Forfar Athletic News 2018 onwards

1 hour ago, Port Talbot Loons said:

Who was the scoring triallist last night guys? Any other triallists play?

Score 5 - 0 vs Formartine.

Starting 11 last night was -

Muir   -  Meechan  -  Trialist (John ?)  - Munro  -  Whyte  -  Reilly  -  Mackintosh  -  Malone  -  Hilson  -  Easton  -  Trialist (didn't catch his name)

Subs, all used  ...  Baird  -  Starkey  -  Bain  -  Trialist (Conner ?)  -  Trialist (Mark Scott)  -  McCallum

Scorers ...  Reilly  -  Easton  -  #11 Trialist  -  Baird (2, also hit the bar and had a penalty saved)

Good game, plenty of movement and playing from the back. Impressed by Thomas Reilly in mid-field, linked up play very well, subbied at half time.  Good performances all round.

Should be interesting once Matty's fit to give a bit of height up front.

9 hours ago, Kwaka Mal said:

Score 5 - 0 vs Formartine.

Starting 11 last night was -

Muir   -  Meechan  -  Trialist (John ?)  - Munro  -  Whyte  -  Reilly  -  Mackintosh  -  Malone  -  Hilson  -  Easton  -  Trialist (didn't catch his name)

Subs, all used  ...  Baird  -  Starkey  -  Bain  -  Trialist (Conner ?)  -  Trialist (Mark Scott)  -  McCallum

Scorers ...  Reilly  -  Easton  -  #11 Trialist  -  Baird (2, also hit the bar and had a penalty saved)

Good game, plenty of movement and playing from the back. Impressed by Thomas Reilly in mid-field, linked up play very well, subbied at half time.  Good performances all round.

Should be interesting once Matty's fit to give a bit of height up front.

The John looks like John Kelly ex Partick U20s.

Not sure how much the players are paid but surely worth a pay as you play contract or is it that we are waiting for MM to commit?

Totally agree, we looked a better team last season with him dictating play

11 hours ago, Port Talbot Loons said:

Not sure how much the players are paid but surely worth a pay as you play contract or is it that we are waiting for MM to commit?

Would be an issue missing training aswell i'd imagine.  Really hope something can be worked out, midfield options of Millar, Fraser, Easton and Reilly would be quality.

26 minutes ago, wee_bairn said:

Is Dylan Easton always of that standard? Absolutely ran the show tonight.

Bags of talent, can be a bit ball greedy at times.

Came back last season after missing pretty much the whole of the one before with a bad knee injury with Clyde.  Had a real habit of dropping away in the last 20 minutes, hoping that's not the case this year.

2 minutes ago, Loonytoons said:

Bags of talent, can be a bit ball greedy at times.

Came back last season after missing pretty much the whole of the one before with a bad knee injury with Clyde.  Had a real habit of dropping away in the last 20 minutes, hoping that's not the case this year.

He was unplayable tonight and deservedly received a good reception from both the home and away supports when being subbed off. 

9 hours ago, wee_bairn said:

He was unplayable tonight and deservedly received a good reception from both the home and away supports when being subbed off. 

He was unplayable, I agree, but unless he learns to pass the ball occasionally, he'll just be an annoyance rather than a threat to opposition teams.  There were at least two occasions in the second half where a pass across the front of the box could have led to us getting a decent shot away, but instead he turned away from his team-mates and ran into the box, where he was eventually crowded out.

He's not a prolific scorer, so I don't know why he insists on trying to get a shot away himself when he could use his ability to take defenders away from (and thus create an opportunity for)someone else like Hilson, who is a much better finisher.

Don't get me wrong, I really rate him and he's a joy to watch, but he can sometimes be really frustrating too.

2 hours ago, loonapick said:

He was unplayable, I agree, but unless he learns to pass the ball occasionally, he'll just be an annoyance rather than a threat to opposition teams.  There were at least two occasions in the second half where a pass across the front of the box could have led to us getting a decent shot away, but instead he turned away from his team-mates and ran into the box, where he was eventually crowded out.

He's not a prolific scorer, so I don't know why he insists on trying to get a shot away himself when he could use his ability to take defenders away from (and thus create an opportunity for)someone else like Hilson, who is a much better finisher.

Don't get me wrong, I really rate him and he's a joy to watch, but he can sometimes be really frustrating too.

It's because he's a big headed wee bawbag. He's been the same everywhere he's played, bags of talent but thinks he's capable of beating entire teams on his own. If his decision making was any good he'd be playing in the Championship, minimum.