsvenskan - As far as I can tell, shows all games: https://advanced-television.com/2017/03/24/eurosport-sweden-scores-allsvenskan-rights/

Liga NOS - Showing at least 6 goals a weekend

Soooo I dunno, might've been covered elsewhere, but it's not like the Record to be misleading, is it? Not to say that it would be impossible for us to get similar deals, but in a bunch of these, they're literally unattainable due to the TV blackout.

I couldn't find the Greek superleague details, but they seem particularly odd, with 9 clubs getting a deal on a yearly basis, or something chaotic.

Not to say that we shouldn't always be hunting for a better deal, of course we should, particularly when you see the truly eye-watering figures across the border. That said, when put in proper context with the leagues of similar standing, it isn't a million miles away from some, and perhaps even better than others?

21 minutes ago, thisGRAEME said:

Right, so, please feel free for anyone to correct me, but on the comparable deals:

Dutch Eredivisie - Every game is shown live on the pay tv channel, Fox Sports Eredivisie. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fox_Sports_Eredivisie

Belgian Jupiler Pro League - As far as I can tell, this is the same as the Eredivisie, all shown live on Proximus: https://www.proximus.com/en/news/all-belgian-professional-football-only-proximus-tv-until-2020#

Polish Ekstraklasa - Five games each, a week, between 2 broadcasters - https://www.digitaltveurope.com/2018/04/17/eleven-sports-shares-la-liga-rights-in-poland-with-canal/

Danish Superliga - 132 live games a year: https://www.broadbandtvnews.com/2014/06/30/mtg-prolongs-exclusive-rights-to-danish-superliga/

Austrian Bundesliga - All matches, all live: http://www.sportspromedia.com/news/sky-nets-austrian-bundesliga-rights

Swedish Alsvenskan - As far as I can tell, shows all games: https://advanced-television.com/2017/03/24/eurosport-sweden-scores-allsvenskan-rights/

Soooo I dunno, might've been covered elsewhere, but it's not like the Record to be misleading, is it? Not to say that it would be impossible for us to get similar deals, but in a bunch of these, they're literally unattainable due to the TV blackout.

I couldn't find the Greek superleague details, but they seem particularly odd, with 9 clubs getting a deal on a yearly basis, or something chaotic.

Not to say that we shouldn't always be hunting for a better deal, of course we should, particularly when you see the truly eye-watering figures across the border. That said, when put in proper context with the leagues of similar standing, it isn't a million miles away from some, and perhaps even better than others?

23 hours ago, Big Fifer said:

This graphic is from the Record so obviously take it with a bit of a pinch of salt. I just can't seem to get excited by £30m a year when you've already got Belgium, Holland, Norway and Denmark earning significantly more. I'm sure there are reasons for it that I'm not aware of, but "whopping" is one thing I don't think this deal is.

Rather glad I included this wee caveat now :lol:

20 minutes ago, thisGRAEME said:

:lol: I didn't mean it to be snide at all pal, just, y'know, there is a context to it all.

Nah I'd assumed that the values from the Record would have more of a backstory to them than just "they earn mare" kinda thing. I still don't think this deal is all that incredible, but as someone else replied to me earlier, you can only piss with the cock we've got, and I'm perhaps guilty of looking down south at their deal too much when its a different animal up here entirely. 

2 hours ago, thisGRAEME said:

How many times have you and others had to point this out, that it is not comparing like for like. It's almost like some fuckers just want to moan for the sake of moaning.

I’d fucking hate it, if money into Scottish football from TV rights became in any way comparable to the EPL, it’s sanitised shite because of the money (not going to happen anyway), I’d prefer every game to kick off at 3pm on a Saturday & highlights shown on Sportscene on a Saturday evening. This “we need a better deal from TV rights” pish, is exactly that. Scottish club sides & national team were infinitely better back when the TV deal was as I’ve stated. I’d allow cup finals to be broadcast live, but that’s it.