Away Day Guide

It's been a while since a few teams in this division will have visited each other (well, it is for Dumbarton fans anyway), so I thought getting a wee away day guide on the go for each team would be worth while (Mods, can this be pinned also?). So to kick us off with Dumbarton:

DUMBARTON

BY TRAIN
If you're arriving by train then Dumbarton East is your best shout. It's a short 10 minute walk to the ground and you have the Stags Head pub at the station entrance. The Stags has a big screen with football on, pool table, excellent jukebox and a (very) small beer garden (which doesn't get much sun). Alternatively you could keep on the train to Dumbarton Central, from there you can walk into the high street (2 minute walk) where you have an array of different pubs to choose from, ranging from old man pubs with cheap halves on offer to pubs trying to be that wee bit posher and forgetting they're in Dumbarton. There's a Weatherspoons there called the Captain James Lang if those sort of pubs are your thing, further along there is the Counting House and Clipper which are all quite similar pubs, those 3 would be your best bet if you're looking for something to eat with your pint and all have decent beer gardens (with the exception of the Clipper). The Weatherspoons is the only one which won't be showing any football or the like on a Saturday. The high street is probably around a 10-15 minute walk to the ground, but it's easy enough to navigate.

BY BUS/CAR
If you're arriving by car/bus then you'll likely be dropped at the stadium, in which case the Rock bowling club is the closest pub for you. TV, pool table and good prices to be found there. If bowling clubs aren't for you then a short walk back to the Stags Head will be your best bet. Unfortunately the bar in the stadium is not available to away fans.

AT THE STADIUM
Edited this post as there has been a wee change in how things are done regarding the bar at the stadium.  I'm led to believe that League 1 opposition fans will now be allowed access through the home turnstile, with a steward escorting you to the away end at around 10 to 3.  Hopefully it all works without problem and we can get back to having a bit of banter with opposition pre-match!  We're looking to have pre-match entertainment this season too, so should be plenty on for any fans looking for a beer!

I don't foresee any issues this year with fans being upset at our ticket prices, but just to be fair here I will highlight that if you're a complete jakey and don't want to pay the ticket price, then feel free to buy some cans of shite lager, pay your entrance fee to the Castle (£5) and watch the game from up there.  It closes at 4pm and you'll be asked to leave but it'll make a good twitter post for you to share with your friends.

Edited by The Moonster

22 hours ago, The Moonster said:

I don't foresee any issues this year with fans being upset at our ticket prices, but just to be fair here I will highlight that if you're a complete jakey and don't want to pay the ticket price, then feel free to buy some cans of shite lager, pay your entrance fee to the Castle (£5) and watch the game from up there.  It closes at 4pm and you'll be asked to leave but it'll make a good twitter post for you to share with your friends.

Otherwise known as the St Mirren method.

Travel and the likes: check our website under Stark’s Park.

Pubs near the ground:

Novar Bar: sport on TV, decent bar food (remember to book a table as it gets busy), usual fizzy pop lager, Guiness and Best on tap.

The Duchess: no TVs (ahhhhh) but if you want to actually talk to each other rather than stare at a telly, then it has better selection of stuff on tap (e.g. Joker IPA, red stripe) and it apparently does okay food but I’ve never eaten there (again, book a table).

The Penny: usual fizzy piss lager, Guiness and Best on tap. Has a telly, bit pokey and doesn’t do food.

O’Connells: I’ve not been in ages so no idea what it’s got on tap. Does food, think it has TV.

There’s loads of other pubs further along the High Street.

40 minutes ago, Scary Bear said:

Pubs near the ground:

Novar Bar: sport on TV, decent bar food (remember to book a table as it gets busy), usual fizzy pop lager, Guiness and Best on tap.

The Duchess: no TVs (ahhhhh) but if you want to actually talk to each other rather than stare at a telly, then it has better selection of stuff on tap (e.g. Joker IPA, red stripe) and it apparently does okay food but I’ve never eaten there (again, book a table).

The Penny: usual fizzy piss lager, Guiness and Best on tap. Has a telly, bit pokey and doesn’t do food.

O’Connells: I’ve not been in ages so no idea what it’s got on tap. Does food, think it has TV.

I hope you are not including the glorious Red T in this

On 19/07/2018 at 13:54, Scary Bear said:

Pubs near the ground:

To add to this.

The Novar due to location to train station, town centre and ground and it being a 'Rovers' pub with memorabilia etc. is usually the busiest and best atmosphere. On the high street (and still in walking distance) the tipsy cow has been popular with your younger fans/young teams of a black and white persuasion. The exchequer is a soulless wetherspoons'y place but f**k loads of telly's and does food. Just down from the Novar is a bar that changes name frequently. No idea what it is like. And aye, pubs upon pubs at the other end of the high street that are certainly a taxi ride. 

Styx is walking distance from the train station but in the other direction so is a short taxi ride for £4 (or free bus that they put on). It is a modern pool and Snooker club with very large bar. lots of tables that are pay per play and per hour.  Tasty  in a terrible/great way burger van style food, loads of tele's and seating. IMO this is the best option but that's because we play pool, like a juke box and like keeping an eye on the early kick off - but a always depends on what your looking for! 

And last but certainly not least, the raith suite will likely be open again for Home and Away fans (situated in the Main stand). Very cheap, 35ml, and means you get a drink until 2:59 and still make kick off! We usually go their for the last hour or so if it is open. The club post during the week on the website if it will be so just ask in the match forum. 

Personal favourites:

Airdrie: The pub on the left after you leave the station, heading for the High St. A real half and half place, cheap as chips and the Racing Channel on the telly

Arbroath: The Station Bar

Brechin: Again, cannae mind the name, but a traditional horseshoe bar, at the end of the High St furthest away from the ground 

Forfar: The Plough? Guaranteed to fall your length tripping over a dodgy step at least once per visit 

Montrose: The Northern Vaults

Raith: The Penny Farthing. Far better than the stupidly named Novar Bar

Stenhousemuir: The wee pub on the right before you hit the High St after leaving the Station. Friendly bar staff but miserable as f**k customers

Stranraer: A wee place in the centre. Named after something to do with the football team

East Fife: Obviously the bars at the ground but if not, Molly Malone's in North Street, Leven. Full of "characters". Cheap as chips  

Plenty of pubs in Montrose to pick from, I would avoid the star and the royal arch but most of the others are fine. There's also a British Legion right at the ground which is open to fans on match days. If there was to be a big enough group of fans travelling and it was of any interest I can arrange for the lounge at The Albert Bar to be opened and probably sort out a basic buffet.

Ground is a 15 minute walk or so from the train station and there's plenty of street parking around the ground too.

Brechin too, I could possibly arrange for something to be put on at the Park Bar which is a 5 minute walk from the ground if it was of any interest.

Does the Parkview Bowling Club Brechin not open up for away supporters, it's only a long jack from Glebe Park

On 29/07/2018 at 18:30, ecto said:

Does the Parkview Bowling Club Brechin not open up for away supporters, it's only a long jack from Glebe Park

I quite enjoyed the wee Bar under the David Will Stand @ Glebe Park.

Highly entertaining, watching & listening to the Hedgehunters ranting away, plus it's a short walk out to the Pie Hut (and back) :)

On 23/07/2018 at 20:51, HIT THE CHANNEL said:

To add to this.

The Novar due to location to train station, town centre and ground and it being a 'Rovers' pub with memorabilia etc. is usually the busiest and best atmosphere. On the high street (and still in walking distance) the tipsy cow has been popular with your younger fans/young teams of a black and white persuasion. The exchequer is a soulless wetherspoons'y place but f**k loads of telly's and does food. Just down from the Novar is a bar that changes name frequently. No idea what it is like. And aye, pubs upon pubs at the other end of the high street that are certainly a taxi ride. 

Styx is walking distance from the train station but in the other direction so is a short taxi ride for £4 (or free bus that they put on). It is a modern pool and Snooker club with very large bar. lots of tables that are pay per play and per hour.  Tasty  in a terrible/great way burger van style food, loads of tele's and seating. IMO this is the best option but that's because we play pool, like a juke box and like keeping an eye on the early kick off - but a always depends on what your looking for! 

And last but certainly not least, the raith suite will likely be open again for Home and Away fans (situated in the Main stand). Very cheap, 35ml, and means you get a drink until 2:59 and still make kick off! We usually go their for the last hour or so if it is open. The club post during the week on the website if it will be so just ask in the match forum. 

Weird place, makes everyone stand in a line to get served at the bar.