St Roch"s 2018/19

21stcenturyboy

Before before before be four. It is a rare day when you see something new in football. Yesterday wasn’t one of them. A familiar feeling with a double date arranged with the saints. Roch and Mirren awaited and I was looking forward to my day. I haven’t seen the Candy since the last day of last season and the promotion party. I wrapped up well as the winter wonderland loomed in the horizon, perhaps a couple of weeks away. I paid my £6 and shook hands and took stick and heard the gossip and grabbed my coffee. Quick chats with players and staff and the gaffer and it was good to be back. The Candy pitch and ground looking resplendent, a pristine pitch (well done Ken and Billy et al) and the new enclosures a snagging list short of completion. Well done to all concerned! I speak to some fans who have seen more of the lads this season and it is a mixed bag. I don’t hear anything I haven’t heard before and this one who is a disgrace and this one who cost us a few and this one who missed chances and this one who isn’t good enough and this one who is a cracking player. I’d heard it all before and it felt very samey. Dalry brought a decent number of fans and they were frequenting the clubhouse bar and seemed in fine spirits and enjoying the day. They split to their side of the ground and I headed for the new enclosure. I met a former Candy team mate I hadn’t seen for 25 years and we chatted away and it was great to see him. We talked about the differences now and how good it was to see the Candy in a decent league.... a higher league which means tougher games... I’ve seen it all before..

When you play against teams who have been playing a t a higher level, it can take you a while to adjust. You don’t become a bad player but you need to work hard and eventually you will get up to speed. We have all seen it before. We have apparently played ok at times and been poor at times this season... I saw that in this half hour season starting supporter shift. We could have been one down before we got caught on the wrong side and whilst appeals for offside went unanswered, the wee lad slid the ball under the keeper to loud cheers of raucousness from the 30 or so Ayrshire honest men and women and kids. They then cheered strong tackles and their team’s fight... the candy fans strangely quiet. There was a different feel about the place and despite a decent size crowd it just didn’t feel the same. The shouts were sporadic and erratic in nature lacking a common target or point. I admit a lot of the Candy Terrace Chat last year was vociferous and at times on the edge, however I think it adds to the overall enjoyment of the game. Conversely, if it isn’t there it detracts from your expected enjoyment. I suppose like the team, the fans might need a wee period of adjustment and acceptance before they get up to pace. This is a higher level and the standards are better. We need to rise from where we were and it can be done. I’ve seen it done before... some of our players have done it before.. I know our management team can do it and I feel confident that we are well placed to consolidate. I left after a half an hour, the Candy one down but having missed 5 or 6 half chances and one good chance. Some good passing and effort and some shady shouts and some dodgy defending and I had the feeling I had seen it all before... many times. Was it a surprise to me to hear from a terrace correspondent later int he afternoon that we had got back in it and got a draw? No. Was it a surprise to hear we had a man sent off? No. As I shook hands and made my early exit apologies, the ring of a internal team argument between the Red Card Man and our keeper rang in my ear..... I had seen it and hear it all before.

I saw Livingston yesterday too and they are a prime example of what hard work and doing what you are good at can deliver. You can go up the leagues and compete and hold your own. If you can survive you can improve and I think we will. Some things stay the same in football and the feeling you have as a fan doesn’t change. Your excitement levels and hopes and dreams come in peaks and troughs but your allegiance to your team never wavers. I had no waves of excitement and my hopes and dreams remained tucked away. I’ve felt that feeling before. It is the acceptance of your new environment and the understanding that there are hopefully better times ahead. I’ve felt it before and I’m sure they will come to the Fore and Be again this season at some point. I’m looking forward to seeing how the Candy get on. I’ll wait till I’ve seen them more before I comment more. I suspect we will struggle at times in this league but before you have a go at me, it is based on a fast firty minutes of yesterday. We can play and we have ability but it may take a wee while before we settle, fans and players. Before, we’ve all seen it before and we will see it again. It won’t be long I hope before we are up to full pace.

Good luck to Dalry and their vocal fans.

Mon the Candy!
MTC![emoji517][emoji172][emoji460]️[emoji106]
IMG_1180.jpg

2 hours ago, Kinky Afro said:

Before before before be four. It is a rare day when you see something new in football. Yesterday wasn’t one of them. A familiar feeling with a double date arranged with the saints. Roch and Mirren awaited and I was looking forward to my day. I haven’t seen the Candy since the last day of last season and the promotion party. I wrapped up well as the winter wonderland loomed in the horizon, perhaps a couple of weeks away. I paid my £6 and shook hands and took stick and heard the gossip and grabbed my coffee. Quick chats with players and staff and the gaffer and it was good to be back. The Candy pitch and ground looking resplendent, a pristine pitch (well done Ken and Billy et al) and the new enclosures a snagging list short of completion. Well done to all concerned! I speak to some fans who have seen more of the lads this season and it is a mixed bag. I don’t hear anything I haven’t heard before and this one who is a disgrace and this one who cost us a few and this one who missed chances and this one who isn’t good enough and this one who is a cracking player. I’d heard it all before and it felt very samey. Dalry brought a decent number of fans and they were frequenting the clubhouse bar and seemed in fine spirits and enjoying the day. They split to their side of the ground and I headed for the new enclosure. I met a former Candy team mate I hadn’t seen for 25 years and we chatted away and it was great to see him. We talked about the differences now and how good it was to see the Candy in a decent league.... a higher league which means tougher games... I’ve seen it all before..

When you play against teams who have been playing a t a higher level, it can take you a while to adjust. You don’t become a bad player but you need to work hard and eventually you will get up to speed. We have all seen it before. We have apparently played ok at times and been poor at times this season... I saw that in this half hour season starting supporter shift. We could have been one down before we got caught on the wrong side and whilst appeals for offside went unanswered, the wee lad slid the ball under the keeper to loud cheers of raucousness from the 30 or so Ayrshire honest men and women and kids. They then cheered strong tackles and their team’s fight... the candy fans strangely quiet. There was a different feel about the place and despite a decent size crowd it just didn’t feel the same. The shouts were sporadic and erratic in nature lacking a common target or point. I admit a lot of the Candy Terrace Chat last year was vociferous and at times on the edge, however I think it adds to the overall enjoyment of the game. Conversely, if it isn’t there it detracts from your expected enjoyment. I suppose like the team, the fans might need a wee period of adjustment and acceptance before they get up to pace. This is a higher level and the standards are better. We need to rise from where we were and it can be done. I’ve seen it done before... some of our players have done it before.. I know our management team can do it and I feel confident that we are well placed to consolidate. I left after a half an hour, the Candy one down but having missed 5 or 6 half chances and one good chance. Some good passing and effort and some shady shouts and some dodgy defending and I had the feeling I had seen it all before... many times. Was it a surprise to me to hear from a terrace correspondent later int he afternoon that we had got back in it and got a draw? No. Was it a surprise to hear we had a man sent off? No. As I shook hands and made my early exit apologies, the ring of a internal team argument between the Red Card Man and our keeper rang in my ear..... I had seen it and hear it all before.

I saw Livingston yesterday too and they are a prime example of what hard work and doing what you are good at can deliver. You can go up the leagues and compete and hold your own. If you can survive you can improve and I think we will. Some things stay the same in football and the feeling you have as a fan doesn’t change. Your excitement levels and hopes and dreams come in peaks and troughs but your allegiance to your team never wavers. I had no waves of excitement and my hopes and dreams remained tucked away. I’ve felt that feeling before. It is the acceptance of your new environment and the understanding that there are hopefully better times ahead. I’ve felt it before and I’m sure they will come to the Fore and Be again this season at some point. I’m looking forward to seeing how the Candy get on. I’ll wait till I’ve seen them more before I comment more. I suspect we will struggle at times in this league but before you have a go at me, it is based on a fast firty minutes of yesterday. We can play and we have ability but it may take a wee while before we settle, fans and players. Before, we’ve all seen it before and we will see it again. It won’t be long I hope before we are up to full pace.

Mon the Candy!
MTC!emoji517.pngemoji172.pngemoji460.pngemoji106.png
IMG_1180.jpg

I wouldn't base anything on the Livingston model.

Play to your strengths, clear your lines and defend well, move the ball quickly in midfield and attack at pace when you can. Play for the shirt and work hard and stick together. It got them promoted and a good 3 points yesterday. Doesn’t sound too bad a model.... I saw Livvy a few times last season and thought they were well organised and effective. I hope the Candy stick together through the tough games and keep trying to do what they are good at. I think the fans would be happy with that.
MTC!

3 hours ago, Kinky Afro said:

Mon the Candy!
IMG_1180.jpg

Good to see you back kinky,been waiting on your match reports and again you dont disappoint,although you sound a tad nervous on how the Roch will be this season in a much tougher environment this league will provide.Alll you can do is provide the team support,believe in them and results will come. Dalry are no mugs and thats a good point yesterday,its a fair start by the Candy in my book,stay up this season,push on next.Keep beleiving Kinky and you may see more than before,my friend..

4 hours ago, Kinky Afro said:

Mon the Candy!
IMG_1180.jpg

I can’t believe you wrote all that. Next weeks game would have passed before I had finished!

2 hours ago, Kinky Afro said:

Play to your strengths, clear your lines and defend well, move the ball quickly in midfield and attack at pace when you can. Play for the shirt and work hard and stick together. It got them promoted and a good 3 points yesterday. Doesn’t sound too bad a model.... I saw Livvy a few times last season and thought they were well organised and effective. I hope the Candy stick together through the tough games and keep trying to do what they are good at. I think the fans would be happy with that.
MTC!

I wouldn't give Livingston the steam off my pish. A succession of crooks since their inception.

I'm undecided on kinky's Sunday offering

I agree we are up against real quality compared to the previous seasons so adapting to the step up will be a real learning curve .

I did not fully understand the fans remark to be honest

A good crowd yesterday that got behind the team and I don't think they could do much more yes Dalry fans made more noise at times but that's all it was ..noise

I'm certainly enjoying the new season despite a couple of heavy defeats and it's a new adventure for us all and at the end of the season we will see how it panned out .

I wouldn't give Livingston the steam off my pish. A succession of crooks since their inception.

I was talking purely about the on the pitch stuff and to be fair the attributes they show and the ones I listed can’t be argued against by any football fan. Just makes sense...

I did not fully understand the fans remark to be honest

Where I was standing it was a fair bit quieter than the end of last season that’s all. It’s still early season and when you compare it to the end of season fanaticism and increasing passions and excitement as we got closer to guaranteeing promotion it was obviously going to be less colourful than that. We all see our games differently and 10 minutes in the corner can be different to those same 10 minutes at the dug out or in the shed.
It’s difficult to judge the new players on half an hour but they all had something about them... you’ll be in a better position than me to comment having seen more of the team this season but I thought we were steady enough and played some decent stuff at times but some of the performances were more of the same from last year. No real surprises or stand outs or superstar performances and as we were 1-0 down when I left, despite one good chance and a few fluffed left foot pass back type efforts, I thought the fans were a tad subdued.... then again, I do have that subduing effect on a crowd!
MTC!

I tend to think we are a more noiser and more vocal support away from home in general kinky this is probably due to the fact we all converge together whereas at home we are often all separated between the terrace and the shed.
anyway good to have you back and good to have a piece thats written which offers up debate and discussion

I find pie and bovril very sterile kinky so thanks again for an intelligent thought evoking post as

Most of the discussion is based around who is the latest c**t which seems to be Darvel Legend most weeks, Being anti racist or homophobic is the work of the pesky PC brigade or what music is played by the DJ.

Very seldom does anyone break rank and actually discuss the football especially any form of criticism of your own clubs performances which is viewed as giving the enemy an insight to your team or being over the top to players that are giving there all despite whatever limitations they may have or any critical point on another club is deemed obsession and hatred

Maybe it's just me or maybe pie and bovril is just polluted with old b*****ds who hark back to a time best forgotten or its full of folk who's football knowledge you could write on the back of a postage stamp and view junior football as a glorified social club that sells cheap alcohol but would have the world believe they have the answers to all the problems in our grade .

I tend to think we are a more noiser and more vocal support away from home in general kinky this is probably due to the fact we all converge together whereas at home we are often all separated between the terrace and the shed.
anyway good to have you back and good to have a piece thats written which offers up debate and discussion

Well don't be congregating in my regular spot on Saturday or there could be bother![emoji12]

Oh we will tombo lol
What part of the ground should be we be going to which is the traditional away end ?
I was talking about my usual seat in the club lounge. Dont want you stealing that,Lol.
There are two covered sections on one side of the pitch. Usually the furthest away one for visitors. Tbh doesn't really matter the only thing is just subs and coaching staff allowed on the railway side of pitch. There is plenty of space to spread out if the weather is dry.
T