St Roch"s 2018/19

21stcenturyboy

1 minute ago, griffiti on the wall said:

Thanks fella
Good match in tough conditions,
I thought you knocked the ball about well at times and not many teams will leave Cumbernauld with all 3 points .
Our number one keeper is injured and I thought the young keeper did well in his 1st ever junior game .
I was provided totally wrong about your pitch as it was in great shape today so please pass on my apologies to the grounds team .
See you at JMP and hopefully it's another good match emoji106.png

needing some footballing viagra...lots of watchable footy but no penetration

The No.1 keeper is not any better. Good shot stopper but partial to a blunder and his kick outs are shockin, not to even start on the amount of red cards he gets. To mount a real challenge in that league you need to be looking at better than that to be serious contenders.

Bit harsh there I feel
Big starky is as good as any keeper in the division but it's all about opinions and that's mine .

Fair play to the Candy Crew over the last six Saturday’s. 5 wins and a draw. Never saw that coming out of Dam Park back in mid October after a 3-1 defeat. An away win in the West of Scotland,  two home wins in the Junior Cup  and 2 wins and a draw in the league which included a win away to Cumbernauld Utd and home draw against high flyers Rutherglen Glencairn. Credit is due to the team and management working away at JMP. A couple of 6/7 games runs like that in the second half of the season would be highly entertaining.

Everyone has been working hard and it shows with the football we are playing and the results were getting.

Plus the folk that are turning up at JMP from Ayrshire to America because of social media. The charity work off the park and the ongoing ground improvements, people like to hear what’s going on. Shows you how the next generation view social media even at Junior football level. Even a decade ago when the internet was up and running the Roch still didn’t have a website. As i say, fair play to the people up at JMP, team, management, fans. Some going from second bottom of the District League about 7 years back.

Pleased for your gaffer, he is a good guy. I got the impression about 8 weeks ago he was a wee bit disillusioned when I caught a wee tweet of his late one Saturday night. 
I might be wrong but I’m glad he has stuck it out. 

He takes defeat hard and it hurts him and I think at times he needs to take a stepback from it but it's that same passion and desire which drives him to make St Rochs a great club .
I don't think some candy truly appreciate the amazing job him and his backroom team have done in the last 5 years .
He has rebuild the club from scratch with very little and only when he is long retired will some folk realise what a job he has done and the success he has given the club on and off the field .

1 hour ago, griffiti on the wall said:

He takes defeat hard and it hurts him and I think at times he needs to take a stepback from it but it's that same passion and desire which drives him to make St Rochs a great club .
I don't think some candy truly appreciate the amazing job him and his backroom team have done in the last 5 years .
He has rebuild the club from scratch with very little and only when he is long retired will some folk realise what a job he has done and the success he has given the club on and off the field .

An example would be 5 years ago, 2012/2013 season.

Central League 1st Division, St Roch’s last two games of the season 

May 11th 2013 Greenock 10 St Roch’s 0

May 20th 2013 St Roch’s 1 Shettleston 9

The second game was a Monday night in May and i doubt there was 40 people there. Funny thing was the Candy only came second bottom of the League. Think the Candy managed to beat East Kilbride Thistle twice that season and EKT came bottom. Honest truth was the people running the club off the park, at best, were clueless. Or as some might say in the Garngad, daft the right way. Bill Shankly or Brian Clough couldn’t have turned things around at the Roch during that period.

The Super Leagues ran from 2002 till 2018, most of that time folk were quite happy to give it a miss, the level of ambition was frightening. As openly said in my presence in 2004, “Aye ye don’t whant tae go tae Ayrshire every second week son tae get fucked an hiv tae pye fir a bus”.

Edited by Glenconner

The Roch are definitely on  the way up. Have been at a few of their games this season and they are a fine unit with some really good players . Ferns , Tierney , Bryson and young McGuigan are playing out their skins for the cause. Great to watch. Long may it continue .A lot of senior clubs could learn from this wee outfit .

21 minutes ago, Viewparker said:

The fell quite a distance. As a Garngad boy who played many a school cup final on what was then Provanmill Park in the 70s I was really disappointed on how poor they were when I returned  to Glasgow in the 90s. 

Trivia Question for you guys. St Rochs won a national trophy in the late 1970s at Hampden can you name the tournament. 

Was the trophy won in 1979?

50 minutes ago, Viewparker said:

The fell quite a distance. As a Garngad boy who played many a school cup final on what was then Provanmill Park in the 70s I was really disappointed on how poor they were when I returned  to Glasgow in the 90s. 

Trivia Question for you guys. St Rochs won a national trophy in the late 1970s at Hampden can you name the tournament. 

Leaving aside the football, the club never recovered from the Social Club saga. Funnily enough when asking present day Junior people what they would prefer, most will go for a plastic pitch and floodlights that a club could use 7 days a week. I think there’s a place for bar facilities in a Junior club but the whole social club/committee idea has seen it’s day at most Juniors.

Edited by Glenconner

55 minutes ago, Viewparker said:

Come on GOTW, there’s a clue in the second sentence.

7 minutes ago, griffiti on the wall said:
38 minutes ago, Viewparker said:
Just realised you have got it. Let’s see how long it takes GOTW to get it. 

I was not even born then so I have no idea 

St Roch’s School won the Scottish Schoolboys Cup in 1979 at Hampden.

Don’t shoot the messenger.