England v Panama

Cerberus

• Replies 721
1 minute ago, Ned Nederlander said:

We've sat with folk from all over the shop watching this World Cup and the atmosphere has been superb ... the two pubs I just passed on the way to buy some bog roll sounded like an uprising in Wandsworth prison.

Probably all on release for the world cup, just making themselves feel at home

3 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

I agree with diversity mate but Panama over Italy for example is a farce.

Panama do not belong here.

It isn't.

If Italy were to be here they should have beaten Sweden. 

Simple.

Golden boot chat [emoji38]
That's not ridiculous though.

He could easily get two more in this half, and then he's got at least two more games (probably 1 or 2 more).

6 usually gets it easy and he's on 4 already.

46 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Join me in watching with the volume down people. Its the only way to avoid deep, deep cringe whilst wathcing England.

Well that’s the 51st and 53rd ranked teams in the world dealt with.

I agree with diversity mate but Panama over Italy for example is a farce.
Panama do not belong here.

Let’s remember that Costa Rica - from the same federation as Panama - won the group and knocked out England and Italy just 4 years ago.

Something’s clearly went wrong with them today though.

Guest Flash

England have scored 7 goals in a game and a half - 3 from corners, 2 pens, 1 free-kick and 1 from open play.

1 minute ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

No idea why it bothers some folk so much that diddies make it to the World Cup. If you don't want to see them play, you'd just start watching at the Second Round, surely. Last time out, I remember plenty of folk on here saying that's exactly what they do.

I love diddies at the World Cup. Helps to get the commentator's hopes up of winning the tourny before getting papped out by Mexico. 

Just now, Grangemouth Bairn said:

They should have but Italy were in a group with Spain so a big ask to top that group.

Are you saying the 'big teams' shouldn't have to qualify? 

They should automatically get in because we assume they'll be good? 

Guest Moomintroll
"Champions" League thread for this pish.

6 minutes ago, Im_Rodger said:

It isn't.

If Italy were to be here they should have beaten Sweden. 

Simple.

Agreed. Panama are here because they finished above USA in their qualification. Its the same shite when you hear why are team x (usually you lot but Livi are getting it now too) in the top Scottish league. Every team is there on merit.

Just now, Moomintroll said:
2 minutes ago, Im_Rodger said:

"Champions" League thread for this pish.

Exactly my point. 

He is wanting the World Cup to become like the Champions League.

Just now, gannonball said:

Agreed. Panama are here because they finished above USA in their qualification. Its the same shite when you hear why are team x (usually you lot but Livi are getting it now too) in the top Scottish league. Every team is there on merit.

Fair enough. You make your point well so I will concede mine.