The Ultimate Super Ayr Thread

Just now, fullmetaljacket said:

The billy boys in full swing???

Geez peace mate, nobody was singing that.

Correct mate, It's actually called Marching throu Georgia.... like Killie throu Ayr's defensive line type thingy.

Words fail for that first 25 minutes so I'll just use this. 411026.jpg.4f952b5c1c36408891c02841d47b8719.jpg

We immediately looked better after Dempsey came on. Him and McInroy will be vital players in our remaining games.

Don't even know what Fjortoft was trying to do when he got sent off. First ever time I've seen an Ayr player subbed on to get red carded so quickly.

Edited by Oceanlineayr
Spelling error

I'm booked up for an airb&b next week, that'll be my last of the season.  

f**k knows where we will be when I'm back but tonight was a total piss take that won't be forgiven. 

We set up the same as the Raith game but we didn't want the ball for the first half hour of the game, when we won it back we got rid of it almost immediately. You can't play attacking football if you don't have the ball. 

We lacked a Mark Kerr in the middle of the park, someone that could take the speed out of the game, we were giving the ball away so cheaply and getting caught on the break constantly. 

it was a horror 15 or so minutes, The rest of the game was fairly standard, we defended well and had plenty of pressure but created zip. 

Part of me is relieved it was only 3 when it could have been so many more, I thought it was going to be at least 5 at one point, part of me is glad that Bullen made changes that improved the team and turned the performance around.  But there is still a huge effort needed for us to stay up, there are still a lot of problems with this team to be fixed to turn it around, it'll be a while before we are good to watch. 

34 minutes ago, fullmetaljacket said:

“Up to our knees in ayr blood surrender or you’ll die” is very killie-esque and takes absolutely no inspiration from the song about the killing of Catholics from the nice chaps up in govan?

Anyway enjoy your night 

11 minutes ago, AyrAtlanta said:

“Up to our knees in ayr blood surrender or you’ll die” is very killie-esque and takes absolutely no inspiration from the song about the killing of Catholics from the nice chaps up in govan?

Anyway enjoy your night 

I think you might be in huff you halfwit🖕🏻

19 minutes ago, AyrAtlanta said:

Anyway enjoy your night 

Do more angry please 🙏 

1 hour ago, fullmetaljacket said:

Could you no be arsed going the night?  

I couldn't be arsed with the last 75 minutes but heard it at least twice. 

Two utterly shite performances v them at Somerset. Certainly not what I was expecting after beating them at RP and our win v Raith last week. I was shocked how many folk were leaving, some after the 2nd goal went in. As an aside 7 Male toilets for the NT and SRE end is a disgrace for a big crowd. 

On the plus side, I think we have enough daylight between us and QOS/Dunfermline to be dragged into that relegation battle

6 minutes ago, Thereisalight.. said:

Two utterly shite performances v them at Somerset. Certainly not what I was expecting after beating them at RP and our win v Raith last week. I was shocked how many folk were leaving, some after the 2nd goal went in. As an aside 7 Male toilets for the NT and SRE end is a disgrace for a big crowd. 

On the plus side, I think we have enough daylight between us and QOS/Dunfermline to be dragged into that relegation battle

We really rallied at that point, everyone that left missed out. 

15 minutes ago, Iain said:

It's pretty depressing the way they always keep an unchanged lineup after a good result, as though Bullen thinks he's figured everything out just because things go well once. Genuinely concerned that he is struggling to assess upcoming opponents and what specific tactical and personnel changes are required on a week to week basis. Would be nice to watch a game and get some sense of a plan beyond 'play hard and run a lot'. 

Aye he seems out his depth.  

Highlight of the night was, while being escorted to the first aid room in the away end, seeing some woman trying to get into the game at half-time by telling stewards at the gate "ah swear oan my weans life that ahve goat a ticket".

As for what I managed to see of the game - first 20 minutes were a disgrace and it looked like Killie could score as many as they wanted. The tactics and team selection were a massive blunder from Bullen. They were shockingly bad. Also, Fjortoft is a supermassive diddy, and I wouldn't be unhappy if he never played for us again. 

I missed our goal for reasons mentioned in the match thread. Second half was much better, but coming back from 3-1 down with ten men is a big ask and the game was basically done long before then.

Anyway, I'd like to thank the staff for looking after my friend, and for letting us see the delights of the away end on derby night.

4 hours ago, diegomarahenry said:

From kick-off, Ayr looked completely lost in the occasion, no one put their foot on the ball, we just lumped it forward, played it out the park or just gave it away. Midfield was completely overran and changes had to be made. Normally to make changes after a second goal goes in is standard, however, when the third goes in after 17 minutes its understandable changes weren't made before then. Maxwell hadn't touched the ball when he came off, McKenzie was slightly better. 

For a period, I thought Fjortoft was possibly the dopiest player we have had since Allan Gillespie and David Smythe. A clumsy big fanny that keeps making stupid challenges,  however, he probably saved us going 4-0 down by getting sent off. 

If we hadn't scored I'd have left at half time, we didn't look like scoring, we looked like we'd concede another 3-4 easy. 

Once we scored, the game changed, Kilmarnock were dreadful at the back and we started to take control of the game, We were still horrifically disjointed going forward but were playing on the front foot. 

Both Kilmarnock fullbacks were very bad but we had taken off any wide threat by the point we were attacking and our main threat was from McGinty and Muirhead pushing up the park and playing balls in to the box, we were almost playing a back two of Reading and Baird at points. 

442 was a failure, in hindsight, dropping Maxwell or McKenzie for Dempsey and playing 4312 might have been better. Playing the two up front should have been the case but it should have came with sacrificing a forward player rather than a midfielder.  

That will be you in your element..... Ayr making a genuine mess of a game 😂😂😂...and playing shite lol

I genuily think u enjoy the misery of when ayr are shite lol

I seriously doubt the difference playing a 4-3-3 would’ve made when you offer up the kind of defending we did for the three goals. I think had we not completely shit the bed in that regard, the game would’ve settled down and so would we. Whether or not we would’ve ended up winning is a different matter entirely. But I don’t think we lost last night because of how we set up.

Saying that, I probably would change it for next week. Adeloye looked a bit fucked when he came out the tunnel towards the end of the game so I’d imagine we’ll revert to a 4-3-3 with Ashford leading the line against Arbroath.

10 minutes ago, D'Jaffo said:

I seriously doubt the difference playing a 4-3-3 would’ve made when you offer up the kind of defending we did for the three goals. I think had we not completely shit the bed in that regard, the game would’ve settled down and so would we. Whether or not we would’ve ended up winning is a different matter entirely. But I don’t think we lost last night because of how we set up.

Saying that, I probably would change it for next week. Adeloye looked a bit fucked when he came out the tunnel towards the end of the game so I’d imagine we’ll revert to a 4-3-3 with Ashford leading the line against Arbroath.

Yeah that's probably fair. Having watched the highlights back, I'm leaning very much towards it being our calamitous defending that cost us. I still think having Dempsey in there as well would have given us more control and composure in the middle, but if we had just defended properly we wouldn't have found ourselves in the position we were. Killie punished us and took their chances so the game was done before we could settle. It's incredibly frustrating as the defence had been holding up well recently.

20 minutes ago, D'Jaffo said:

I think you are probably right, they may have ran over the top of us a little less but the goals didn’t come from that (the first was caused by numerous individual errors as well) 

If Adeloye is injured then I’m concerned as Ashford up top himself doesn’t get us up the park nearly enough. I don’t know what the alternative is though, if Tomi is out.