East Region Superleague

Jock Tamson

WTF happened to the last thread? [emoji848]

Anyway, lots of changes and lots of debate, but time to get on with it now imo. Season 19/20 will take care of itself soon enough. Let's look forward to season 18/19 first.

I'm looking forward to it.

4 minutes ago, Pyramidic said:

But would have been better if the clubs south of Tay had moved together to EOS. Has just delayed the inevitable.

To be honest, there could easily be some smaller south division side (or north division sides south of the Tay) who do want to move over, but don't fancy a transitional season with a few heavy pumpings by big teams only to end up in the same division as they'd be in if they move in 2019. So then you might as well wait a year...

Anyway, now we know what the league looks like, it will be interesting to follow for any football fans in Tayside, like myself. There are 5 teams in this division I haven't been to yet, including fairly local ones like Downfield, Kirrie and Tayport (Whitburn/Glenrothes are the others I haven't been yet, not too far either tbh). I'm definitely planning to visit these 5. I would guess Lochee United are the favourites to win the league.

1 minute ago, Marten said:

To be honest, there could easily be some smaller south division side (or north division sides south of the Tay) who do want to move over, but don't fancy a transitional season with a few heavy pumpings by big teams only to end up in the same division as they'd be in if they move in 2019. So then you might as well wait a year...

Anyway, now we know what the league looks like, it will be interesting to follow for any football fans in Tayside, like myself. There are 5 teams in this division I haven't been to yet, including fairly local ones like Downfield, Kirrie and Tayport (Whitburn/Glenrothes are the others I haven't been yet, not too far either tbh). I'm definitely planning to visit these 5. I would guess Lochee United are the favourites to win the league.

That is a fair point Marten.

1 hour ago, Jock Tamson said:

WTF happened to the last thread? emoji848.png

Anyway, lots of changes and lots of debate, but time to get on with it now imo. Season 19/20 will take care of itself soon enough. Let's look forward to season 18/19 first.

I'm looking forward to it.

What did happen to last thread??

People not like hearing what went on?

The conspiracy goes on........

As a player that fits in football between work, and family life to play junior football at the highest level possible.  To work hard and give up a lot of time and get promotion with my teammates that in turn means nothing is nothing short of soul destroying.  Also to see north end who won the league not getting promotion is shocking. 

In the exact same league as last year now and the uncertainty of even winning the league this year could mean nothing proves the point that the east region juniors is fucked.  If it was only dealt with fairly the upcoming season wouldn’t have a big cloud over it.  Sad time after starting a junior career in 2005 

55 minutes ago, Stu5 said:

As a player that fits in football between work, and family life to play junior football at the highest level possible.  To work hard and give up a lot of time and get promotion with my teammates that in turn means nothing is nothing short of soul destroying.  Also to see north end who won the league not getting promotion is shocking. 

In the exact same league as last year now and the uncertainty of even winning the league this year could mean nothing proves the point that the east region juniors is fucked.  If it was only dealt with fairly the upcoming season wouldn’t have a big cloud over it.  Sad time after starting a junior career in 2005 

That’s what most clubs voted unfortunately....they did not once take into consideration targets of other clubs.

They took away what was rightfully theirs.

Killing the competitive side of the game,for the benefit of thereselves and friends.

Shameful

1 hour ago, TheLad said:

And to make matters worse, teams moving over to EOS next year will probably find themselves in a league below the lowest current EOS crop. No way will they be put in alongside.

The talk is that, if there's an influx into the EoS, they'll form an EoS Premier of the top 16 clubs in this season's league, then any new clubs will join the other 23 EoS clubs in another conference-style set-up like this year's. So they would be going in alongside most of the EoS clubs at tier 7, which would be the natural home (or higher) for most of those who haven't made the jump already. That's possibly more appealing to the smaller East Juniors than being in a conference with LTHV, Bonnyrigg, Dundonald and Bo'ness would have been, as they'd likely have taken a few hidings.

52 minutes ago, GordonS said:

The talk is that, if there's an influx into the EoS, they'll form an EoS Premier of the top 16 clubs in this season's league, then any new clubs will join the other 23 EoS clubs in another conference-style set-up like this year's. So they would be going in alongside most of the EoS clubs at tier 7, which would be the natural home (or higher) for most of those who haven't made the jump already. That's possibly more appealing to the smaller East Juniors than being in a conference with LTHV, Bonnyrigg, Dundonald and Bo'ness would have been, as they'd likely have taken a few hidings.

I'm not aware of any discussion at all surrounding 2019/20 for those who don't make the EoS Premier, it seems to very much be lets wait and see what happens. 

Once the top 16 is formed, I think there is a strong case for the next best 16 to form a First Division (tier 7), with the remaining 7 teaming up with the new entrants to form tier 8, but I guess until you know how many new members you're likely to get you cant make definite decisions although a number of options could be discussed and agreed to at least give clubs a better idea of what they are working towards.

If there are enough new entrants, and lets be clear here that these new entrants DONT have to be Junior clubs, then could they look at regionalisation in Tier 7?

Looking at the East Superleague for this season I'm puggled as to why Fauldhouse and Whitburn didn't make the move to the EoS or at least ask to be placed in the South league? The lure of winning the title and getting a shot at the Scottish?

And from whats been said can we assume that the likes of Pumpherston are set on moving at the end of the season?

2 minutes ago, Jason King said:

If there are enough new entrants, and lets be clear here that these new entrants DONT have to be Junior clubs, then could they look at regionalisation in Tier 7?

Looking at the East Superleague for this season I'm puggled as to why Fauldhouse and Whitburn didn't make the move to the EoS or at least ask to be placed in the South league? The lure of winning the title and getting a shot at the Scottish?

And from whats been said can we assume that the likes of Pumpherston are set on moving at the end of the season?

If we assume for a second that the Tayside clubs cannot join the EoS, then in reality there is no need for regionalisation at tier 7, all clubs other than 2 or 3 from Perthshire will be Fife or south of that so you could have ridiculous scenarios of West Lothian clubs being in the same "Region" as the likes of Jeanfield Swifts or St.Andrews.  We're not talking a big area where regionalisation is necessary and Burntisland Shipyard were already travelling to the likes of Berwick and the Borders so it's not really an issue in my eyes.  Maybe eventually at tier 8 and below you'd look at it but IMO tier 7 isn't the place to start.

Guest brycey
3 hours ago, kenny131 said:

No offence but that top league east league looks brutal without the bigger teams.

exactly this super league is pish - followed junior fitba for 50 years - feckin ragin - eos and safa for me nxt season - these 2 associations no how tae run fitba whilst tj and his numpties at the sjfa aint got a scooby - lol