Musselburgh Athletic F.C 2018/19

luke guys whits gaun oan in this burra threed noo - it used tae b silence is goldin - noo ee canna get a wurd in lol wid ees caw canny cos it takes me longer tae reed the posts noo - yous will huv tae mhak allowances fir us seenyur citizins - aye n ad like tae say while am oan a wis at a local amachoor game lately n they brot oot a wee fold oot chair fir me tae sit oan - its wee things like that n the laffs n the banter that gets brycey buzzin n of corse the wind ups as well - aye eed better believe it lol

It just goes to show brycey, that it is absolutely ages since you have been to Olivebank.

We have been providing seats to auld yins like you all season, if they wish one! We may not have a glamour stand like ‘your’ team Nitten, where seating is readily available anytime for those who choose to sit on a pew. However, I think we offer a better deal. If you came and said, ‘luke, amur a penshonur and connae staund fir 90 minutes nae mare’, I would get you a chair and place it anywhere you wanted. Flexible seating! I would even get you a cup of tea if were cold! That offer is there for you anytime you wish to visit your old haunt! We miss your banter and your cheery face these days!

Now; you complain we are too busy on our threed! The reason for that is we listened to you and acted upon the comments you made that we appeared to be hiding away! Just to note, it may get a bit quieter in the next few days. Because of the odd number in each league, the burra don’t have a match this weekend, so there may be a wee rest bite in our postings!

Always good to talk to you bruthir!

On 22/01/2019 at 21:43, Casey Jones said:

It just goes to show brycey, that it is absolutely ages since you have been to Olivebank.

We have been providing seats to auld yins like you all season, if they wish one! We may not have a glamour stand like ‘your’ team Nitten, where seating is readily available anytime for those who choose to sit on a pew. However, I think we offer a better deal. If you came and said, ‘luke, amur a penshonur and connae staund fir 90 minutes nae mare’, I would get you a chair and place it anywhere you wanted. Flexible seating! I would even get you a cup of tea if were cold! That offer is there for you anytime you wish to visit your old haunt! We miss your banter and your cheery face these days!

Now; you complain we are too busy on our threed! The reason for that is we listened to you and acted upon the comments you made that we appeared to be hiding away! Just to note, it may get a bit quieter in the next few days. Because of the odd number in each league, the burra don’t have a match this weekend, so there may be a wee rest bite in our postings!

Always good to talk to you bruthir!

thanx mate x

ad jist like tae say hello to awebuddy connecktit wae the burra n ask a simple queshton - a notice u guys r at hame tae eesthoosis lilly seturday commin - n ad like tae ken if theres gonna b crowd segregation at this game owin tae a fracass wae this lot doon at peebles earlier oan in the season lol - so wid it no b better tae huv a just in case option oan the day?  luke a ken u cood get there away support in a fone box but a want yous awe tae b safe lol - b oan lads

7 hours ago, Casey Jones said:

Nae issues with our Midlothian friends my friend!! Had a good day up there earlier on in the season!

aye theyre no a bad side - tbh there cood b a guid few games off this weekend buddy

45 minutes ago, brycey said:

aye theyre no a bad side - tbh there cood b a guid few games off this weekend buddy

Agreed. Be surprised in any games in the East are on this weekend! At least it means that Nitten will remain in 3rd place! Had matches gone ahead, they would have been down to fourth!

22 hours ago, Casey Jones said:

Agreed. Be surprised in any games in the East are on this weekend! At least it means that Nitten will remain in 3rd place! Had matches gone ahead, they would have been down to fourth!

Even if temperatures remain low into Saturday some might survive... Leith and Broxburn are 3G, Bonnyrigg have covers down, and a few are on the coast.

On ‎30‎/‎01‎/‎2019 at 22:41, Casey Jones said:

nice one m8 lol

On 31/01/2019 at 21:07, HibeeJibee said:

Even if temperatures remain low into Saturday some might survive... Leith and Broxburn are 3G, Bonnyrigg have covers down, and a few are on the coast.

Unfortunately, looks as if my initial thoughts may be spot on? Bonnyrigg off. Broxburn not hopeful. Leith on just now, but Edinburgh University’s match, on a pitch 100 yards away from Leith’s ground is already off. Probably leaves Dunbar.but this may be off as well as temperatures in East Lothian not lifting! 

10 hours ago, Casey Jones said:

Unfortunately, looks as if my initial thoughts may be spot on? Bonnyrigg off. Broxburn not hopeful. Leith on just now, but Edinburgh University’s match, on a pitch 100 yards away from Leith’s ground is already off. Probably leaves Dunbar.but this may be off as well as temperatures in East Lothian not lifting! 

Leith will be on as it's astro. Sun out, minimal frost overnight, 4-5c by 2pm.......couple call-offs may have been premature. Roll on next week.

17 hours ago, Casey Jones said:

Two weekends in a row without football. Hope it’s not a hat trick and match at Peebles goes ahead! Miss my fix of watching the Burgh play!

omg casey lad - 2 weeks wioot a game - a coodnae handle that lol eer slippin brother- brycey will be at fisherrow fir a cheeky wee friendly on Tuesday nicht - Ormiston afc v meadowmill afc - 2 guid local amateur sides - 7 ko - as a huv connexions wae baith sides lol n lets face it ee canna beet a guid blast o sea air n wind waftin across the links - n up eer trooser legs - bring it oan lol - oh n guid luck against peebles guys n get another 3 points oan board - mone the burra 

League match 17 for Musselburgh; first match in four weeks. Newtongrange were the visitors to Olivebank, hoping for a double, having already beaten Musselburgh 4-2 in the league a couple of months back.

Two changes to the last Burgh line up with Grieg Callaghan on for an injured Liam Gregory.  Nathan Evans replaced Gary Cherrie’s who was suspended.

Match start in a quick tempo with both teams looking to be on the score sheet first. On 13 minutes, Conor Thomson moved ball into the Newtongrange box. Best option was to shoot, but instead, Conor passed ball to Michael Deland, who saw his shot go over bar. On 15 minutes, the first goal did come. Passing move involving Jackie Myles, Conor and Nathan saw the latter make run into the box. Nathan checked back and squares ball into the six-yard box, where Mathu King hits the net. Early honours to Musselburgh who lead 1-0.

On 19 minutes, Stevie Thomson (seven previous Burgh players – maybe 8 - in the Nitten starting line-up) hit a shot from 25 yards, but ball just goes over the bar. Few moments later and a throw-in from Scott Swaney finds Thomson, who has a tussle with Michael D, before crossing a good ball in, but, no Newtongrange player could get a touch on it.

Jackie has a great chance to make it 2-0 to Burgh with 40 minutes played, but his strike comes off the back of a Nitten player and ball is cleared. In final minute of first half, good play up right wing between Conor and Mathu, with ball played over to Liam Gregory. He plays ball into box, which Nathan dummied and Mathu ran towards the far corner of box and placed ball past a diving Keiron Renton.

Half time – Musselburgh lead 2-0

Just over 10 minutes after the break, Deland punted ball from his own half, which headed on by Mathu. Nathan collects ball at edge of box, then coolly slots ball into the net for 3-0 lead.  Nitten were reduced to 10 men as Thomson received a red card for a reckless challenge on Jackie Myles. Fortunes changed a bit, for Newtongrange, on 61 minutes. From a corner kick, ball headed into net by Lowson, reducing deficit to 3-1.

Third goal in eleven minutes saw Musselburgh back to a three-goal lead. Renton kicked ball into the Burgh half. Two headers and ball was back over the half way line. Lowson passed ball back to Keiron. Inexplicably, Renton let the ball run by him towards the goals. He ran back to retrieve the ball, but linesman indicated that ball crossed line and Musselburgh lead 4-1.

Keiron received a yellow card for running out and remonstrating with the linesman; stating ball was still in play, a fact confirmed by a number of Burgh fans who were standing behind the goal area.

Nitten were not finished yet, as in 69 minutes, they had another corner. When ball came in, Ally shouted it was his ball. However, he missed it and Richardson tapped ball in - 4-2 to the home side.

Burgh’s first sub came just after. Scott McNaughton replaced Nathan. Final goal came in 75 minutes. Mathu ran into box, looking for his hat trick. As he tried to go by Keiron, he was fouled and the goalkeeper received his second yellow of the match. Richardson went in goals, but was unable to stop Michael Moffat from scoring his second penalty in as many matches.

Jack Gillan and Scott Moffat replaced Jackie and Conor, late in the match for Musselburgh. For the away side, Scott, Wilson and Lander replace Hunter, Forster and Jamieson.

Final score was 5-2 for Musselburgh who jump above Newtongrange, into third place in the league. Michael Moffat (birthday boy) was supporters’ man of the match.

A crowd of 314; third highest of season for Musselburgh, saw an entertaining match, especially in the first half. Second half was a bit spoilt by the two sending offs. However, five goals in this period is not to be scoffed at; with Musselburgh worthy winners.

Liam Gregory is the second Musselburgh Athletic Under 20 player to sign for the main Burgh team. He is a midfielder,  quick on his feet and getting more confident each time he crosses the line on a Saturday afternoon. He joins the Centre Half Liam Reid, who signed a couple of months ago and now a regular in the first team starting line up. 

League match 18 for Musselburgh (21 for Hawick). Burgh were looking to complete a double over the visitors, following a 4-0 win back in October.

Musselburgh made one change from last week, with Jack Gillan in the starting line up, in place of Jackie Myles.

It was not long before Musselburgh fans were celebrating the first goal of match. Bradley Whyte passed ball to Nathan Evans, who ran up the right wing. His cross into the box was punched out by the Hawick keeper, Saunders. Conor Thomson, passed two players then guided ball into the back of the net.

Second goal came 10 minutes later. A pass into the box by Michael Deland was received by Conor. He played a quick one-two with Liam Gregory, then nutmegged a Hawick defender and past the keeper. Two nil for Musselburgh.

There was no let up for the visitors as Musselburgh continued to press forward. On 17 minutes, a deft pass into the box, by Michael Moffat, is headed towards Mathu King from Nathan, and the captain gets his first, and Burgh’s third goal of match. Five minutes later and a 30 yard drive byJack Gillan brings out a great save by Saunders.

On 29 minutes, a rare forward move by Hawick, breached the Burgh defence. Ally Adams came out and dived at the feet of centre forward, Wilson and alleviate any chance for a Hawick goal. When ball was played up the field, Saunders made another good save to keep score at 3-0. He was beaten again on 32 minutes. Hawick had the ball, but the sub, Njie saw his pass intercepted by Michael, on the half way line. He moved up right wing, passed ball into the penalty area. Two touches later and ball was in the net getting Mathu his second and Burgh’s 4th goal of match.

A flurry of chances came in 41 minutes. Nathan was first to try but his shot was cleared for a corner. When this came in, a Jonno McManus header, which looked like going in, came off Mathu and a chance was averted. A couple of minutes later,  Michael M had an attempt on goal, but the ball came off Mathu and cleared by the Hawick defence.

Right on half time, Mathu got his hat-trick. A long ball from Conor was collected in the penalty area by Nathan. His pass beat a couple of defenders and from two yards Mathu made no mistake. Half time 5-0 to Musselburgh.

On 55 minutes, Musselburgh made a double substitution with Bradley and Conor replaced by Gary Cherrie and Ewan Ralton. A couple of minutes later, and another great save by Saunders, from Nathan, putting ball out for a corner. Then Jonno headed ball which was cleared off the line. Liam Gregory hit the rebound, two feet from the goal line, but ball hit bar and away.

On 65 minutes Under 20 player, Daniel McBay came on, replacing Mathu. Just after, Michael M had another chance, which comes off Touray, but Saunders averts an own goal with a good save. Hawick then made a sub with Murphy replaced by Lloyd. On 75 minutes, Jonno passed ball out to the left. Michael D put a pass into the six yard box and Nathan was there to make it 6-0.

Burgh came close in 78 minutes. A long kick out by Ally finds Ralts. He passed to Liam G and his shot came of keeper’s left hand post. A minute later, Gary  received ball in his own half. One look up and he launched a long pass up to Ralts. One touch and he wrong footed Saunders. As the keeper tried to retrieve this, Ewan took ball on the bounce and hit an empty net.

Musselburgh continued to press. Keeper made another good  save from Nathan and then with seven minutes remaining Saunders made a one handed save from Michael M shot. On 90 minutes, a cracking shot by Dan came crashing off the keeper’s right hand post.

Final score was Musselburgh 7 - 0 Hawick Royal Albert. Mathu was the supporters man of the match.

Special mention must go to the  Hawick keeper who made numerous saves to keep score in single figures. Also, for the full 90 minutes, the Hawick heads never went down. They battled hard, but Ally had one of his quieter matches for a long time.

League match 19 for Musselburgh and the second last home game at Olivebank in 2018-19; unless a 2nd home cup tie comes our way. In October 18, Burgh beat Easthouses 3-1 away, so, were hoping for a league double over their Midlothian rivals. Lily were looking for a win to keep their hopes of a top five position come the end of the season.

Musselburgh fielded the same starting line up for the second weekend running. To quote a few fans and one from a player, the first half was dull. Little goalmouth action at either end  in the first 30 minutes.

The only notes worth taking started in 31 minutes, when Bradley Whyte received a yellow card for a foul on an Easthouses player. It was a robust tackle at most and surprised a number of supporters when the referee blew his whistle in the first place. Matters started to warm up on 39 minutes, when Conor Thomson nearly scored directly from a corner. Lily keeper, Hay, saved on the line. The ball came out to Connor and his next attempt, from the edge of the box, came off the bar.

Half time 0-0.

Within two minutes of the re-start, Mathu King had the ball in the net, but linesman flagged for offside. The first goal came in 53 minutes. Michael Deland made a run to the bye-line and crossed towards the goal. Ball was cleared only as far as the Burgh’s top goal scorer. Three touches later and Mathu made it 1-0.

The shackles on the match were well and truly off. In 55 minutes a nice one-two between Mathu and Nathan Evans, saw a shot from Mathu, come crashing off the bar. Michael D hit the rebound which went wide of post.

The Lily captain, Arthur received a yellow, following a foul given to Musselburgh. Too much chatting back to the ref earned him the card. Then, in the space of three minutes, Hay made good saves, twice from Mathu and from Jack Gillan. Just after the hour mark, Easthouses had a rare chance to score. From a free kick Barrie’s shot was parried out by Ally Adams. Then, the centre forward, Shearer shot from 25 yards and Ally had to touch save the ball onto the bar, when an equaliser looked inevitable.

Just before 65 minutes, subs from either side, saw Bradley replaced by Gary Cherrie. For the away side, Anderson came on for Young. Almost immediately the second goal came. Two corners from Conor, saw Mathu’s effort cleared off the line by Barrie. Then Mathu saw another shot cleared, but this time Nathan scored with his second attempt on goal. Score now 2-0 to Musselburgh.

Easthouses came close on 67 minutes, when the sub Anderson’s shot was saved by Ally and out for a corner. Shortly after, Gary and Jonno McManus received yellow cards; Jack G was replaced by Jackie Myles and for Lily, Crutcher replaced Beattie.

Musselburgh went 3-0 up on 74 minutes. Gary won the ball in the middle of the park and passed ball out to right wing. Nathan then ran into box and scored from a tight angle. Prior to the goal going in, Barrie was injured and after treatment was subbed with Mcivor coming on.

On 77 minutes, Nathan had a golden chance to get his hat trick but his shot was just wide of the post. Two minutes later, from a long ball out from Ally, Nathan made a good run and collected ball on 18 yard line and guided ball past Hay for Burgh’s fourth goal.

With 10 minutes remaining, Ewan Ralton came on for Liam Gregory. A couple of minutes later, Mciver received a yellow card for trying to hold onto and steal Conor’s shorts. Maybe he wanted something from the game! Last goal of the match came in 84 minutes and it was the best of the bunch. Hay played ball to Lily’s Taylor, but Jackie tackled him and from 25 yards, chipped the ball over the keeper and into the net.

Match ended 5-0 to Musselburgh. Man of match was hat trick hero Nathan Evans. Best for Easthouses was the keeper, Hay.

The win saw Musselburgh move into second in the league; three point ahead of Hill of Beath; though the Fife team have three games in hand. In the last four matches, Musselburgh has scored five goals or more in each match and for the second week in a row, Burgh did not concede a goal.

Edited by Casey Jones