Pyramid 2019/2020

Where did Musselburgh spend the money  from two Scottish Junior Cup finals? What did Bonnyrigg splash the cash on from their Senior Scotish cup run a couple of seasons back?
Clearly Musselburgh have spent their money given the financial issues at the end of last season. Wouldn't be so sure that Bonnyrigg's has been spent and the money that has certainly hasn't gone on signing fees and wages, we have one of the smaller squads in the EoS and a very low turnover of players, my understanding is also that everyone's wages were cut for this season due to the financial uncertainties of the move.

3 hours ago, gogsy said:

Teams like Whitehill Welfare you mean? Try telling them that , they can maybe explain to you  how much effort they've spent trying  to get floodlights over the years. They can then maybe tell you to **** off and crawl back under the stone you've come out of.

I absolutely do mean clubs like that. And those further up the chain too. Musselburgh will have made next to nothing from those cup runs and Bonnyrigg have spent plenty on ground improvements. Not every club relies on a sugar daddy but maybe when he sees the SFA cash he will donate less. 

4 hours ago, LongTimeLurker said:

Where did the money from the Celtic game at Easter Road go? The point made about a lot of money being spent elsewhere over the years so they could be a big fish in a very small pond is probably a valid one.

Hibs made more oot that game than ww did. 

2 hours ago, LongTimeLurker said:

Not on floodlights in both cases and maybe they are regretting the emphasis they placed on signing on fees and win bonuses over facilities right now in much the same way as Whitehill Welfare probably are?

I would say purchasing floodlights is a far greater expense than putting a team on the park  ?

We've been knocked back for years whilst the local cooncil have given other clubs in the area thousands.

That's no a pop at these clubs just the disadvantage of owning yer ground.

I'd rather see a ww team struggle on the park anyday than face financial ruin which I take it might/would happen.

Spending a helluva lot on floodlights aint gonnae happen at ww anytime soon i wouldn't think.For the sake of 2 or 3 midweek games a season it's hardly worth it.

I'm all for change for the good of Scottish fitba but least let us play our way doon the leagues rather than be dictated to by a set of rules which seem to get made up as we go along from day to day ?

I would say purchasing floodlights is a far greater expense than putting a team on the park  ?

We've been knocked back for years whilst the local cooncil have given other clubs in the area thousands.

That's no a pop at these clubs just the disadvantage of owning yer ground.

I'd rather see a ww team struggle on the park anyday than face financial ruin which I take it might/would happen.

Spending a helluva lot on floodlights aint gonnae happen at ww anytime soon i wouldn't think.For the sake of 2 or 3 midweek games a season it's hardly worth it.

I'm all for change for the good of Scottish fitba but least let us play our way doon the leagues rather than be dictated to by a set of rules which seem to get made up as we go along from day to day ?

Having floodlights is a good thing isn't it? And in reality, a basic requirement in semi-pro football.

Just trying to figure oot where I said it wasn't.  :blink:
You said it was hardly worth it.

This change in requirement shouldn't have come as a shock to any LL club who don't have them, and from an SFA perspective, given the amount of money these clubs receive via Scottish Cup participation and SFA annual payments, pleading poverty probably falls on deaf ears at Hampden.

This is a different scenario to that faced by current Licence applicants.

All that said, the SFA should be a bit more understanding of the financial impact this has on clubs.

1 hour ago, Burnie_man said:

Having floodlights is a good thing isn't it? And in reality, a basic requirement in semi-pro football.

...especially for a club that was in the EoS before moving to the LL as they would have been able to use them regularly to clear fixture backlogs. It's understandable that being a perennial title challenger in the EoS took priority over the years but now there's a price to be paid for earlier short term thinking.

Edited by LongTimeLurker

16 minutes ago, LongTimeLurker said:

...especially for a club that was in the EoS before moving to the LL as they would have been able to use them regularly to clear fixture backlogs. It's understandable that being a perennial title challenger in the EoS took priority over the years but now there's a price to be paid for earlier short term thinking.

Loads o clubs in EOSFL didnt/Don't have them.

And 20 odd year ago we all seen the LL coming right enough. 

19 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

You said it was hardly worth it.

This change in requirement shouldn't have come as a shock to any LL club who don't have them, and from an SFA perspective, given the amount of money these clubs receive via Scottish Cup participation and SFA annual payments, pleading poverty probably falls on deaf ears at Hampden.

This is a different scenario to that faced by current Licence applicants.

All that said, the SFA should be a bit more understanding of the financial impact this has on clubs.

Nobody is pleading poverty and do you know how much the hand outs from the SFA are ?

I'm sure the books at ww are in good order. It's just no worth bankrupting the club.

It's all too easy for clubs to groundshare wi clubs that awready have licenses.

How did your club get your floodlights  ?

Edited by newcastle broon

Excuse me for feeling a little schadenfreude when a club whose fans joined in all the devils lanterns patter on here stand to lose their entry level licence due to a lack of devils luminescence because they behaved just like a junior club by spending the money they had chasing titles in the short term. 

40 minutes ago, newcastle broon said:

Loads o clubs in EOSFL didnt/Don't have them.

And 20 odd year ago we all seen the LL coming right enough. 

Nobody is pleading poverty and do you know how much the hand outs from the SFA are ?

I'm sure the books at ww are in good order. It's just no worth bankrupting the club.

It's all too easy for clubs to groundshare wi clubs that awready have licenses.

How did your club get your floodlights  ?

From what I understand last years SFA annual payment to clubs in the EoS was £12,000, LL may get more being a level above, add in a minimum of £3,000 for Scottish participation (more if you progress through several rounds) and there’s £15,000 to start with. That’s just one year, I guess the 2018 payment is due around now.  The LL clubs have benefitted from these sort of payments (and I appreciate some years are lower than others) for around the last 5 years.  I understand floodlights cost around c.£60,000, and the SFP provide grants to Licenced clubs which could cover a decent whack of that cost.   

Clubs going through the process now – and who are expected to install floodlights before they can be Licenced as it stands – have not received a penny, and are caught in the trap that the SFP give reduced grants to non-Licenced clubs, but clubs can’t get Licenced and access to higher grants until the install floodlights.  This is where the SFA need to help more.

As for us, our floodlights are 40 years old and were refurbished when we moved there 4 years ago, a move which took 8 years to come to fruition.  We fully expect there to be further significant changes to Licencing in the future, the example of covered seats being one, and we need to plan for that eventuality.

13 minutes ago, LongTimeLurker said:

Excuse me for feeling a little schadenfreude when a club whose fans joined in all the devils lanterns patter on here stand to lose their entry level licence due to a lack of devils luminescence because they behaved just like a junior club by spending the money they had chasing titles in the short term. 

Show me a post where any ww fan has given the devil's lantern patter !

I think you'll find that was from a well known EDINBURGH CITY fan on here  on quite a regular basis so I'd check the facts oot 1st before yer persistent patronising of the most successful club in EOSFL history ;)

13 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

From what I understand last years SFA annual payment to clubs in the EoS was £12,000, LL may get more being a level above, add in a minimum of £3,000 for Scottish participation (more if you progress through several rounds) and there’s £15,000 to start with. That’s just one year, I guess the 2018 payment is due around now.  The LL clubs have benefitted from these sort of payments (and I appreciate some years are lower than others) for around the last 5 years.  I understand floodlights cost around c.£60,000, and the SFP provide grants to Licenced clubs which could cover a decent whack of that cost.   

Clubs going through the process now – and who are expected to install floodlights before they can be Licenced as it stands – have not received a penny, and are caught in the trap that the SFP give reduced grants to non-Licenced clubs, but clubs can’t get Licenced and access to higher grants until the install floodlights.  This is where the SFA need to help more.

As for us, our floodlights are 40 years old and were refurbished when we moved there 4 years ago, a move which took 8 years to come to fruition.  We fully expect there to be further significant changes to Licencing in the future, the example of covered seats being one, and we need to plan for that eventuality.

Youll Ken more than me being a committee man aboot figures.

I've said loads times on here I'm almost 100% certain we have tried every avenue we can for grants etc. 

I think the 60k quote was taken from Selkirk but that wasn't 100% confirmed either. It's probably a lot more than that  ?

The SFA really  haven't a clue getting all these clubs on board and now making up silly rules (No just floodlights they should be a given) but allowing clubs to be licensed just for groundsharing  ?

12 minutes ago, newcastle broon said:

Youll Ken more than me being a committee man aboot figures.

I've said loads times on here I'm almost 100% certain we have tried every avenue we can for grants etc. 

I think the 60k quote was taken from Selkirk but that wasn't 100% confirmed either. It's probably a lot more than that  ?

The SFA really  haven't a clue getting all these clubs on board and now making up silly rules (No just floodlights they should be a given) but allowing clubs to be licensed just for groundsharing  ?

£50-£70k will be the ballpark overall cost for lights, depending on circumstances.

I’ve said before that hiring grounds miles away from your supposed home area in order to meet Licence criteria is a loophole that needs closed.  Edusport are an abomination who rip the pish out of the SFA Licence, BSC Alloa aren’t much better, Glasgow Uni at Airdrie.

I guess in future, Pumpherston could simply hire the Tony Macaroni Arena now that it is 3G and play there if they ever joined the Pyramid and wanted Licenced, or even Armadale or Whitburn. No matter that it’s nowhere near where they come from.

35 minutes ago, newcastle broon said:

Show me a post where any ww fan has given the devil's lantern patter !

I think you'll find that was from a well known EDINBURGH CITY fan on here  on quite a regular basis so I'd check the facts oot 1st before yer persistent patronising of the most successful club in EOSFL history ;)

GET DOON!

6 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

£50-£70k will be the ballpark overall cost for lights, depending on circumstances.

I’ve said before that hiring grounds miles away from your supposed home area in order to meet Licence criteria is a loophole that needs closed.  Edusport are an abomination who rip the pish out of the SFA Licence, BSC Alloa aren’t much better, Glasgow Uni at Airdrie.

I guess in future, Pumpherston could simply hire the Tony Macaroni Arena now that it is 3G and play there if they ever joined the Pyramid and wanted Licenced, or even Armadale or Whitburn. No matter that it’s nowhere near where they come from.

We'd have problems lighting the surrounding area as well from the main road to the park.That would add a bit more cost I'd think. 

I note that the SFA have just announced a record payout this year, with £1.7m distributed through the various Licencing tiers.  I guess the £12k from last year will therefore increase for EoS Licenced clubs, and more for LL?  Not sure if LL/HL get more than EoS/SoS.

A good start for current Licenced clubs faced with floodlighting costs.

3 hours ago, Burnie_man said:

I note that the SFA have just announced a record payout this year, with £1.7m distributed through the various Licencing tiers.  I guess the £12k from last year will therefore increase for EoS Licenced clubs, and more for LL?  Not sure if LL/HL get more than EoS/SoS.

A good start for current Licenced clubs faced with floodlighting costs.

Is the payout possibly dependent upon the type of licence you hold rather than which league you are in? And that payout won’t include Scottish Cup money which is dealt with separately according to their announcement.