EoS Conference C chat 2018-19

Conference C

St Andrews United 0-4 Broxburn Athletic

image.png.10d681a19a062faa73bc3cc7cf860e94.png

Broxburn now have an 8 point advantage over Linlithgow. While the chasing pack have games in hand it's usually best to have the points already in the bag.

Which is why Preston Athletic may have been the biggest beneficiaries of today's result.

3 hours ago, baker2 said:

3-0 Broxburn just give us the trophy now!emoji106.png

Good to see you've finally stopped pretending to follow Linlithgow. Few things worse than people that wear half and half scarves but people who change their allegiance completely in mid season are utter roasters.  Broxburn are welcome to you - until you move on to Bo'ness or Whitburn or whoever takes your fancy.  

Door potentially opens for Heriot-Watt University - win their games v Edinburgh Utd and Inverkeithing and they'd have 32pts. They've also to play Camelon and Jeanfield.

Blackburn have to play Linlithgow / Preston / Edinburgh Utd and have 26pts... St Andrews have to play Preston / Ormiston / Linlithgow and have 27pts... while Preston have to play Camelon / St Andrews / Blackburn and have 30pts. Having brought forward their mutual game Preston and St Andrews will leave Heriot-Watt and Blackburn knowing what they need.

So there are various combinations which could put the students right into contention.

Edited by HibeeJibee

Door potentially opens for Heriot-Watt University - win their games v Edinburgh Utd and Inverkeithing and they'd have 32pts. They've also to play Camelon and Jeanfield.

Blackburn have to play Linlithgow / Preston / Edinburgh Utd and have 26pts... St Andrews have to play Preston / Ormiston / Linlithgow and have 27pts... while Preston have to play Camelon / St Andrews / Blackburn and have 30pts. Having brought forward their mutual game Preston and St Andrews will leave Heriot-Watt and Blackburn knowing what they need.

So there are various combinations which could put the students right into contention.
A big problem for Heriot watt is their goal difference (-9). Only Blackburn, of the 4, have a positive goal difference currently and it might come into play. Blackburn will have fingers crossed for a draw between St Andrews and Preston to give them a realistic chance at 5th I think.

4 hours ago, GordonS said:

Craigroyston, Ormiston and Stirling Uni. Broxburn can only Hibs it from here.

Suppose the only positive is that if Broxburn do slip up by drawing a game, Linlithgow have a much better goal difference (assuming they win all their games).

12 minutes ago, Ginaro said:

Suppose the only positive is that if Broxburn do slip up by drawing a game, Linlithgow have a much better goal difference (assuming they win all their games).

Given that we've got Jeanfield home and away it's a big assumption, but aye, Broxburn would need quite a few 4-0s to catch Rose's goal difference.

Good to see you've finally stopped pretending to follow Linlithgow. Few things worse than people that wear half and half scarves but people who change their allegiance completely in mid season are utter roasters.  Broxburn are welcome to you - until you move on to Bo'ness or Whitburn or whoever takes your fancy.  
Get a grip - you clearly don't do irony.

I've no doubt on Bakers allegiance.

1 hour ago, PastyMan said:
2 hours ago, HibeeJibee said:

A big problem for Heriot watt is their goal difference (-9). Only Blackburn, of the 4, have a positive goal difference currently and it might come into play. Blackburn will have fingers crossed for a draw between St Andrews and Preston to give them a realistic chance at 5th I think.

True - the students might need to take 1pt off Camelon or Jeanfield: given it's hard to sketch-out scenarios where none of Blackburn, St Andrews or Preston reach 32pts (if we assume no silly dropping of points v Edinburgh Utd and Ormiston) due to the remaining head-to-head games they have.

Edited by HibeeJibee

28 minutes ago, Auld Heid said:

Get a grip - you clearly don't do irony.

I've no doubt on Bakers allegiance.

Does he sit next to you at in your season ticket seat at Ibrox? :thumsup2

3 hours ago, HibeeJibee said:

Think it will be a great achievement for Heriot watt to finish 6th, never mind 5th.  Friend of mine knows someone in their camp and its a struggle for player consistency.  Apparently no played the same 11 all season with students going home. Having watched them against us twice  this season,  they are good passing team and very well coached, they lack a cutting edge up top. 

I think Preston will finish 5th and Broxburn will win the league.