The Ultimate Super Ayr Thread

1 hour ago, Jazzar said:

As stated, I'll not be giving any PPV money to those money-grabbers at Tyncastle when we play them there - but equally I'm not going to deprive my club of any funds so if we're still not allowed to attend matches by the time we're due to play them there on Boxing Day (seems likely), I'll send the equivalent amount to the au500fund

Where the sun disnae shine, Hertz. Where the sun disnae shine.    

Your club wouldn't have got a single penny from your attendance at Tynecastle whether you could or couldn't go. They aren't being deprived of anything.

42 minutes ago, rb123! said:

See Sturgeon has kicked the can further down the road regarding fans returning.

Looks like it'll be waiting until a vaccine until everyone can get back to game and in the meantime crowds of 300 in Tier 2 will be a case of take it or leave it. 

Very disappointing, if they're going with that attitude then they must give us huge financial support to assist the clubs.

Annoys me also that Sturgeon seems to have put the blinkers over other contributing factors football fans have to Scotland's economy with the expenditure on likes of transport to get to games and then pubs, restaurants and catering facilities. Pretty sure some recent study said football fans contribute £444m a year to Scotland's economy.

Surely you aren’t surprised by this? Sturgeon and her clown shoes government have jumped from cluster f**k to cluster f**k during this pandemic. 

6 hours ago, shinglis said:

Oh tell me more 🙂 

IPTV App, download it on to a firestick, pay a dodgy character you know £40 - £70 per year for the code and that's you, just plug and play with a USB port on your TV and you've got unlimited access to virtually every channel in the world.

HD, 4K, HDR, Sports, movies, movies on demand, every series box set that you can think of plus netflix, prime, LIVE TV and a few others.

All Sky Channels (including ppv content), BT Sport, Premier Sports, LA Liga tv, Bein Sports (reunited with Richard & Andy) plus a host of others. You also have every club in Englands streaming sites free of charge plus the Scottish Premier.

It's all good.....

Surely you aren’t surprised by this? Sturgeon and her clown shoes government have jumped from cluster f**k to cluster f**k during this pandemic. 
Not entirely but thought numbers might have been allowed to go up a bit. Also they need money because no club forecasted playing without fans for a whole season, this now seems a formality.

No government in the UK has handled this well, all as bad as each other, should all be imprisoned for causing avoidable deaths IMO.

I think the answer is somewhere in the middle in terms of the SPFL/Scottish Government. 

The SPFL can legitimately ask certain questions but their open letter is appalling. 

However, in tier one (I think this could be extended to tier two) there is absolutely no reason for the limit of fans allowed to be attending to be 300. 10 or 20% of capacity would be fine. 

2 hours ago, rb123! said:

Not entirely but thought numbers might have been allowed to go up a bit. Also they need money because no club forecasted playing without fans for a whole season, this now seems a formality.

No government in the UK has handled this well, all as bad as each other, should all be imprisoned for causing avoidable deaths IMO.

How many times.........

The clubs were told to expect no supporters till 2021 and then a limited number after that. Whilst I'll grant you they probably assumed more than 300, the clubs were well informed how bad it may be and should absolutely have been budgeting for it. They chose to play anyway and will need to deal with it. The League should have been parked to January IMO but clubs wanted to get started.

1 hour ago, Skyline Drifter said:

How many times.........

The clubs were told to expect no supporters till 2021 and then a limited number after that. Whilst I'll grant you they probably assumed more than 300, the clubs were well informed how bad it may be and should absolutely have been budgeting for it. They chose to play anyway and will need to deal with it. The League should have been parked to January IMO but clubs wanted to get started.

If they had delayed the season until January most clubs would probably have had to make employees redundant, since at the time the furlough scheme was scheduled to be withdrawn at the end of October. It was extended reasonably close to the original withdrawal date.

Edited by RedEd

2 hours ago, rb123! said:

They should lift restrictions to allow folk to go to the football

Also

They should jail them for not enough restrictions.

Doncaster should switch on the news and see what is happening globally then look at the cases in Scotland and not open his mouth in public about the situation, his dangerous rabble rousing statements are ignorant at best and I would like to know who keeps pushing him forward to make them. I wouldn't be surprised if he ends up with a peerage in the next 2 years. 

The roadmap to fans being allowed in is clear, since the introduction, the majority of the population have moved from level three to level four, infection levels are higher than his last outburst. They haven't came down since the return of schools and Uni's and the eat out to help out massacre.  Things are moving in the wrong direction to meet the criteria set out to him a month ago.

It was made clear what was needed and it hasn't happened, Not only in Scotland but also in every country in the world, fans are not allowed in. Even countries that allowed a return have now reversed that. 

Doncaster should concern himself with making sure clubs are ready to allow fans back in and making sure all the infrastructure is in place so that it doesn't turn in to a shambles.

They had the opportunity to have a shorter season, delaying the start, mothballing etc but the premier league decided on a start in August, a full season and both cups. Some clubs made promises of discounts to fans for season tickets for games they couldn't watch in the flesh with no idea how many games that would be. Now they are complaining they are losing money. 

There has been no contingency put in place for a shorter season if required, Or if one or more clubs decided they couldn't continue this season like many junior clubs. 

English clubs have larger stadiums, they have over 40 league grounds with a capacity over 20 thousand and they would be allowed 10% capacity maximum, It goes up in smaller grounds but 50% capacity up to 2000 spectators wouldn't help Premier teams even if it was applied in Scotland, taking in to account season ticket holders, no catering, stewarding costs etc, so again, I am sure Doncaster is aware of all of this so I am not sure why he has decided to complain about it. 

11 minutes ago, diegomarahenry said:

They should lift restrictions to allow folk to go to the football

Also

They should jail them for not enough restrictions.

Doncaster should switch on the news and see what is happening globally then look at the cases in Scotland and not open his mouth in public about the situation, his dangerous rabble rousing statements are ignorant at best and I would like to know who keeps pushing him forward to make them. I wouldn't be surprised if he ends up with a peerage in the next 2 years. 

The roadmap to fans being allowed in is clear, since the introduction, the majority of the population have moved from level three to level four, infection levels are higher than his last outburst. They haven't came down since the return of schools and Uni's and the eat out to help out massacre.  Things are moving in the wrong direction to meet the criteria set out to him a month ago.

It was made clear what was needed and it hasn't happened, Not only in Scotland but also in every country in the world, fans are not allowed in. Even countries that allowed a return have now reversed that. 

Doncaster should concern himself with making sure clubs are ready to allow fans back in and making sure all the infrastructure is in place so that it doesn't turn in to a shambles.

They had the opportunity to have a shorter season, delaying the start, mothballing etc but the premier league decided on a start in August, a full season and both cups. Some clubs made promises of discounts to fans for season tickets for games they couldn't watch in the flesh with no idea how many games that would be. Now they are complaining they are losing money. 

There has been no contingency put in place for a shorter season if required, Or if one or more clubs decided they couldn't continue this season like many junior clubs. 

English clubs have larger stadiums, they have over 40 league grounds with a capacity over 20 thousand and they would be allowed 10% capacity maximum, It goes up in smaller grounds but 50% capacity up to 2000 spectators wouldn't help Premier teams even if it was applied in Scotland, taking in to account season ticket holders, no catering, stewarding costs etc, so again, I am sure Doncaster is aware of all of this so I am not sure why he has decided to complain about it. 

His time could certainly be far better spent arguing for a return of 10% of stadium capacity in tier one areas, instead of whatever that letter was meant to achieve. There is an argument for that - not so much for fans in tier three/four areas. 

48 minutes ago, No_Problemo said:

His time could certainly be far better spent arguing for a return of 10% of stadium capacity in tier one areas, instead of whatever that letter was meant to achieve. There is an argument for that - not so much for fans in tier three/four areas. 

He was arguing that Scottish fans should be treated the same as English fans which is 50% capacity up to 2000 fans in the lowest tier. Pittodrie holds 22,000 so would be below 10% Inverness and Ross County would be allowed the full 2000 in based on Ross County (6500 30%) and Inverness (7500 26%) So the same amount of fans would be allowed in to a stadium 3x smaller. Borough Briggs is 4500 and Elgin City would still be entitled to 2000 fans under these rules. That doesn't seem sensible to me. 

While the legislation would no doubt help at least two clubs currently,  I am not sure the proposals are entirely transferable to Scottish stadiums. Aberdeen would need well over the season ticketed amount to turn over any cash not already in the bank. The last regions to come out of restrictions will be in the central belt purely because of density of population and that will include at a guess, 80% of the paying footballing public. 

With Christmas coming, the undoubted rise in cases as a result and an impending vaccine, the best case scenario in my mind would be a phased return by March for home crowds only, maybe 10% to begin with for clubs in the central belt. Those outwith the central belt, infection rates dependent, maybe 30-50% until the end of the season. The longer this goes on, the more chance it could impact next season so unlocking things to early could bugger us up for longer. 

2 hours ago, RedEd said:

If they had delayed the season until January most clubs would probably have had to make employees redundant, since at the time the furlough scheme was scheduled to be withdrawn at the end of October. It was extended reasonably close to the original withdrawal date.

And.......

How many times.........

Any chance you could keep your condescending, sanctimonious pish to yourself? You’re obviously in a privileged position to work in & around Palmerston, and are therefore privy to rules & regulations that most of us pay scant attention to, we just want 3 points come Saturday. Your input & attention to detail is most welcome but your sense of mastery can get tae f**k.

9 hours ago, diegomarahenry said:

He was arguing that Scottish fans should be treated the same as English fans which is 50% capacity up to 2000 fans in the lowest tier. Pittodrie holds 22,000 so would be below 10% Inverness and Ross County would be allowed the full 2000 in based on Ross County (6500 30%) and Inverness (7500 26%) So the same amount of fans would be allowed in to a stadium 3x smaller. Borough Briggs is 4500 and Elgin City would still be entitled to 2000 fans under these rules. That doesn't seem sensible to me. 

While the legislation would no doubt help at least two clubs currently,  I am not sure the proposals are entirely transferable to Scottish stadiums. Aberdeen would need well over the season ticketed amount to turn over any cash not already in the bank. The last regions to come out of restrictions will be in the central belt purely because of density of population and that will include at a guess, 80% of the paying footballing public. 

With Christmas coming, the undoubted rise in cases as a result and an impending vaccine, the best case scenario in my mind would be a phased return by March for home crowds only, maybe 10% to begin with for clubs in the central belt. Those outwith the central belt, infection rates dependent, maybe 30-50% until the end of the season. The longer this goes on, the more chance it could impact next season so unlocking things to early could bugger us up for longer. 

Yes, it’s not remotely comparable to England - Doncaster just needs to do everything in the worst manner possible. 

What he could do is provide examples of how Scottish lower league teams could allow entry to their entire fan base completely safely (assuming most around 10% of capacity) 

Next season should be fine if the Scottish government are correct around vaccines. Given they want to have everyone vulnerable vaccinated by the end of January I would like to think we could start getting a few hundred into Somerset from February. 

1 hour ago, No_Problemo said:

Yes, it’s not remotely comparable to England - Doncaster just needs to do everything in the worst manner possible. 

What he could do is provide examples of how Scottish lower league teams could allow entry to their entire fan base completely safely (assuming most around 10% of capacity) 

Next season should be fine if the Scottish government are correct around vaccines. Given they want to have everyone vulnerable vaccinated by the end of January I would like to think we could start getting a few hundred into Somerset from February. 

If guidelines are clear to the wider society, so number of households that can mix etc, the matchday experience can be tailored to meet it. 

If you identified who you go with, and what households that mixed, you could be allocated a barrier or seat, a gate to enter by and a time to enter. All workable. The only concern would be with the fans not sticking to the guidelines. 

You still get smoke bombs in grounds, you still get folk smoking under the roof, people turning up drunk, smuggling bottles in etc and I don't doubt that people would break any rules in place during this. There has to be something set out to punish the individuals rather than the clubs......if the clubs have followed guidance. 

I could see, a maximum of four people to a barrier, say there is 150 barriers in Somerset, that is 600 standing plus another 100 - 200 people in the stand. That would be completely safe in tier one. 

12 minutes ago, diegomarahenry said:

If you identified who you go with, and what households that mixed, you could be allocated a barrier or seat, a gate to enter by and a time to enter. All workable. The only concern would be with the fans not sticking to the guidelines. 

You still get smoke bombs in grounds, you still get folk smoking under the roof, people turning up drunk, smuggling bottles in etc and I don't doubt that people would break any rules in place during this. There has to be something set out to punish the individuals rather than the clubs......if the clubs have followed guidance. 

And this is the reason why it won’t happen.

Scottish football fans have shown themselves to generally be arseholes. We can’t stick to age old laws like no bottles/cans, no pyrotechnics, no booze in the stadium and not entering the field of play.

Add to the fact that since Covid hit people have ignored some of the restrictions when it suits them.

What faith would the government have that fans could behave. Even With stiff penalties, when some people go to the football they lose all concept of right, wrong and stupid.

Edited by Hazbart