Bohemians v East Fife - Diddy Cup 1/4 Final

King Kebab

"It’s beyond belief really, you don’t think it can get any bigger a joke than it already is and then this happens. If we were still in it and were struggling to field a team we would be fined and kicked out. It’s beyond belief that a team from another association can trample all over the cup and nothing gets done about it.

“Yesterday there was an SPFL meeting at Hampden and this wasn’t on the agenda. The problem is that the clubs choose to ignore what’s happening, nobody has the foresight to get together, have a separate meeting and then tell Neil Doncaster this isn’t acceptable anymore.

“There is the competitions working group. Whoever they are on that committee – they should all resign, let themselves be known and resign. I know Iain Dougan from Stranraer is on it. So is Warren Hawke from Morton, who played a reserve team in their Irn-Bru Cup tie so that’s how highly they think of the competiton. Yet he has a big say on the competition. These people should be outed and made to resign, the clubs should get together and put a stop to this.

“For me this is a bigger farce than the League Cup semi-finals, but we got an uproar about that because it was Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen and Hearts and the big clubs did something. The big clubs are involved in the Irn-Bru Cup with their colt teams so why don’t they get involved with this. But they don’t and the lower league teams just have to suck it up. My message to Neil Doncaster and the competitions working group would be to stop this madness.

“We put in a letter of complaint and we received a reply from Neil Doncaster which said the feedback on the competition has been really good. Now it would be important to know who gave good feedback and has it all been good feedback because we’ve made our feelings known, Arbroath and Dunfermline have done the same publicly. East Fife won’t be happy about this either. He can say what he wants but they have made a massive mistake.

“The working committee should be made to resign by the clubs".

He should stop tip-toing around the issue and tell everyone what he really thinks :lol:...

Meanwhile, the 'inside source':

"The problem has arisen because none of the teams from the Republic of Ireland have gone this far.

“We thought they knew the guidelines and when the tournament was to be played and that they would be available. The situation is not ideal".

Given they only joined last season it's hardly outlandish that none of them had gone this far before now!

Also surely they either knew the guidelines or didn't, and were therefore obliged to be available or not?

• Replies 423

McPherson pulls no punches:

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/gus-macpherson-irn-bru-cup-is-all-about-political-agendas-1-4819598

“I have been involved in this tournament for a number of years in a number of roles and I can say that it is no longer a cup tournament run for teams, but a tournament run to suit political agendas.

“The Colts team idea has not worked when you look at the attendances.

"The cross-border teams enter it knowing the rules, however they are allowed to operate to a different set of rules. The goalposts can change for fixtures as every­one has seen with the East Fife and Bohemians tie. That would not be done for a domestic Scottish team.”

“I am sure that the organisers will say that they have made the changes to stimulate interest and generate finance. However, this tournament has nothing to do with finance, it is all about suiting one or two political agendas.

“The Challenge Cup used to be seen by fans as a genuine chance to win a domestic tournament with no agenda attached to it. In terms of stimulating interest, we had 10,000 fans at our final with Hamilton when we won it.

“There is interest there, but interest will not be stimulated when the cup is being run to suit political means.”

50 minutes ago, HibeeJibee said:

In terms of stimulating interest, we had 10,000 fans at our final with Hamilton when we won it.

"We" being St Mirren. Yet he's shown wearing the QP badge. Of course, maybe The Scotsman hasn't heard he's moved yet.

It would be bolder if he'd chosen to explain what he sees as "political".  Otherwise, it's just a rant.

Don't understand those who want Bohs to forfeit tie, surely a wee trip to Dublin creates bit of interest !

The Colts teams being involved is nonsense but the teams from other countries gives a bit of variety from the usual grounds  we visit over and over again.

6 minutes ago, derbydan said:

Don't understand those who want Bohs to forfeit tie, surely a wee trip to Dublin creates bit of interest !

The Colts teams being involved is nonsense but the teams from other countries gives a bit of variety from the usual grounds  we visit over and over again.

East Fife fans I'd say would have been delighted with a trip to Dublin if it had of been scheduled correctly.. Instead we still haven't got a date, so who knows when or how it will effect their cup/ league fixtures, will it be midweek or weekend etc... They are pissed off and rightly so...

5 hours ago, Bring Your Own Socks said:

"We" being St Mirren. Yet he's shown wearing the QP badge. Of course, maybe The Scotsman hasn't heard he's moved yet.

It would be bolder if he'd chosen to explain what he sees as "political".  Otherwise, it's just a rant.

Nothing wrong with a good rant of course when it's pretty accurate. He was also QP boss when we nearly reached the final a few seasons ago. Not that this season's run to the quarters hasn't been enjoyable. No problem with including the "foreign" sides but the Colts need binned. The fact that McCart and Mulholland are on this SPFL working group means that isn't happening anytime soon unfortunately

4 minutes ago, Mick1867 said:

Nothing wrong with a good rant of course when it's pretty accurate. He was also QP boss when we nearly reached the final a few seasons ago. Not that this season's run to the quarters hasn't been enjoyable. No problem with including the "foreign" sides but the Colts need binned. The fact that McCart and Mulholland are on this SPFL working group means that isn't happening anytime soon unfortunately

I'm not challenging Gus per se. Quotes like that are just as "political" with it's veiled implications. At least McInally called out a few names although just the monkeys, not the organ grinder. I'd give Gus the credit for saying something but unless it's definitive it's just more white noise. About time he was on Peter & Roughie again so we can get the story out.

If you see Lewis about the place ask him to have a word with his Dad too. Friday night fitba for an empty Hampden? FFS!

Whole event is FUBAR! Unless we win the cup of course.

2 hours ago, derbydan said:

Dublin's open all year round friend. It's the hypocrisy of this thread that some loathe the competition, full stop, whilst others tolerate it because there's a small percentage chance of having an awayday to see their favourites. Everyone seems to have some level of complaint though. But tolerating this very poor decision - if it qualifies as that - simply encourages the SPFL to go again next year and not give any concern to those swept up in the carnage.

The principle argument is very clear though. In any other tournament run by the SPFL or SFA or any other European FA there are rules written in for forfeiture of the tie, including the non-appearance of one of the teams.  Effectively the tie is abandoned and awarded to the team that turns up. EFFC board should take the initiative, write to the SPFL advising they are available to play at an agreed time and venue for the weekend of the 17th November and that anything else would be considered as an abandoned tie with EFFC to proceed. 

16 hours ago, Bring Your Own Socks said:

Excerpt from the SPFL Challenge Cup 2018-9 Regulations. East Fife have a right to know exactly what the "just cause" is, as does every other interested Scottish Football fan. Neil Doncaster being  a whompercunt isn't justification, imho.

image.png.1e6f97bb6fd6b3874c5659d33185c8d2.png

I would say that Bohs advising the SPFL when they got invited that they couldn't play on the QF date and then being told that it will be sorted out "if it happens" would easily qualify as a "just cause".

Effectively, the SPFL's incompetence has caused Bohs having a just cause to not play...

8 hours ago, Marten said:

I would say that Bohs advising the SPFL when they got invited that they couldn't play on the QF date and then being told that it will be sorted out "if it happens" would easily qualify as a "just cause".

Effectively, the SPFL's incompetence has caused Bohs having a just cause to not play...

I'd agree with that from their perspective but it's still cause for complaint from EF. If club's members/boards take this shit they've no right to complain in future. This clause says it all. Scottish clubs get notified they are "required to take part". Other association clubs get an "invite". No wonder the Bohs gave them the vicky. Not great PR on their part though. As a professional team some of their lads must surely be on a contract until next season starts in spring.

image.png.6c1112e7a006b4ab907772568c3d7473.png