Selkirk possible demise

50 minutes ago, Ginaro said:

Depends on how many points Whitehill have in 15th ;)

Not so sure what you on aboot ,nothing to do wi points,if we finish 15th we'll deserve to go doon but would hope we'd have a case on the basis of being founder members when nae body else was interested. 

Oh and we know we punching above weight and it's a matter of time before the inevitable happens,just give us a sporting chance and no decided by altering paperwork   ;)

• Replies 114
59 minutes ago, Ginaro said:

Depends on how many points Whitehill have in 15th ;)

The principle of that could actually have an effect if it goes to an application process.

Regardless of the unfortunate circumstances they may face relegation, if 15th are bottom by a clear margin it could count against them in any vote.

21 hours ago, FairWeatherFan said:

EoS Conference Winners Round Robin sees the newly licenced Bonnyrigg beat the historically licenced Linlithgow, Linlithgow beat the newly licenced Penicuik and then Penicuik beat Bonnyrigg. Bonnyrigg win the EoS Championship on whatever the title deciders will be, then win promotion by beating the licenced SoS Champion in the Lowland League Promotion Playoff.

SoS Champion, Linlithgow, Penicuik and LL15 (who are only bottom because of Selkirk going bust) all apply for the vacancy. Which of the 4 get the one vacancy?

The one with the best floodlights. 

That's the only scenario where no vacancy would arise, AFAICS.

At other end of the scale (even if unlikely) there could be more than 1 vacancy e.g. if Peterhead/Elgin relegated and LL champion promoted, and/or neither EOSL or SOSL champion licensed?

I think that slfl statement will rightly or wrongly give a free pass to the sos winner if they are licensed.

If there happened to be say 3 vacancies to the LL do the eos and sos have to butt heads or is there more in writing beyond the play-off

Or is there technically only 1 promotion slot irrelevant of goings on.

15th can only reapply if neither the SoS or EoS winners are licensed. Otherwise they are relegated and replaced with the winner of the playoff. 

If there is a vacancy then any club can apply, I would think sporting merit would be considered and the best placed licensed club if they applied would be admitted rather than a club who had been relegated on merit. IMO if it comes to an application then Linlithgow as long term licensed with a well developed ground would be at the top of the list if they don’t win promotion through playoffs/conferences.

2 hours ago, Bundesliga Boy said:

Quite possibly, but it may not come to applications. So much football to be played before we know how things go with playoffs. 

Cove beating  LL champs then a Lowland based club 42 would mean spot gets taken without need for appoications. 

2 hours ago, HibeeJibee said:

That's the only scenario where no vacancy would arise, AFAICS.

At other end of the scale (even if unlikely) there could be more than 1 vacancy e.g. if Peterhead/Elgin relegated and LL champion promoted, and/or neither EOSL or SOSL champion licensed?

1 hour ago, FairWeatherFan said:

They've covered the main issue as to how 15th will be regarded given the situation (with a precedent set for 14th) and taken into account playoffs may mean no vacancy.

Going on to list the half dozen or more permutations wasn't going to be necessary.

That's not how I read the rules at all.

Rule B4(b) is very clear that, if a team is relegated to the LL, but none promoted from it, "the second bottom club will be relegated..."

With Club 15 being ruled as "the bottom club", by implication Club 14 is the second-bottom club. So if a club comes down into the LL, and none go up, then 14 and 15 go down, EOS/SOS play-off winner comes up, and there's still one vacancy to be filled by application.

ETA: Provided there is a licensed team to come up from the EOS/SOS, of course.

Screen Shot 2018-09-04 at 16.23.03.png

9 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:

So if I read everything right, potentially the club finishing 15th (bottom) and therefore relegated would be able to re-apply under certain conditions? if so that's a farce.

Well if the LL want 16 clubs but there's no other licensed clubs at the sharp end of the leagues below then they don't have much choice?

40 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:
1 hour ago, Ginaro said:
Well if the LL want 16 clubs but there's no other licensed clubs at the sharp end of the leagues below then they don't have much choice?

I think there will be a few Licenced clubs at the sharp end come 31st March.

Have you heard anything?

2 hours ago, Burnie_man said:

So if I read everything right, potentially the club finishing 15th (bottom) and therefore relegated would be able to re-apply under certain conditions? if so that's a farce.

The only farce would of been if they got together and decided to rewrite their own rules, instead they've honoured them. We don't know what permutations the playoffs will take, whether the relegated club or clubs would choose to re-apply, or the number of vacancies that may be available.

The same benefit of the doubt extended to the EoS this year when there was fear mongering in certain corners, should be extended to the Lowland League in this situation. The League has chosen new clubs over traditional ones during previous application processes, we heard gossip they wouldn't accept a 2nd relegation spot until the SPFL changed their ways and yet they've now placed 14th at risk of relegation. Nobody knows what they'll do next.

18 minutes ago, FairWeatherFan said:

The only farce would of been if they got together and decided to rewrite their own rules, instead they've honoured them. We don't know what permutations the playoffs will take, whether the relegated club or clubs would choose to re-apply, or the number of vacancies that may be available.

The same benefit of the doubt extended to the EoS this year when there was fear mongering in certain corners, should be extended to the Lowland League in this situation. The League has chosen new clubs over traditional ones during previous application processes, we heard gossip they wouldn't accept a 2nd relegation spot until the SPFL changed their ways and yet they've now placed 14th at risk of relegation. Nobody knows what they'll do next.

It's possible albion rovers are bottoman of league 2 with no points

If you're bottom you should be relegated and not given a chance to avoid it "by application" that's the type of archaic stuff we critise the SJFA for.

12 minutes ago, Burnie_man said:
2 hours ago, FairWeatherFan said:

If you're bottom you should be relegated and not given a chance to avoid it "by application" that's the type of archaic stuff we critise the SJFA for.

The only reason that the 15th placed side are finishing bottom is because the favourites to finish 16th, and who occupied that position, folded. And the only reason they'd have the opportunity to  apply would be to fill Selkirk's vacancy not their own.

The second worst team in the Lowland applying against the 2nd, 3rd, 4th... best from Tier 6 (If they're even licenced) seems fair to me.