Linlithgow Rose 18/19

28 minutes ago, ThatBoyRonaldo said:

Tough watch - thought we were good value for a goal or two in the second half but them's the breaks. Couple of decent saves kept us out. Didn't have a good view for either goal so don't know who if any was culpable but felt second half big Ovenstone was strong at the back when we switched to a back 3 - dealt with absolutely everything in the air. Fair play to Camelon though, they got their goals and sat in and challenged us to break them down, which we struggled to do.

If there was ever a time for rose to score it was first half we were on the ropes for about 20 mins after the goal couldn't get it out.

Have to say the old rose boy next to me moaned the whole time never got a  decision the tackle late on where don halfed the boy he couldn't explain what he wanted to do hey played on with advantage and lost the ball once play had stopped morrison was correctly booked. Same old from some of the rose support can't take losing.

Not quite Alan, I keep thinking how we didn't win yesterday or score but keep coming to the same conclusion that camelon played better and for the chances we had it may have been harsh on you if we took anything.

Personally I think that herdy and his management team have got you well drilled and you break forward as a team rather than splintered ones or twos and without the ball they seem well organised and as has been said challenge the opposition to break them down.

I can't believe we never scored but I'd like to see us shoot quicker rather than try to walk it in or score the perfect goal. Sometimes you just need to put the laces through it.

I've said privately and on here we probably got what we deserved yesterday as you make your own luck and your keeper carried a wee bit of it yesterday but I'll say it again for anyone not listening if we had taken something then it would have been harsh on camelon, but I'd have taken it.

We're not a bad team, we just need a wee run of wins to get the confidence levels up.

Onwards to nxt week.

10 hours ago, Specky said:

Not quite Alan, I keep thinking how we didn't win yesterday or score but keep coming to the same conclusion that camelon played better and for the chances we had it may have been harsh on you if we took anything.

Personally I think that herdy and his management team have got you well drilled and you break forward as a team rather than splintered ones or twos and without the ball they seem well organised and as has been said challenge the opposition to break them down.

I can't believe we never scored but I'd like to see us shoot quicker rather than try to walk it in or score the perfect goal. Sometimes you just need to put the laces through it.

I've said privately and on here we probably got what we deserved yesterday as you make your own luck and your keeper carried a wee bit of it yesterday but I'll say it again for anyone not listening if we had taken something then it would have been harsh on camelon, but I'd have taken it.

We're not a bad team, we just need a wee run of wins to get the confidence levels up.

Onwards to nxt week.

If I'm honest I still think rose will win the league. The key game us 29th yous areally at home to Broxburn 

I wasn't at the game but from the sound of what I've read it was like the Dunbar game - all the possession in midfield that we want but not turning it into enough up front, and creaky in central defence. Would that be right?

It seems that, at the moment, if you cover off TC we have very little means of getting into the final third. Roddy, Batchy and Ronald generally do that, so hopefully as injuries clear up and if availability improves that should get easier. I'd like to see much more from Kevin Watt - but again, a fit Coco can do that job.

I'd hope Ovenstone could organise the back better. We looked alright with him in a three at Preston, so it's worrying that Bradley was lamenting defensive errors on Saturday.

Those slagging the manager don't know anything about football, it's as simple as that. The changes he made for the match at Preston, and then during it, were absolutely spot on. Bring back an experienced centre half was exactly what we needed. The signings he made last season turned a lousy team into one that was 4 points off a very good Bonnyrigg side, almost immediately. Bradley's record has earned him the right to plenty of time to turn things around.

56 minutes ago, GordonS said:

I wasn't at the game but from the sound of what I've read it was like the Dunbar game - all the possession in midfield that we want but not turning it into enough up front, and creaky in central defence. Would that be right?

It seems that, at the moment, if you cover off TC we have very little means of getting into the final third. Roddy, Batchy and Ronald generally do that, so hopefully as injuries clear up and if availability improves that should get easier. I'd like to see much more from Kevin Watt - but again, a fit Coco can do that job.

I'd hope Ovenstone could organise the back better. We looked alright with him in a three at Preston, so it's worrying that Bradley was lamenting defensive errors on Saturday.

Those slagging the manager don't know anything about football, it's as simple as that. The changes he made for the match at Preston, and then during it, were absolutely spot on. Bring back an experienced centre half was exactly what we needed. The signings he made last season turned a lousy team into one that was 4 points off a very good Bonnyrigg side, almost immediately. Bradley's record has earned him the right to plenty of time to turn things around.

Don't agree with window dressing (players stripped but not available due to injuries etc)  - As people see Ronald not being used when he is one of our best players

In the 2nd half McKinley to centre forward   (TC isn't a target man - neither is Watt) this worked and gave us presence upfront.   Coco came on and TC looked more dangerous as a result. 

McKenzie alongside Rooster isn't working for me and we lose his class as a defender (I would prefer Thom in that role 1st) - Sloan is the  natural option alongside Rooster but not sure if he is fully fit hence only a late appearance as sub.

Gray and McKinnon picked up injuries and McKenzie was crocked by a bad tackle

17 minutes ago, Sheep77 said:

Unfortunately the buck stops with manager not the player in most cases  . Players don’t get sacked mangers do 

Would agree if  full squad available to select from - at present we are filling jerseys and asking players to fill unfamiliar roles due to injuries we are carrying.

1 hour ago, AlanCamelonfan said:

If I'm honest I still think rose will win the league. The key game us 29th yous areally at home to Broxburn 

I think that from the early season results there are 4 teams who could finish top.  Still think Linlithgow are slight favourites over Jeanfield, Camelon and Broxburn.  HWU may also put in a challenge as they get stronger in September/October with students returning.  Long way to go but the Rose need to start winning soon or risk falling further behind.

2 hours ago, Auld Heid said:

McKenzie alongside Rooster isn't working for me and we lose his class as a defender (I would prefer Thom in that role 1st) - Sloan is the  natural option alongside Rooster but not sure if he is fully fit hence only a late appearance as sub.

Sloan's good against lesser opposition, but against better players he gets caught in possession too easily and too often. He's got a good football brain but he needs more time on the ball than is often afforded him, he's just too slow. I've thought he looked good at left back, again it's the good decision making that puts him in the right positions. 

2 hours ago, Blowin In the Wind said:

I think that from the early season results there are 4 teams who could finish top.  Still think Linlithgow are slight favourites over Jeanfield, Camelon and Broxburn.  HWU may also put in a challenge as they get stronger in September/October with students returning.  Long way to go but the Rose need to start winning soon or risk falling further behind.

Have you seen them this season? I'm not sure anyone who was at the Dunbar game would hold that opinion. Right now it's a case of trying not to suffer too much damage until everyone is available. 

1 hour ago, GordonS said:

Sloan's good against lesser opposition, but against better players he gets caught in possession too easily and too often. He's got a good football brain but he needs more time on the ball than is often afforded him, he's just too slow. I've thought he looked good at left back, again it's the good decision making that puts him in the right positions. 

Have you seen them this season? I'm not sure anyone who was at the Dunbar game would hold that opinion. Right now it's a case of trying not to suffer too much damage until everyone is available. 

No haven’t seen them yet.  They are the biggest side in the conference in terms of finance and crowd support so always likely to start favourites (unless you subscribe to the theory that having more money doesn’t give you a sporting advantage).  Doesn’t guarantee anything for sure but it’s a long season.  Two things will probably decide who wins it - winning more than you lose against the 4 ex-Superleague sides and managing to win all the games against the other 10 conference sides.  Not confident Broxburn (my side) will do the latter.  If Linlithgow get on a roll with their squad I think they will beat the other 10 sides home and away which is where they will make up ground on the other 3.

42 minutes ago, Blowin In the Wind said:

No haven’t seen them yet.  They are the biggest side in the conference in terms of finance and crowd support so always likely to start favourites (unless you subscribe to the theory that having more money doesn’t give you a sporting advantage).  Doesn’t guarantee anything for sure but it’s a long season.  Two things will probably decide who wins it - winning more than you lose against the 4 ex-Superleague sides and managing to win all the games against the other 10 conference sides.  Not confident Broxburn (my side) will do the latter.  If Linlithgow get on a roll with their squad I think they will beat the other 10 sides home and away which is where they will make up ground on the other 3.

There's only 9 other sides 13 in the leagur but know what you mean

1 hour ago, Blowin In the Wind said:

Rose have the firepower to beat significantly weaker sides - and demolish teams like Inverkeithing HS - but against those who can defend and counter attack, they are the gift that keeps on giving. Right now we're behind Jeanfield, Camelon and Broxburn, and maybe others. We've just got fingers crossed that it's only temporary and they can pull it together before too many points are lost. If current form continues we could be out of the running for promotion by the end of October.