St Roch"s 2018/19

21stcenturyboy

Certainly an interesting weekend, travelled 25 miles to see the Candy play a bounce game in a public park. Nearly called it a friendly game but since the referee turned up 15 minutes late with no whistle and flounced off in a huff, the option being calling the whole thing off or play a bounce game with a non whistling committee man as stand in ref. I’ll leave there regarding the game. Hard to judge if the game was cancelled, two teams turned up and tried to get some game time in and Bathgate Thistle won 2-0. Maybe the Candy could have signed the Bathgate assistant manager, ex Hibby Mickey Weir still looks fit enough. I wish the Bathgate lads the best for the rest of the season. 
Followed it up on the Sunday with another game involving St Roch’s. Now at this point that great invention Social Media can be a great boon to the technological savvy. Although a slight mix up might have occurred, St Roch’s Amateurs FC are a completely different and separate team to St Roch’s Juniors FC. That seems to have been lost in someone’s algorithm somewhere. 
Oh well, try again next week. Might even see the my St Roch’s playing a real game in a real Junior ground.

Haha thanks for telling me glenconner
I was advertising the el massico match all of Saturday lol

11 minutes ago, griffiti on the wall said:

Haha thanks for telling me glenconner
I was advertising the el massico match all of Saturday lol

Obviously i knew because the Real Candy Saints on Saturday had no idea about the Sunday game.

But one or three Big Candy fans from further afield turned up in Milton. Slightly bemused would be the kindest description.

Now know what is meant by Fake News.

Obviously i knew because the Real Candy Saints on Saturday had no idea about the Sunday game.
But one or three Big Candy fans from further afield turned up in Milton. Slightly bemused would be the kindest description.
Now know what is meant by Fake News.
I haha I'm not gonna mention it and hopefully nobody slates me for it lol

“There will be no hurt feelings, every journey has it own lessons.”

As the dust of dreams settle and we awake with a gut wrenching shudder, when our minds process the what night have been, we should be proud of our team and what they gave us. Only in the depths of football defeat can you ever feel so alive. I can’t count the number of games I have been at that don’t have anything riding on them other than your support for your team. Saturday meant something and had the feel of importance that you would be fortunate to feel once in a season. We have had a couple of games like this for me. Larkhall at home and away two seasons ago and the promotion clincher against Wishae Washae last season. With the promise of a 1/4 final home tie and Scottish cup rematch against Kilwinning Rangers waiting, we gave the massive home support, a Candy church and a supporters’ communion of saints and sinners, a hell of a ride and eventually, as the 20 legs tired and the fresh oppositions subs’ legs went into overdrive, we came up short in heartbreaking fashion. 2-0 up with 20 to go and carrying our luck in the athletic heroics of our shot stopping and goal preventing young keeper. 2 penalty claims and some missed chances to go further ahead, A rush of youthful blood red card, clearances and scrambles and the loosening grip as you watch the inevitable unfold and your mind says “I told you so” and you curse yourself for even allowing your dreams. Just remember if you aren’t dreaming then you are just sleeping… and who wants to sleep when you can follow your Candy heart and escape for a while? We’ve waited almost a hundred years to win the Scottish cup again so another year won’t hurt……..

Having pulled the “That’s too far away” card out and secured a free weekend, the Shiney Silver Scottish cup Shimmer in the eye attracted me and there was only one place I would be going. All roads lead to JMcG Park and the prospect of putting one over a higher ranking team, buoyed and backed by the big bucks and Euro Millions of fortune, I prime the auld man and collect him. He regales me with tales of his old Scottish Cup memories and I smile. He remembers being young and being a fan and watching Celtic in finals and lifting trophies. He says “If Jimmy Johnstone wasnae playing I couldnae be fkd watching the game”. You’ve got to know what you like I suppose!! No Jinky high jinkys today as we park in our usual puddle which stretches as long as the early arrival lines, it looks like it is going to be a bumper day. Queues again at the gate and we get a wee raffle ticket when we enter. I’m remembering the Benburb “Free coffee” tickets but my hope of something fur nuffin is shot as I am informed that “Largs have insisted we hand out tickets to get an accurate attendance”. GOTW is on the gate and struggling to take money, calculate the cost and change and tally on a sheet… who says we cant multitask? I spoke to a few Largs fans and a committee man and we chewed the Scottish Cup cud… Universal thoughts on our teams and football spread across the leagues and the general consensus is “We can play good, we can play bad” is a reality we live with and embrace. Kick off is approaching and the crowds continue to spill in as we open the big gate and yellow jaykits and emergency tables cope with the crowd… more come and more come… build it and they will come…. Andy Cameron and Stevie Mullen and Ken and Billy and Paul and Tam and everyone else involved have built the club up over the last few years and they DID come. There was a huge crowd and there was definitely something in the air. There was a more serious feeling, perhaps it was a more invested feeling? I couldn’t quite pout my finger on it but on reflection I suppose it is a combination of tradition and pride and community and belonging combined with a realization that our club has become so much more than it had been in recent history. “The Candy in our Communiy” trajectory is upwards and on the pitch we are holding our own. Whether it was belief or blind faith I’m not sure but it definitely felt different as I walked to my usual spot in one of the packed sheds, behind (physically and metaphorically) behind the dug out, facing across to a sizeable Largs support and our opponent’s bench. A huddle and noise and hope and dreams and fun and laughter and then….. the gale force wind carried the ref’s first whistle…. We were off……

After 5 minutes it was clear what we were up against. After 10 it was blindingly obvious. Lots of good humour and banter on the terraces but for all the partisan fanship and funship there was a heavy dose of reality swirling around. A candy fan can be passionate and dogged in defense of his team but he also is no fantasist. Even when we took the lead after a well delivered tricky free kick we would have still taken getting to the break level. For all their possession dominance Largs only troubled a couple of times. Corners were proving a challenge and one super clawed away goal line clearance (The first of numerous superb saves) kept us ahead and the half time whistle drew raucous cheers as the hard working Candy headed for a well earned cup of tea, one man down courtesy of a straight red for a needless challenge. It looked a red from where I was, some say it was harsh, but if you stay on your feet you stay on the park. Back when I was growing up I was always told to only go to ground in an absolute last ditch save-a-goal tackle. This was basically because the black or red ash would rip the skin off you. I still look like I have vitiligo when I get a tan.. We had a long way to go and the realist in me began to talk to the jinky jimmy cricket of my mind who was saying “Maybe we could?” With the wind behind us we at least had a chance. They had given us the chance to dream and we did. The second half started and we did better than we did int eh first. We had a couple of corners of our own and played a few decent balls and made some ground and had some possession. Lets not kid ourselves, we carried a lot of luck. Largs were composed and good on the ball and our keeper made about 3 man of the match saves, the last one being miraculous and left the wee number 8 who was left scratching his baldy scalp in disbelief, wondering why he hadn’t levelled at 1-1. Games can turn on saves and after 3 great saves, we get slipped through and the ball is rolled to the side of their advancing keeper with the exceeding hairline.. it rolls into the net and pandemonium breaks out. This is what I will take from Saturday. There were scenes like never before… perhaps it was the close packed enclosure, perhaps it was the slick passing of the goal, perhaps it is just our passion as Candy fans? I think the occasion was everything and emotions of going 2 up in such a big game when we were in truth holding on was just a bursting bubble of brilliance and belonging. It is one of the best moments I have experienced football for a long time. I know I get a bit carried away about feelings and stuff. Most people just want to go to a game and some just want to read about the facts (You are reading the wrong post here then!) but football is all about memories and history and something that you can take and hold and feel…. For me it was special…..

Not wanting to skip over the 5 goal last 20 minutes but it had a sense of inevitability about it. I said at 2-0 the game was far from finished and I think the fans, dancing and dreaming though they were, knew it. They scored a great first when the tricky ginger sub number 14 beat 2 and whipped a great goal into the far corner… I suspected what was to follow would hurt and so it did. Largs scrambled a second, scored a good passing 3rd, a break away 4th and 5th as we tried to muster something from our shattered 18 outfield legs. The fifth went in as I walked down to the shed behind the goal. I remember thinking “That isn’t really fair”… but 4-2 or 5-2? Does it matter? Largs won on merit and good luck to them going forward, our lads gave all they could and I was disappointed but felt quite proud. There is comfort in defeat if you know you have given your all and couldn’t have done any more. Whilst the wind howled, if the winds of fortune had blown slightly differently?? If we had kept 11 men on the field?? If we had scored our chance when 2-0 up and when at 2-2 perhaps we could have got something? I not sure it would have mattered. Who knows?….. the wind still blows and we still dream…

“For once this moment comes for me,

I will be free once again,

To blow upon the wind,

Wherever I may choose”

I always say that football gives me more and more the more I let it. I loved it on Saturday. I loved hearing my dad talk football on the way there and I loved when he said he enjoyed the game on the way back. I was part of a mammoth crowd and a club reborn and alive with the passion and pride of a community engaged and invested. I saw a team punch above it’s weight with the big hitters of our game and allow it’s fans to dream for a wee while. We will become bigger ourselves I am sure and I will love it when arrives. They say that pride comes before a fall, but it is ok to fall. The problem occurs when you don’t get up or you pack in. I have no doubt that the Candy, our Candy, the wee club whp bring pride and belonging back to those who want it, will keep going and keep delivering…. If you love then your heart can break. Breaking hearts since 1920 but allowing us all the chance to belong and to dream… That’s what football means and we are so so lucky that we got that chance on Saturday. Thank you Candy……

“For always being there.

For caring.

For loving me;

You don't even know me. Thanks”

Mon the Candy!

MTC! [emoji517][emoji460]️[emoji172][emoji106]

IMG_3624.jpg

IMG_3639.jpg

IMG_3635.jpg

IMG_3637.jpgIMG_3622.jpg

…. If you love then your heart can break. Breaking hearts since 1920 but allowing us all the chance to belong and to dream…

What an absolutely fantastic line.
Another brilliant read kinky and your way with words always reminds me of the late great Hugh Mcilvanney and that is no mean feat [emoji106]

“There will be no hurt feelings, every journey has it own lessons.”
As the dust of dreams settle and we awake with a gut wrenching shudder, when our minds process the what night have been, we should be proud of our team and what they gave us. Only in the depths of football defeat can you ever feel so alive. I can’t count the number of games I have been at that don’t have anything riding on them other than your support for your team. Saturday meant something and had the feel of importance that you would be fortunate to feel once in a season. We have had a couple of games like this for me. Larkhall at home and away two seasons ago and the promotion clincher against Wishae Washae last season. With the promise of a 1/4 final home tie and Scottish cup rematch against Kilwinning Rangers waiting, we gave the massive home support, a Candy church and a supporters’ communion of saints and sinners, a hell of a ride and eventually, as the 20 legs tired and the fresh oppositions subs’ legs went into overdrive, we came up short in heartbreaking fashion. 2-0 up with 20 to go and carrying our luck in the athletic heroics of our shot stopping and goal preventing young keeper. 2 penalty claims and some missed chances to go further ahead, A rush of youthful blood red card, clearances and scrambles and the loosening grip as you watch the inevitable unfold and your mind says “I told you so” and you curse yourself for even allowing your dreams. Just remember if you aren’t dreaming then you are just sleeping… and who wants to sleep when you can follow your Candy heart and escape for a while? We’ve waited almost a hundred years to win the Scottish cup again so another year won’t hurt……..
 Having pulled the “That’s too far away” card out and secured a free weekend, the Shiney Silver Scottish cup Shimmer in the eye attracted me and there was only one place I would be going. All roads lead to JMcG Park and the prospect of putting one over a higher ranking team, buoyed and backed by the big bucks and Euro Millions of fortune, I prime the auld man and collect him. He regales me with tales of his old Scottish Cup memories and I smile. He remembers being young and being a fan and watching Celtic in finals and lifting trophies. He says “If Jimmy Johnstone wasnae playing I couldnae be fkd watching the game”. You’ve got to know what you like I suppose!! No Jinky high jinkys today as we park in our usual puddle which stretches as long as the early arrival lines, it looks like it is going to be a bumper day. Queues again at the gate and we get a wee raffle ticket when we enter. I’m remembering the Benburb “Free coffee” tickets but my hope of something fur nuffin is shot as I am informed that “Largs have insisted we hand out tickets to get an accurate attendance”. GOTW is on the gate and struggling to take money, calculate the cost and change and tally on a sheet… who says we cant multitask? I spoke to a few Largs fans and a committee man and we chewed the Scottish Cup cud… Universal thoughts on our teams and football spread across the leagues and the general consensus is “We can play good, we can play bad” is a reality we live with and embrace. Kick off is approaching and the crowds continue to spill in as we open the big gate and yellow jaykits and emergency tables cope with the crowd… more come and more come… build it and they will come…. Andy Cameron and Stevie Mullen and Ken and Billy and Paul and Tam and everyone else involved have built the club up over the last few years and they DID come. There was a huge crowd and there was definitely something in the air. There was a more serious feeling, perhaps it was a more invested feeling? I couldn’t quite pout my finger on it but on reflection I suppose it is a combination of tradition and pride and community and belonging combined with a realization that our club has become so much more than it had been in recent history. “The Candy in our Communiy” trajectory is upwards and on the pitch we are holding our own. Whether it was belief or blind faith I’m not sure but it definitely felt different as I walked to my usual spot in one of the packed sheds, behind (physically and metaphorically) behind the dug out, facing across to a sizeable Largs support and our opponent’s bench. A huddle and noise and hope and dreams and fun and laughter and then….. the gale force wind carried the ref’s first whistle…. We were off……
After 5 minutes it was clear what we were up against. After 10 it was blindingly obvious. Lots of good humour and banter on the terraces but for all the partisan fanship and funship there was a heavy dose of reality swirling around. A candy fan can be passionate and dogged in defense of his team but he also is no fantasist. Even when we took the lead after a well delivered tricky free kick we would have still taken getting to the break level. For all their possession dominance Largs only troubled a couple of times. Corners were proving a challenge and one super clawed away goal line clearance (The first of numerous superb saves) kept us ahead and the half time whistle drew raucous cheers as the hard working Candy headed for a well earned cup of tea, one man down courtesy of a straight red for a needless challenge. It looked a red from where I was, some say it was harsh, but if you stay on your feet you stay on the park. Back when I was growing up I was always told to only go to ground in an absolute last ditch save-a-goal tackle. This was basically because the black or red ash would rip the skin off you. I still look like I have vitiligo when I get a tan.. We had a long way to go and the realist in me began to talk to the jinky jimmy cricket of my mind who was saying “Maybe we could?” With the wind behind us we at least had a chance. They had given us the chance to dream and we did. The second half started and we did better than we did int eh first. We had a couple of corners of our own and played a few decent balls and made some ground and had some possession. Lets not kid ourselves, we carried a lot of luck. Largs were composed and good on the ball and our keeper made about 3 man of the match saves, the last one being miraculous and left the wee number 8 who was left scratching his baldy scalp in disbelief, wondering why he hadn’t levelled at 1-1. Games can turn on saves and after 3 great saves, we get slipped through and the ball is rolled to the side of their advancing keeper with the exceeding hairline.. it rolls into the net and pandemonium breaks out. This is what I will take from Saturday. There were scenes like never before… perhaps it was the close packed enclosure, perhaps it was the slick passing of the goal, perhaps it is just our passion as Candy fans? I think the occasion was everything and emotions of going 2 up in such a big game when we were in truth holding on was just a bursting bubble of brilliance and belonging. It is one of the best moments I have experienced football for a long time. I know I get a bit carried away about feelings and stuff. Most people just want to go to a game and some just want to read about the facts (You are reading the wrong post here then!) but football is all about memories and history and something that you can take and hold and feel…. For me it was special…..
Not wanting to skip over the 5 goal last 20 minutes but it had a sense of inevitability about it. I said at 2-0 the game was far from finished and I think the fans, dancing and dreaming though they were, knew it. They scored a great first when the tricky ginger sub number 14 beat 2 and whipped a great goal into the far corner… I suspected what was to follow would hurt and so it did. Largs scrambled a second, scored a good passing 3rd, a break away 4th and 5th as we tried to muster something from our shattered 18 outfield legs. The fifth went in as I walked down to the shed behind the goal. I remember thinking “That isn’t really fair”… but 4-2 or 5-2? Does it matter? Largs won on merit and good luck to them going forward, our lads gave all they could and I was disappointed but felt quite proud. There is comfort in defeat if you know you have given your all and couldn’t have done any more. Whilst the wind howled, if the winds of fortune had blown slightly differently?? If we had kept 11 men on the field?? If we had scored our chance when 2-0 up and when at 2-2 perhaps we could have got something? I not sure it would have mattered. Who knows?….. the wind still blows and we still dream…
“For once this moment comes for me,
I will be free once again,
To blow upon the wind,
Wherever I may choose”
I always say that football gives me more and more the more I let it. I loved it on Saturday. I loved hearing my dad talk football on the way there and I loved when he said he enjoyed the game on the way back. I was part of a mammoth crowd and a club reborn and alive with the passion and pride of a community engaged and invested. I saw a team punch above it’s weight with the big hitters of our game and allow it’s fans to dream for a wee while. We will become bigger ourselves I am sure and I will love it when arrives. They say that pride comes before a fall, but it is ok to fall. The problem occurs when you don’t get up or you pack in. I have no doubt that the Candy, our Candy, the wee club whp bring pride and belonging back to those who want it, will keep going and keep delivering…. If you love then your heart can break. Breaking hearts since 1920 but allowing us all the chance to belong and to dream… That’s what football means and we are so so lucky that we got that chance on Saturday. Thank you Candy……
“For always being there.
For caring.
For loving me;
You don't even know me. Thanks”

Mon the Candy!
MTC! [emoji517][emoji460]️[emoji172][emoji106]

IMG_3624.thumb.jpg.f3deff0a7206fc5683b6a42d1687dc34.jpg
IMG_3639.thumb.jpg.2409a83f70ffe7556c7b24faa1a669e0.jpg
IMG_3635.thumb.jpg.9ecf74811a6ec2b5484999642ef6b248.jpg
IMG_3637.thumb.jpg.53e0d94ca2ef3ca330623b98bdc67814.jpgIMG_3622.thumb.jpg.85f1c9e857022703633787f122720de8.jpg
You guys are going in the right direction,so you should be proud of what you are achieving on and off the park

I doubt if anyone from Largs INSISTED on tickets being issued. They may have ASKED if tickets were being issued as that is required by the SJFA in Scottish Junior Cup games.

"9. In all rounds of the Scottish Cup Competition, including the Semi Final, where applicable, it is the responsibility of the home club to ensure that every spectator entering the ground receives a numbered ticket on receipt of entrance fee. These tickets will ensure the proper number of people entering and the correct gate receipts thus allowing both clubs to enact Cup Competition Rules - Rule 2. "

As for the Euro Millions - I had to laugh at the St. Roch's fans chanting about this. I doubt the Euro Millions winner has set foot in Barrfields in years. I don't think he even lives in Largs any more.  I could have swore I heard someone say he'd moved to Troon.

I will echo the comment above, your club is definitely heading in the right direction.

I doubt if anyone from Largs INSISTED on tickets being issued. They may have ASKED if tickets were being issued as that is required by the SJFA in Scottish Junior Cup games.
"9. In all rounds of the Scottish Cup Competition, including the Semi Final, where applicable, it is the responsibility of the home club to ensure that every spectator entering the ground receives a numbered ticket on receipt of entrance fee. These tickets will ensure the proper number of people entering and the correct gate receipts thus allowing both clubs to enact Cup Competition Rules - Rule 2. "
As for the Euro Millions - I had to laugh at the St. Roch's fans chanting about this. I doubt the Euro Millions winner has set foot in Barrfields in years. I don't think he even lives in Largs any more.  I could have swore I heard someone say he'd moved to Troon.
I will echo the comment above, your club is definitely heading in the right direction.
We had been told the largs euromillions winner had paid for the new ground at largs and thats why the song came about.
Good banter tho [emoji106]