The normalisation of the far-right continues

Guest Bob Mahelp

58 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

Honestly mate. See when I was reading about Peterson fantasising about assaulting a small child I really started to question it.

I have pals who are Conservative, but I would probably ditch a pal who is alt-right, unless it was a really old and valued friend.

28 minutes ago, MixuFixit said:

Spare a thought for my pal who was cutting about in a black Fred Perry shirt wondering why folk were being frosty with him till I took him aside and explained the proud boys to him

The proud boys are set of twonks and Gavin Mcinnes is a tedious c**t.

That won't stop me from wearing my black Fred Perry though...

Spare a thought for my pal who was cutting about in a black Fred Perry shirt wondering why folk were being frosty with him till I took him aside and explained the proud boys to him

You: “listen, you are a western chauvinist who does NOT have to apologise for creating the modern world”

35 minutes ago, MixuFixit said:

This thread is all extremely correct.

Found a link there to this prat finding a way to spin a poll that says AOC is popular with everyone but older white men. Worth reading the responses.

https://twitter.com/NumbersMuncher/status/1106562672491970562

4 minutes ago, MixuFixit said:

Ah the guy Trump pardoned out of jail.

Aye, thought I recognised the name from somewhere. Could end up being ironic that he got done for campaign funding violations.

Edited by welshbairn

3 hours ago, yoda said:

I hope they treat him with the same disdain as they did the "Millennial Socialists" in one of their recent issues bQshDtu.png

"Is your tonal pitch used to move teens away from shopping centres?"

I'm not taking issue with him speaking to whoever he wants to, my issue is if I watch a video of his where he's talking about diet or exercise or whatever my suggested videos turn into "Ben Shapiro DESTROYS feminist" followed by "Jordan Peterson OWNS socialist" followed by "Maajid Nawaz DOMINATES Palestinian" etc.

It's poisonous trash.
I also keep getting that crap as suggested videos. I hate it. There's an option to report videos as being irrelevant to you but it doesn't seem to make a difference.

7 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

Perhaps Youtube is doing it on purpose? Maybe they have a secret agenda?

The politics of Silicon Valley definitely tend to the right. You have a guy like Peter Thiel who is an outright fascist and Elon Musk probably isn't far away from him.

If they have an agenda it's pushing wee arseholes to the right so they vote for politicians who won't tax them and won't break up their monopolies. Google and Amazon obviously have strong links to the CIA and the US federal government, they are just another plank in the military industrial complex.

17 hours ago, MeadowArab said:
On 15/03/2019 at 14:43, MixuFixit said:

I'm not taking issue with him speaking to whoever he wants to, my issue is if I watch a video of his where he's talking about diet or exercise or whatever my suggested videos turn into "Ben Shapiro DESTROYS feminist" followed by "Jordan Peterson OWNS socialist" followed by "Maajid Nawaz DOMINATES Palestinian" etc.

It's poisonous trash.

I also keep getting that crap as suggested videos. I hate it. There's an option to report videos as being irrelevant to you but it doesn't seem to make a difference.

I don't get any of that shite as I don't watch it. I do however get followed around by shite shoes adverts after trying to source some for @Shandon Par

I blame the warmonger.

The moment he took Labour away from ins traditional left wing home to become a Tory-lite party that cringes at anything remotely "socialist" , there was only ever going to be one direction of travel for political discourse in this country.

Personally I blame shite like this article from the Daily Heil. I wont link it but have copied and pasted in the hidden comments

It's an article on Countries ranked by happiness of it's population.

Once it gets all of the 'We're better than Country X, Y and Z' shite out of the way it starts on the usual right wing agenda of immigration.

Despite the report having f**k all to do with immigration this rag decides to point out that the Nordic countries(all in the top ten) are  "Not particularly diverse" and Finland who topped the poll is "Relatively homogenous" Even then it points out that the largest group of "Immigrants" are from other European countries i.e. they have white faces

However it does fail to point out that a diverse country like The Netherlands is above the UK

You just know that racist fuckers will be jumping all over pieces like this telling us that countries with low immigration are much happier. 

Finland has been crowned the happiest country in the world for the second year in a row, leading a top ten that is made up of five Nordic nations.

The World Happiness Report, released today, ranked 156 countries by happiness levels, based on factors such as life expectancy, social support and corruption.

But while the Scandinavian countries of Finland, Norway, Denmark, Sweden and Iceland topped the table, there was no sign of Britain in the top ten.

The UK placed 15th, up from 19th last year, one above Ireland and four above the US - which came in at its lowest ranking ever at 19th. 

But Britain still trailed behind the likes of Israel, Austria, Costa Rica, Australia, Luxembourg, Canada and New Zealand. 

The North African nation of South Sudan was at the bottom of the happiness index which found America was getting less happy each year even as the country became richer - falling from 14th place in two years.

It is the second year the U.N. Sustainable Development Solutions Network evaluated 117 countries by the happiness and well-being of their immigrants as part of the annual report.

Europe's Nordic nations, none particularly diverse, have dominated the index since it first was produced in 2012.  

Finland took the top spot with a score of 7.769 out of ten, beating second-placed Denmark which scored 7.6.

Filling out the top five was Norway in third, with 7.554 and Iceland fourth, scoring 7.494, narrowly ranking above fifth-placed Netherlands with 7.488. 

Propping up the table was South Sudan, with a score of just 2.853. The bottom ten also included Central African Republic, Afghanistan, Tanzania, Rwanda, Yemen, Malawi, Syria, Botswana, Haiti and Zimbabwe.   

Meanwhile Russia was 68th - down from 59th - France 24th and China 93rd.

Relatively homogenous Finland has about 300,000 foreigners and residents with foreign roots, out of its 5.5 million people.

Its largest immigrant groups come from other European nations, but there also are communities from Afghanistan, China, Iraq and Somalia. 

Meik Wiking, CEO of the Copenhagen-based Happiness Research Institute, said the five Nordic countries that reliably rank high in the index 'are doing something right in terms of creating good conditions for good lives,' something newcomers have noticed.

He said the happiness revealed in the survey derives from healthy amounts of both personal freedom and social security that outweigh residents having to pay 'some of the highest taxes in the world.'

'Briefly put, (Nordic countries) are good at converting wealth into well-being,' Wiking said. The finding on the happiness of immigrants 'shows the conditions that we live under matter greatly to our quality of life, that happiness is not only a matter of choice.'

Four different countries have held top ten spots in the five most recent reports- Denmark, Switzerland, Norway and now Finland.

All the top countries tend to have high values for all six of the key variables that have been found to support well-being: income, healthy life expectancy, social support, freedom, trust and generosity. 

The US was 11th in the first index and has never been in the top ten. Jeffrey D. Sachs, Director of Center for Sustainable Development at Columbia University, explained this citing several factors.

He said: 'The long-term rise in U.S. income per person has been accompanied by several trends adverse to subjective well-being (SWB): worsening health conditions for much of the population; declining social trust; and declining confidence in government. 

'Whatever benefits in SWB might have accrued as the result of rising incomes seem to have been offset by these adverse trends... [It's] apparently due in part to the astoundingly large amount of time that young people are spending on digital media: smartphones, videogames, computers, and the like.

'The prevalence of addictions in American society seems to be on the rise, perhaps dramatically... They include gambling; social media use, video gaming, shopping, consuming unhealthy foods.

'These addictions, in turn, seem to be causing considerable unhappiness and even depression.'  

Well that's confusing, because I thought wee Tommy et al told us Scandinavia was absolutely teeming with Muslim rape gangs and Sharia law preachers cutting every c***'s hands off?

Is it no diversity or absolutely hunners? Puzzled.