The Ultimate Super Ayr Thread

24 minutes ago, diegomarahenry said:

The new council are triumphantly hailing the cancellation of the new leisure centre as saving a fortune. 

Aye, fair enough but you have just left 3/4 of Ayr high street derelict and the other quarter a shitehole with now no plan to improve it. 

Should turn it into council offices to replace Burns House but seems all this working from home pish means the council don't need to replace the office space lost. 

Edited by rb123!

24 minutes ago, Richey Edwards said:

Sign of the times tbh.

Online shopping, streaming services and big supermarkets have killed the High Street.

High Street has taking a hit from online shopping, but if you compare the likes of Dumfries, Stirling and similar other towns, Ayr has taking a battering. 

2 minutes ago, THEHonestman1910 said:

High Street has taking a hit from online shopping, but if you compare the likes of Dumfries, Stirling and similar other towns, Ayr has taking a battering. 

I've never been to Dumfries. They say that place is cursed.

Last time I was in Stirling, my trousers got insulted so I haven't been back.

Edited by Richey Edwards

Anyone going to Vision night check your email as there are instructions for tomorrow 

You need your ticket either printed version or on your mobile to gain entry as they are being scanned at door 

Just now, Finlay21 said:

Anyone going to Vision night check your email as there are instructions for tomorrow 

You need your ticket either printed version or on your mobile to gain entry as they are being scanned at door 

Is there a dress code?

1 hour ago, Richey Edwards said:

Online shopping, streaming services and big supermarkets have killed the High Street.

This applies everywhere in the world. Ayr's decline from a busy and vibrant high street to a ghost town in 20 years is unique. Every Tory in Ayr should be escorted into the sea.

1 hour ago, Richey Edwards said:

TBH The Citadel's best days are behind it. A new leisure centre in the town centre would have been great.

The Citadel in its post-Ayr-Baths configuration is less than 30 years old. That it's considered no longer fit for purpose because the worst council in the universe found it difficult to park their Range Rovers would be considered the most appalling mismanagement imaginable if not for what happened to Ayr Hospital.

Edited by Thumper

1 minute ago, North Terrace Gazza said:

Which party has been running south Ayrshire council?

The rot set in well before I left, which was in 2015. Admittedly nothing since helped to halt the decline but the town was put to the sword by the Tories.

2 hours ago, Crawford said:

Completely unrelated, but where's the good spots to eat/takeaways in ayr?

Headed to Craig Tara for a week soon with the kids.

Also f**k Kilmarnock. 

Ayr is not as bad as some people make out , coming into Doonfoot from Craig Tara you have a couple of good takeaways at the Co op on your left , chippy/pizza and Indian , both decent . Next up a few hundred metres is the Balgarth Pines , great beer garden, good food . On the bridge just along the road is the Secret Garden , good snacks and  lunches , got a cracking deck over the River Doon . Push on about a mile and you have the Chestnuts Hotel , very good food and beer garden , few hundred metres from Ayr Beach . Nearby The Chestnuts is the Fox and Willow , great food , best beer garden in town . The toen centre you have The Maridian , good food cafe bar , Smiths cheep food . You also have The Treehouse which has great food and its own boozer The T Bar ,buzzing night spot , bands 2am etc . The prices are tasty though . If you just want a geezers boozer : Tam O’Shanters , Wee Windows , Billy Bridges .... 

4 year ago this month work begun to secure the Station Hotel and it's still got it's white dome on it now.

Shows how much work the numpties have made in the last 4 years to resolve it instead of paying over £60k per month to hire the scaffolding, the company that own the scaffolding will be laughing all the way to the bank!

They're all as bad as each other, councils should be run by local people with no ties to party politics