ComradeDiego Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 Any idea what’s happened with Kirk?? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hursty Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 Feels like a big month ahead. 6 points ahead of 5th but not playing particularly well and our 2 best centre halves injured, leaving only McGinty. 3 games to go against Raith, Partick and Dundee before transfer window opens. Can we hold on to playoff spot before strengthening? I'd like to think yes, if only because nobody else other than Morton look like grabbing 3 wins in a row. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hursty Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 You know what- I've just realised I'm gutted at drawing at Inverness to have our lead at the top of the table cut. If that isn't progress then I don't know what is. Here's to taking half a dozen off some juniors next week (6-3 win) and regroup in a fortnight. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AuAl Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 (edited) 7 minutes ago, Hursty said: You know what- I've just realised I'm gutted at drawing at Inverness to have our lead at the top of the table cut. If that isn't progress then I don't know what is. Here's to taking half a dozen off some juniors next week (6-3 win) and regroup in a fortnight. Aye, it may be the pints talking but I'm warming up to the result today, especially considering how pish we were the second half. Glad we have a couple weeks till the next league game, I think we need it. I'm concerned about the defence situation obviously but I don't think I expected us to be top for this long so happy enough. Need to drag it out to January and get another centre half in. Edited November 19, 2022 by AuAl 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AyrExile Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 It would be interesting to see if our analytics team study individual defensive errors that directly lead to goals. Struggling to think of any captains of teams over the years that continually made bombscare errors. Whilst any captain doesn't need to be the best player they do need to be someone the team can rely on. Not sure it sends out a good message to the fringe players who see these howlers but are still not given a chance. I'm not advocating McGinty gtf but at least he should earn his place based on performance. As it stands Bullen will try and shoehorn him in whenever possible to justify a decision. Over the piece points will be dropped until these basic errors get sorted 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thumper Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 24 minutes ago, Hursty said: You know what- I've just realised I'm gutted at drawing at Inverness to have our lead at the top of the table cut. If that isn't progress then I don't know what is. Yes but it's after playing shit for weeks and continually resorting to the one good striker rescuing games by whacking long balls at him. That's exactly the same tactics as last season. 12 minutes ago, AyrExile said: As it stands Bullen will try and shoehorn him in whenever possible to justify a decision. In fairness Bullen did actually drop him for a while when there were sufficient other options available (a period which unsurprisingly resulted in much better performances). But with Kirk and Musonda out he's not really got a choice. And if there's one thing McGinty absolutely loves it's being able to play like a fucking juniors player because he can't be dropped. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hursty Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 14 minutes ago, AyrExile said: It would be interesting to see if our analytics team study individual defensive errors that directly lead to goals. Struggling to think of any captains of teams over the years that continually made bombscare errors. Whilst any captain doesn't need to be the best player they do need to be someone the team can rely on. Not sure it sends out a good message to the fringe players who see these howlers but are still not given a chance. I'm not advocating McGinty gtf but at least he should earn his place based on performance. As it stands Bullen will try and shoehorn him in whenever possible to justify a decision. Over the piece points will be dropped until these basic errors get sorted Not sure that's entirely fair - McGinty only came back in when Musonda went to left back as Paddy was having a mare or two. And in the game v Partick when he made the sub it worked. Pretty sure if we had an on form left back and everyone fit McGinty would be on bench and Murdoch captain 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
UpInTheAyr Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 Maybe McGinty is better suited to a three on three off method, just before complacency sets in and he starts brain farting all over the place. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AuAl Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 I think the problem with McGinty is that once he makes one error he tends to just lose the head completely and doesn't look confident at all. He becomes very shaky for a full 90 minutes and we find ourselves looking vulnerable at the back. On occasions when he has come off the bench with clear instructions to help see a game out, he has been largely fine. We need to shore up the defence in January, we are largely fine up top but could also do with another centre mid. Paul Smith has had some good cameos but I would like to see us having another centre mid that can operate as more of an attacking, creative player, which would free up Murdoch/Dempsey to sit slightly further back and work as an additional shield for the defence. We seem to get overrun very easily in the middle of the park. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mod1967 Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 Get to January and see if we can add a centre half, possibly try Ecrepont for the strangely now poor Reading and for goodness sake stop this Ashford addiction, he is incredibly poor at this level. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mod1967 Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 2 minutes ago, AuAl said: I think the problem with McGinty is that once he makes one error he tends to just lose the head completely and doesn't look confident at all. He becomes very shaky for a full 90 minutes and we find ourselves looking vulnerable at the back. On occasions when he has come off the bench with clear instructions to help see a game out, he has been largely fine. We need to shore up the defence in January, we are largely fine up top but could also do with another centre mid. Paul Smith has had some good cameos but I would like to see us having another centre mid that can operate as more of an attacking, creative player, which would free up Murdoch/Dempsey to sit slightly further back and work as an additional shield for the defence. We seem to get overrun very easily in the middle of the park. Yes fully agree, also a centre mid short, possibly mean some out on loan, Ashford for me, other than running about gives zero 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
itzdrk Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 Had a tactical analyst review today's game and she doesn't see how Ashford gets a game. She also thinks that we changed back from 433 too quickly after the equaliser. Spoiler 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AuAl Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 20 minutes ago, itzdrk said: Had a tactical analyst review today's game and she doesn't see how Ashford gets a game. She also thinks that we changed back from 433 too quickly after the equaliser. Reveal hidden contents Ashford, starting? You've got to be kitten me. I'll see myself out. 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trogdor Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 16 minutes ago, AuAl said: Ashford, starting? You've got to be kitten me. I'll see myself out. Greenie for endeavour. That's like one of my jokes. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WATTOO Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 I don't agree that Ashford is anywhere near as bad as people are making out as we've had some very good team performances when Ashford has played and his work rate can't be questioned, however there's no doubt that he's suffering from a severe lack of confidence just now and some of his misses this season (and end of last) beggar belief. That said, there is no doubt though that we're at our most dangerous when when we go with Mullan right, Chalmers left (with both interchanging) and Dipo through the middle with either McKenzie or Young just behind. That gives us multiple goal threats and excellent deliveries from both sides of the park, Yes, it perhaps leaves our Midfield 2 a little light but you can't have everything and the threat that we have up top and from the flanks outweighs any sort of downside I'd say. We can only hope that Kirk's injury is not as bad as it looked and that Frankie will be back sooner rather than later, however if the worst comes to the worst I'm sure we'll manage to bring one or two in on loan, especially given our lofty position and good publicity that we've been getting. Anyway, a good point up at Inverness, our recent unbeaten run intact, still clear at the top and a wee break from league duty until early December, so really it's all pretty good....... 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibuya Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 Wonder if my main man Bangs will get a start at centre half on Monday night. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeff Venom Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 Great to be still top, good point away at Caley etc, and I'm probably being greedy, but I'm getting fair scunnered at giving teams two goals nearly every week. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thumper Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 1 hour ago, Shibuya said: Wonder if my main man Bangs will get a start at centre half on Monday night. Is there anything more Banter Years than taking the better part of four months to get a player finally signed up and then never even bothering to name him on the bench? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thumper Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 Just now, Jeff Venom said: Great to be still top, good point away at Caley etc, and I'm probably being greedy, but I'm getting fair scunnered at giving teams two goals nearly every week. Think the stat is two clean sheets all season, and two failures to score all season? If nothing else it's seldom boring even if it is often quite poor. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rb123! Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 Although it's disappointing to draw a game we've gone into the last 5 leading 2-1, i'll take the point. Considering all the times we've come back down from Inverness with f**k all a point is better than nothing. Looks like we may need to invest if January if we're serious about staying where we are, Defence needs looked at aswell as a Docherty/Adams type of midfielder missing IMO, Murdoch nor Dempsey don't really have the dirty side of work in their game which makes us iffy at times. Still unsure if the Dempsey/Murdoch pairing really works in the middle of the park tbh. Defence is a big concern now with Kirk possibly out long term and Musonda not fit yet, leaves us with BIG SEAN only CB (God help us).... If Bangala doesn't get a start next week against Pollok he's never gonna get one. Also McKenzie should be starting upfront again with Dipo, he's been chipping in with a few goals off the bench lately and has warranted being back in the starting 11 IMO. Onwards and upwards to a massive banana skin game a week on Monday night (*laughs nervously*) 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...