Musselburgh Athletic F.C 2018/19

2 hours ago, cookieboy said:

Pretty accurate account of the proceedings and I noticed you have used the phrase bad day at the office but also commented on how good Penicuik were

Keep up the good work with the reports I will look forward to reading them

Deliberate cookieboy after the weekend ‘debates’! However, no denying Burgh have been beaten fair and square by a good Penicuik team in both matches. My outlook no matter who we play is that we go out to win and will be of same mind when we return to Penicuik - the only away match we have still to be announced! 

All best for the rest of the season!

Enjoyable looking trip on Saturday.  Not been to Easthouses for years, last time was a friendly back in the 80's with The Burgh, not even sure they're at the same ground. public park back then.

Best thing about this season is the freshness games like these have brought in playing against teams we never normally faced.

Enjoyable day up at Easthouses, good 3 points for us as well and were made to work for them.

Saw Leith last week against EK and they looked better than early season against us but without wishing to sound patronising Easthouses looked the strongest opponents we've had  this far outwith our regular junior opponents.

Edited by RobM

1 hour ago, RobM said:

Enjoyable day up at Easthouses, good 3 points for us as well and were made to work for them.

Saw Leith last week against EK and they looked better than early season against us but without wishing to sound patronising Easthouses looked the strongest opponents we've had  this far outwith our regular junior opponents.

Wasn’t at the home match against Leith so can’t comment on that aspect. Easthouses were a Junior team last few seasons, but I didn’t think that Musselburgh were stretched too much today. Perhaps if Easthouses strikers were in better form it may have been different, but Ally wasn’t really troubled much in the first half. Easthouses had a good chance late on in the second half, before they scored in the final minute, but by then match was over. 

Mathu King scored a hat-trick but it wouldn’t have been a surprise if he got a few more. The Easthouses keeper made two good saves from MK in 2nd half in quick succession and he had another good chance after. David M also missed a great chance in 2nd half.

Result puts us in good stead for next week’s home match.

On 19/10/2018 at 18:20, Casey Jones said:

First time visit to Easthouses tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing the ground and hopefully a return to winning form for Musselburgh.

first time visit - u shooda kept that quiet casey lahd lol then again eeve led a sheltered life - a herd there wis a 124 fans there - wis the kick aff delayed - n hae u burra fans finally come oot the closet - aye there musta been sum atmossfeer at this yin - guid win tho brother - mona burra lol

23 minutes ago, brycey said:

first time visit - u shooda kept that quiet casey lahd lol then again eeve led a sheltered life - a herd there wis a 124 fans there - wis the kick aff delayed - n hae u burra fans finally come oot the closet - aye there musta been sum atmossfeer at this yin - guid win tho brother - mona burra lol

Indeed brycey boy! Used to stay about a mile from the ground a number of years ago but was too timid to venture up there on my own in case I was set upon. Today I had my brouncer with me, so no worries there! 

Match was delayed for around 30 seconds to let the hoardes of Burgh supporters in. Thought I might have seen you there today as it is nearly a home ground for you?! Could so easily have been 7 or 8 goals we scored, but a mixture of good saves by the Lily keeper plus a few missed opportunities kept the score down to 3-1. 

Home match next week for a team you used to secretly love! Don’t know what happened that Olivebank rarely sees you now, but we have a good young side in case you are interested!

Musselburgh won their first four league matches of this season’s campaign, but were well beaten by a good Penicuik team, last time out.

Management team reacted by making five changes to the starting line up for the match at Easthouses. Liam Reid got his first full match under his belt, progressing from the under 20s side and gave an impressive performance throughout the 90 minutes.

Mathu King opened the scoring in 15 minutes. Following a great ball from Gary Cherrie, a lovely first touch by Mathu saw him clear of the defence and he placed the ball past the right hand side of keeper and into the net.

The second goal came in 34 minutes, a movement from defence to scoring in around 15 seconds. Ball played out and Conor Thomson made a swinging pass to Jack Gillan, on the wing. Jack ran past a defender then crossed a great ball into the penalty area, with Mathu volleying a low ball into the net. 

ÌMusselburgh went close in 40 minutes, when Conor let rip from 25 yards. His deflected shot saw a diving save by the Lily keeper who put ball out for a corner. Then in 43 minutes, ball played towards the Lily goal, with Mathu chasing. Keeper came out and appeared to stop ball hitting his face with his hands. No whistle blown, much to the annoyance of Burgh players and fans.

Half time score 2-0. Easthouses did have a number of forward moving plays but Ally Adams hardly had anything to do in the Burgh penalty area.

Around 57 minutes, Jackie Myles nearly scored Burgh’s third goal. David Maskrey, with ball on left, passed into Jackie, but his shot just went by the keeper’s left hand post. The goal came a couple of minutes later. From the centre of the pitch, Bradley White and Gary had a wee passing game, then Bradley played a neat pass through to Mathu as he ran into box. Mathu slide ball past Lily keeper into the net for his hat trick. 

Following this, Mathu could have scored a further hat trick, but a couple of good saves in quick succession by the keeper, especially a header by Muthu, put a halt to the scoring. David Maskrey also missed the target from about three feet, following a free kick by Scott McNaughton which was saved by keeper.

To be honest, I switched off in the last 5-10 minutes, but it appears that Easthouses had a good chance to reduce the gap with a long shot, which Ally saved. Then in the final minute, the no. 9 (?) scored from a corner, when he headed ball into net.

Musselburgh man of match was Jonno McManus, who had a fine match following his return from injury.

Next week, Musselburgh are at home, in the league, against Tweedmouth.

Edited by Casey Jones

Tough today and massively frustrating afternoon.  Congratulations to The Burgh for keeping at it, we'll have better days but even if it goes to the last minute before you get ahead it's three points. 

Credit to Tweedmouth, suffered some difficult games this season and still managed to make life difficult for us and even camped as they were in their own half I still felt for them a bit shipping it so late, created their own chances as well.  Thanks also to their massive gibbon of a keeper who managed to con the referee into booking Mati King and who is in for an Oscar nomination for his utter twattery this afternoon during his Shakespearean performance, fud of a man .  To be honest take it elsewhere you shrieking twat, that kind of pish has no place at our level.  Arse.

Anyway, made it a bit more exciting.

Edited by RobM
Tweaking abuse to gommerel of a goalkeeper.

Musselburgh’s match against Tweedmouth was first of three days, where the home club invited a batch of sponsors to Olivebank to thank them for their support this season. All sponsors will enjoy the same hospitality throughout the year. At 2:00pm the clubhouse was full with the committee hard at work in their different roles.

From early doors, Tweedmouth had set their stall out for the 90 minutes, as each time there was a forward attack, the defence was swamped with players. Although a defensive set up, the first main chance of a goal fell to Tweedmouth’s no. 9, Robinson, who’s shot from outside the box was tipped over the bar by Ally. 

On 21 minutes, Scott McNaughton had ball on right wing and looked to put in a cross into the penalty area. However, ball flew close by the far side post in what could have been an unlikely first goal for Burgh. A couple of minutes later Mathu had a shot which keeper dived to save.

Around the half hour mark, Mathu had another chance, receiving a free kick from Gary Cherie. But Mathu’s flick was easily saved. Just after; Michael Delland had a chance, but it was a fresh air shot, then followed up with hitting ball over bar.

Ten minutes to half time, Musselburgh were on the attack with two quick corners. However, the 2nd led to a breakaway from Tweedmouth, earning them a corner. This resulted in the no.4 Cromarty just missing the goals from a header. Five minutes later, Musselburgh must have had a 40 pass move around the Tweedmouth goal area. Michael eventual shot was going miles past, with Mathu unlucky not to get a touch when trying to keep ball from going out.

No score at half time, and clear than this was not going to be a high scoring affair.

Early in 2nd half, and Tweedmouth no.7 Graham, came close with a shot, which Ally put out for corner. In 64 minutes, Michael had another chance but his shot came off a defender for corner. 

Musselburgh were huffing and puffing throughout 2nd half but could not break the defence down. Then the debacle of the injury that wasn’t with the keeper going down an feigning injury. If he isn’t embarrest by his actions that received a booking for Mathu, then he should be ashamed.

On the ground for five minutes, this led to a long period of injury time. Gary ‘s free kick in this time was saved by keeper for a corner. Match was heading for a 0-0 draw, but a last minute penalty box flurry, saw Liam Gregory hit a diving header into the back of the net, for Musselburgh to win 1-0. 

Not the prettiest of matches to watch. A lot of time, Tweedmouth had 10 players behind the ball, but overall Musselburgh just deserved the victory to remain in 4th place in league with 18 points from 7 matches.

Sponsor player of match was Bradley Whyte.

Said enough about the keeper's antics.  Have to acknowledge that in all other areas Tweedmouth were unlucky to leave empty-handed and we were fortunate to get the winner.  Turned things around a bit at Tweedmouth since the start of the season, good luck to them.

2 hours ago, RobM said:

Said enough about the keeper's antics.  Have to acknowledge that in all other areas Tweedmouth were unlucky to leave empty-handed and we were fortunate to get the winner.  Turned things around a bit at Tweedmouth since the start of the season, good luck to them.

Don’t agree Rob. They had first real chances in both halves, but for about 70 minutes of the match they mainly defended in numbers. Musselburgh were always looking to get so why be negative when they get it. Yes, we scored deep in injury time, but so what. If a winner is scored in first or last minute, it doesn't matter. A good team should play for the full 90 minutes and if it is a last minute winner, as was yesterday then all good as far as I am concerned!

Think most people thought Burgh would win by a large margin, given the amount of goals Tweedbank have been conceding this season. New manager comes in, and his first thoughts are most likely be to sort out the defence, which is what the tactics were yesterday. We finally managed to break the code with Liam’s goal so let’s celebrate as opposed to saying we were lucky to get the goal. 

MTB!