Minimum Alcohol Pricing

scottsdad

2 minutes ago, renton said:

Ok, based on the 7 class system developed here: http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/pdf/10.1177/0038038513481128 then the average household incomes and household savings for each is the following:

Class: Income/savings

Elite: £89,082/142,458

Established middle class: £47, 184/26,090

Technical middle class: £37, 428/65,844

New affluent workers: £29, 252/4,918

Emergent service workers: £21,048/1,138

Traditional working class: £13, 305/9,500

Precariat: £8, 252/792

The GBCS was designed to include questions to develop detailed measures of economic, cultural and social capitals. Its questions on cultural capital asked about 224 Sociology 47(2)

people’s leisure interests, musical tastes, use of the media, and food preferences. Many of the questions were similar to those used on the Cultural Capital and Social Exclusion survey (Bennett et al., 2008), the most sophisticated study of cultural capital ever conducted in Britain, which has influenced numerous other studies across Europe (e.g. Prieur and Savage, 2011). The questions on social capital mainly take the form of ‘position generator’ developed by the American sociologist Nan Lin (2001) to measure the range of people’s social ties. We asked respondents whether they knew anyone in 37 different occupations, which is the most complex and granular question of its type ever used in social research in any part of the world. The questions on economic capital asked not only about household income, but also savings and the value of owner-occupied housing, so allowing unusually detailed measures of economic capital. We also obtained extensive information about household composition, education, social mobility and political attitudes, to contextualise our measures of cultural, economic and social capital.

This contradicts you by including cultural elements as well as socio-economic ones.  Would you like to try again?

Just now, Baxter Parp said:

The GBCS was designed to include questions to develop detailed measures of economic, cultural and social capitals. Its questions on cultural capital asked about 224 Sociology 47(2)

people’s leisure interests, musical tastes, use of the media, and food preferences. Many of the questions were similar to those used on the Cultural Capital and Social Exclusion survey (Bennett et al., 2008), the most sophisticated study of cultural capital ever conducted in Britain, which has influenced numerous other studies across Europe (e.g. Prieur and Savage, 2011). The questions on social capital mainly take the form of ‘position generator’ developed by the American sociologist Nan Lin (2001) to measure the range of people’s social ties. We asked respondents whether they knew anyone in 37 different occupations, which is the most complex and granular question of its type ever used in social research in any part of the world. The questions on economic capital asked not only about household income, but also savings and the value of owner-occupied housing, so allowing unusually detailed measures of economic capital. We also obtained extensive information about household composition, education, social mobility and political attitudes, to contextualise our measures of cultural, economic and social capital.

This contradicts you by including cultural elements as well as socio-economic ones.  Would you like to try again?

No, I'm good. Because while they do include other factors the income and savings are the primary definitions they use to define class, and the cultural factors a secondary element.  You don't  get to the top bracket by taking on cultural indicators from that bracket, you do by satisfying the economic factors.

Hopefully the caring 'Progressives' and lefties will raise the price of cheap food too to stop the stupid poor eating and getting fat.

Then they can run on a platform of raising the minimum wage to save these people from poverty.

#votesforfood

2 minutes ago, renton said:

No, I'm good. Because while they do include other factors the income and savings are the primary definitions they use to define class, and the cultural factors a secondary element.  You don't  get to the top bracket by taking on cultural indicators from that bracket, you do by satisfying the economic factors.

Aye, pish.  It was the first thing you came across that had numbers in it.

Just now, Baxter Parp said:

Aye, pish.  It was the first thing you came across that had numbers in it.

No, I remembered it from a few years ago when it first came out, and looked the source material backup.  I mean your one to talk about trying to fit narratives: I voted Yes, I'd vote Yes again tomorrow and will vote for the SNP until that happens, but you'd go so far as to defend the SNP if they started rounding up everyone's firstborn.

It's not a great policy, it's certainly not progressive or liberal. It may have a positive outcome in the short term, but the results should be carefully monitored as closely as possible. Longer term, the only way of generating lasting positive change is by getting people away from poverty altogether.

Ok, based on the 7 class system developed here: http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/pdf/10.1177/0038038513481128 then the average household incomes and household savings for each is the following:
Class: Income/savings
Elite: £89,082/142,458
Established middle class: £47, 184/26,090
Technical middle class: £37, 428/65,844
New affluent workers: £29, 252/4,918
Emergent service workers: £21,048/1,138
Traditional working class: £13, 305/9,500
Precariat: £8, 252/792
Yipee i can still afford some frosty jacks

Just now, renton said:

It's not a great policy, it's certainly not progressive or liberal. It may have a positive outcome in the short term, but the results should be carefully monitored as closely as possible. Longer term, the only way of generating lasting positive change is by getting people away from poverty altogether.

It can't be a progressive policy because the government haven't got the powers to put a progressive policy in place. The alternatives are doing nothing while people die or waiting for Westminster to do something, which is pretty much the same thing.  Again, I absolutely agree that poverty is the real enemy here and I would expect an independent Scotland to make it an immediate priority to tackle that.

What we need is to have means testing at supermarkets and off licenses such that the poor are protected from their innate stupidity and immorality. "Hey mister, gonnae len us yer bank statement n'at?"

#churchofprogressivism

4 minutes ago, banana said:

What we need is to have means testing at supermarkets and off licenses such that the poor are protected from their innate stupidity and immorality. "Hey mister, gonnae len us yer bank statement n'at?"

#churchofprogressivism

Same with the bookies.

43 minutes ago, Baxter Parp said:

It can't be a progressive policy because the government haven't got the powers to put a progressive policy in place. The alternatives are doing nothing while people die or waiting for Westminster to do something, which is pretty much the same thing.  Again, I absolutely agree that poverty is the real enemy here and I would expect an independent Scotland to make it an immediate priority to tackle that.

Not need to worry in classless Scotland.

4 minutes ago, Glenconner said:

Same with the bookies.

Frankly, we need to take money off the stupid poor and replace it with 'Progressive' ration stamps that cover a small set of Morally Allowed purchases.

Removing feedback of the effects of our decisions is always great for building the individual responsibility needed for poorfolk to fight their way up.

#theprogressiveteet

Erm none, thats the point, lots of pubs lost trade due to the cheap supermarket prices, people might start going back to their local if the prices arent much different now

If they are used to buying cheap beer then there is no chance of them going to the local for a £3.60+ pint
Belhaven have also upped their prices this week

1 hour ago, banana said:

Frankly, we need to take money off the stupid poor and replace it with 'Progressive' ration stamps that cover a small set of Morally Allowed purchases.

Removing feedback of the effects of our decisions is always great for building the individual responsibility needed for poorfolk to fight their way up.

#theprogressiveteet

Maybe a curfew?

I wish I'd stockpiled now, always bought a case of whatever was on offer in the supermarkets. This isn't going to stop alcoholics from drinking, just piss folk off and will probably cost the SNP votes.

Do you think there will be white van booze 'cruises' to Berwick and Carlisle?  It has been reported a whisky shop in Carlisle is stocking up with blended whisky for anticipated Scottish demand.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2018/04/30/whisky-shops-england-braced-scottish-booze-cruisers-minimum/

Edinburgh - Berwick - 57 miles

Glasgow  - Carlisle - 95 miles