How did you meet your friends and/or partners?

• Replies 209

Does pish mean something else in...wherever Mr Pish is from? I know it means the same thing in Yiddish.

Do we have any posters based in Indonesia? Apparently this is a chain of stores over there:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcShT5pOX3U3Gbeti1Wod9z

12 minutes ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

I still can’t tell if this is real or if I’ve entered some sort of alternative universe. How on earth did this guy and his wife both find Mr Pish and husband adventures?

I’m still half convinced this is an elaborate P&B rouse.

^^^settled on a meth dealer

3 hours ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

I still can’t tell if this is real or if I’ve entered some sort of alternative universe. How on earth did this guy and his wife both find Mr Pish and his adventures?

I’m still half convinced this is an elaborate P&B rouse.

"This guy"

I'm the 7th best Hearts poster on here, thanks.

Only really have one close friend left from my youth and I met him at college. I was introduced to him because he was looking for someone to play online games and I was already doing some top end gaming with 33.6k modem. 20 years later we are still friends and I was his best man recently.

My wife I met whilst we were working at the same bar/restaurant whilst I was home from uni. Very dull story but now 15 years together with 11 in matrimonial bliss... She even finally bought a Killie top last year!

2 hours ago, ArmadaleKillie said:

Only really have one close friend left from my youth and I met him at college. I was introduced to him because he was looking for someone to play online games and I was already doing some top end gaming with 33.6k modem. 20 years later we are still friends and I was his best man recently.

My wife I met whilst we were working at the same bar/restaurant whilst I was home from uni. Very dull story but now 15 years together with 11 in matrimonial bliss... She even finally bought a Killie top last year!

Are you a top dungeons and dragons player

On 7/13/2018 at 21:28, Duszek said:

Met Mrs Duszek in a Covent Garden bar when she was visiting from Peru. 

My friends have been picked up along the way - growing up in Glasgow, uni in Dublin & Paris, summer jobs in San Francisco, teaching English in Poland, working in London and now in Geneva... I don't get to see them as a result, which ain't great. 

Is the nightlife in Geneva any good? Rarely down that end of the country and when I am it is generally to catch a flight home. Have spent the odd night at hotels there so I can catch early flights and found a few decent restaurants the night before, but never really bothered with the pubs/bars/clubs. Almost everyone I know who works in Geneva lives elsewhere and rarely socialise there.

On 7/14/2018 at 23:49, buchan30 said:

Like most on here, met my friends through school. Met my best mate in primary school and still see him on a semi regular basis. The others i met through a mate we all knew. Surprised to read on here that other folk don’t see there mates as much. I have had that for a wee while, living in methil and them being in kirkcaldy hasnt helped. A lot of them weren’t even seeing each other as much either. we were at a wedding last month and decided to try and get together as a bunch every few months, we are doing the escape rooms in edinburgh in September.
Met the wife online through a thing called faceparty. Dont even know if it still exists.

Regular complaint I get when I am at home is that half my friends see me more often than each other. Marriage and kids seems to work better for some than others!

As for Faceparty, circa 2000-2004 I done a fair bit of pumping thanks to that website and Yahoo chat. Used to get slagged rotten by my mates for meeting birds off the internet, yet over the last few years all I have heard is folk going on about PoF and Tinder, how easy it is to get your hole and how great that is. Was always the case!

As I’ve mentioned in another post I met my wife through an old friend. Her sister was my mid and late 20s drinking partner and she kept pestering me to take her sister out for dinner. Four days after coming home from detachment in Iraq we went out for dinner and thirteen years, a wedding, two children, one dog, five cats and a mortgage we are still together. What I do enjoy saying now to her sister every so often to annoy her is “see your sister? I’ve shagged her!”

Regular complaint I get when I am at home is that half my friends see me more often than each other. Marriage and kids seems to work better for some than others!
As for Faceparty, circa 2000-2004 I done a fair bit of pumping thanks to that website and Yahoo chat. Used to get slagged rotten by my mates for meeting birds off the internet, yet over the last few years all I have heard is folk going on about PoF and Tinder, how easy it is to get your hole and how great that is. Was always the case!

Think sometimes life just gets in the way. Aye there was some filth on there.I used to get slagged as well, but its all the rage now.

15 minutes ago, ArmadaleKillie said:

Alas no... that was one geeky thing I couldn't get into...severe lack of imagination I suspect!

I loved my dungeons and dragons (and other RPG's). Would give it another go if my oldw'geeky pals' weren't scattered, still go hill walking with one of them. 

10 hours ago, Ross. said:

Is the nightlife in Geneva any good? Rarely down that end of the country and when I am it is generally to catch a flight home. Have spent the odd night at hotels there so I can catch early flights and found a few decent restaurants the night before, but never really bothered with the pubs/bars/clubs. Almost everyone I know who works in Geneva lives elsewhere and rarely socialise there.

Yep, you can add me to the list.  i live in Annecy, about 50/80 mins away depending on the time of day you're crossing the border. Magic place to iive, if it weren't for the commute.

Image result for annecy

Aside from a few folk, I've lost most of my friends. They just got sick of me not being around I guess (I was hiding/rotting away in my bedroom due to mental illness).
At the weekends, if I'm not going to the football, I won't see anyone I know and won't speak a single word to anyone. From finishing work on a Friday I basically have no contact with anyone until I go back on the Monday. Of course if I go to the football then I see friends.
One of my best friends from school I still speak to now and again, and he's coming up next month. 
I need friends.
my story is almost identical to this. the worse my health got the more i withdrew from the world. lot my job and lost all contact with everyone including my family as they considered me "an embarrassment". this culminated in a very long stay in hospital during which i recieved 2 visits in 3 months.

prior to going into the hospital i was renting a flat from my dad. when i got out i found out he had removed all my property from the flat and leased it to someone else as i couldnt pay him rwnt. the council claimed he had done this illegally so would not house me straight away so i was left sleeping rough.

i moved away and started from scratch somewhere else with just a bag of clothes to my name. now have my own home ive created myself. i have made a small circle of friends where i am now and started reaching out to my old friends through fb. most have ignored these messages as im an "embarrassment" but a few have responded and ive established communication with them again.

i met my ex wife at school although we didnt get together for nearly 10 years. we got married but she left me due to my depression and social anxieties as she couldnt love me anymore. didnt help my situation!

met my current girlfriend last year but we spent 10 months just messaging before we met up again and started dating. shes completely understanding of my mood swings and what can be almost erratic decision making. if i suddenly change my mind about doing something she doesnt even mention it.

recently diagnosed with brain lesions as well which has ruined my army admittance and left me unable to work for the foreseeable future whilst they assess treatment options. yet she has still stood by me. couldnt be happier at the momemt despite the faulty brain!

only got one proper mate (there's a surprise) and met him at the football, late 90's when Rovers were on the brink of bankruptcy and Ken Richardson took over to stage manage relegation to the conference, hoping to engineer a property deal for the site on which the old ground stood; we conceived and kick-started the supporters co-operative  - once a new owner had taken over - to promote direct supporter representation on the board and hopefully ensure that no more asset stripping or fuckwittery could be initiated; still going strong nearly 20 years later and is now an integral part of the club's structure - hafta say i'm fairly proud of being in on it all from day one

as for mrs h - we met on-line and had three "first dates" each one a year or so apart; first two in pubs, third time we went for a curry;  i was fucked up from a previous relationship which went bad and didn't realise a good thing when i saw it - not until it came with onion bhajis and an extra hot chicken jalfreizi wtih mushroom rice and a keema naan; been inseparable ever since - fucking excellent...

Aside from a few folk, I've lost most of my friends. They just got sick of me not being around I guess (I was hiding/rotting away in my bedroom due to mental illness).
At the weekends, if I'm not going to the football, I won't see anyone I know and won't speak a single word to anyone. From finishing work on a Friday I basically have no contact with anyone until I go back on the Monday. Of course if I go to the football then I see friends.
One of my best friends from school I still speak to now and again, and he's coming up next month. 
I need friends.

You come across a decent guy DA, maybe put yourself out there a bit, I get that with some anxieties thats actually the hardest bit but believe me just actually going for it is the only hard bit. Have you thought about maybe joining a gym and going to some classes? That way you don’t have to arrange anything, gets you used to socialising in groups and you’ll naturally make some mates? Loads of gyms out there for like 15-20 quid a month. Or maybe join a campaign group or political party or something where you can just go along?
Went through a bad spell after uni of depression and the job market not being that great (graduated the month before the stock market crash I think), so ended up where I am now in the public sector, worked shifts so drifted away from my uni/school mates who didn’t really understand why I couldn’t go out every time they asked. This made relationships hard, dated some girls in work etc but found myself stifled, dating someone from work meant you’re always talking about work, shared friends are mostly work mates and it got me down, so I did online dating, well for a week, went on 2 dates, 1 girl a teacher, nice lassie but no spark, second date was the wife, found it easy to chat to her, arranged to meet up, shes my mrs and best friend, couldnt ask for a better influence in life, 9 years later, married, our first kid and shes encouraged me with my career.

I went to my mate's house and outside tread on a dog turd and their neighbour told me to not worry as that was a lucky omen! Shite promptly cleaned, me and my mates were downing the weekly dose of El-D and decided to hit the clubs. I think we had about 20 quid between us! Got to a, then,  'fashionable' nightclub and were having a great laugh before a couple of lasses joined us. 'What will the ladies have?' I bellowed, before realising I,we were  penniless! Later I walked her home and 3 years later were were married. Over 30 years later she is still the love of my life.

Started off by meeting mine at the airport around three in the morning on a fairly regular basis. Introduced my work colleague to her sister who also worked at the airport. Result a double wedding. My brother in law died a few years back but  I will be celebrating our sixtieth  anniversary with my soulmate and love of my life in October.