The Ultimate Super Ayr Thread

Stevie Lawless has quit Motherwell. Not sure how this works with the transfer rules. If he leaves a club between windows is he technically a free transfer or does he have to wait until January? 

When things like this happen, they normally have a move abroad lined up. Or a move to Thistle because McCall would have been in his ear already. 

Think he is a winger which wouldn’t be the number one priority. 

2 minutes ago, diegomarahenry said:

Stevie Lawless has quit Motherwell. Not sure how this works with the transfer rules. If he leaves a club between windows is he technically a free transfer or does he have to wait until January? 

When things like this happen, they normally have a move abroad lined up. Or a move to Thistle because McCall would have been in his ear already. 

Yes he needs to wait till January and won’t end up here as he would want way too much imo

13 minutes ago, diegomarahenry said:

He can't go anywhere with a currently closed window. He can't join another Scottish side until January 1st.

Whole thing is very odd because it's largely pointless. Given he can't go anywhere else then, unless he's emigrating somewhere with an open window currently, there's nothing to be gained from him leaving before 1st January. Suggests there's either been a massive fall out in the background and Alexander just doesn't want him there any more, or there's some sort of non-football issue nobody knows about yet that means he's going to be unavailable anyway. And whatever is the cause has presumably come about in the last fortnight because he could at least have gone on loan to a Championship side up to 30th September instead.

Edited by Skyline Drifter

35 minutes ago, Skyline Drifter said:

He can't go anywhere with a currently closed window. He can't join another Scottish side until January 1st.

Whole thing is very odd because it's largely pointless. Given he can't go anywhere else then, unless he's emigrating somewhere with an open window currently, there's nothing to be gained from him leaving before 1st January. Suggests there's either been a massive fall out in the background and Alexander just doesn't want him there any more, or there's some sort of non-football issue nobody knows about yet that means he's going to be unavailable anyway. And whatever is the cause has presumably come about in the last fortnight because he could at least have gone on loan to a Championship side up to 30th September instead.

A lot of Motherwell fans are posting under the club tweet that they are glad he is away. It’s possible he’s daft and has just chucked it 3 months before the next window opens. 

I would think he’ll have a move that suits him sorted out, Australia or India, something like that. 

Having a wee look at where Scotland are playing tonight, Torshavn Stadium, actually looks a nice wee stadium. Holds 5000, which might not look like much compared to larger attendances here in Scotland.

My thought process was:

Population of Ayr = 46780 (Estimated 2020)

Population of the Faroe Islands = 48000 (Estimated 2020)

It's a plastic pitch, which I'm personally not fond of 🙄 However, it would be amazing to see Ayr have a neat wee stadium similar to this in the future. A Nice wee ground with the atmosphere of Somerset park 😊 

maxresdefault.jpg

Edited by Roxanne's man

12 minutes ago, diegomarahenry said:

A lot of Motherwell fans are posting under the club tweet that they are glad he is away. It’s possible he’s daft and has just chucked it 3 months before the next window opens. 

I would think he’ll have a move that suits him sorted out, Australia or India, something like that. 

You'd think it's likely. I've no idea if India has a currently open transfer window. Looks like Australia's is open for another 3 days so you could be on to something there.

1 hour ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Fwiw, he's not kicked a ball for us since 14th August and hasn't been in a match day squad since August 21st when we beat Livi. We signed Jordan Roberts on loan on deadline day so that bumped him even further down the pecking order. I get the impression his card has been marked since pretty early on in the season.

He's clearly a massively disliked player in terms of the fanbase. A quick glance at the Twitter comments re: his departure and the fact the club actually turned off comments on the IG post tell you all you need to know.

It feels a bit like he's been working his ticket tbh. He just doesn't seem like the type of character that Alexander would want around the club and he's been miles away from the first team. He was given an opportunity to stake a claim in the League Cup games but barely made an impact...then of course he was caught on camera in the crowd at Ibrox for the Malmö game.

He supposedly came back up the road because his family didn't settle down South so I'd be surprised if he's looking at options abroad (especially given he was, as of yesterday, Motherwell's 7th pick forward). Reading between the lines it looks like he's just been paid up and told to f**k off please.

Edited by capt_oats

14 minutes ago, capt_oats said:

Fwiw, he's not kicked a ball for us since 14th August and hasn't been in a match day squad since August 21st when we beat Livi. We signed Jordan Roberts on loan on deadline day so that bumped him even further down the pecking order. I get the impression his card has been marked since pretty early on in the season.

He's clearly a massively disliked player in terms of the fanbase. A quick glance at the Twitter comments re: his departure and the fact the club actually turned off comments on the IG post tell you all you need to know.

It feels a bit like he's been working his ticket tbh. He just doesn't seem like the type of character that Alexander would want around the club and he's been miles away from the first team. He was given an opportunity to stake a claim in the League Cup games but barely made an impact...then of course he was caught on camera in the crowd at Ibrox for the Malmö game.

He supposedly came back up the road because his family didn't settle down South so I'd be surprised if he's looking at options abroad (especially given he was, as of yesterday, Motherwell's 7th pick forward). Reading between the lines it looks like he's just been paid up and told to f**k off please.

Yeah, I get that. But unless something's changed significantly in the last fortnight, if he's not happy and Alexander doesn't want him there and he's settled in Scotland, why not punt him on loan to January to an Ayr United or a Partick Thistle for a couple of hundred quid a week? He's playing / training full time elsewhere and not darkening the doors at Fir Park and there's at least a little underwriting of his wage. He can be paid up in January and decide his next move as a free agent. The fact he's binned completely 11 or 12 days later implies there's been a bigger bust up in the meantime.

1 minute ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Yeah, I get that. But unless something's changed significantly in the last fortnight, if he's not happy and Alexander doesn't want him there and he's settled in Scotland, why not punt him on loan to January to an Ayr United or a Partick Thistle for a couple of hundred quid a week? He's playing / training full time elsewhere and not darkening the doors at Fir Park and there's at least a little underwriting of his wage. He can be paid up in January and decide his next move as a free agent. The fact he's binned completely 11 or 12 days later implies there's been a bigger bust up in the meantime.

Aye, the only thing I'd guess is that we may not have wanted to give him an easy out if we were of the view that he was ripping the pish. That doesn't seem a stance where we "exist to improve people's lives" but I suppose it depends on what sort of pay off he was angling for as well.

I could see the economics working in our favour if we've paid him in full until January rather than getting a couple of hundred quid from an Ayr or Thistle until the end of the season.

Who knows though? Either way, don't let the door hit you on the way out Steven.

From the way it seemed to be playing out I was genuinely surprised he wasn't loaned out before the lower league deadline. Instead he ended up in the official team photo for the season.

I notice Burrows hasn't even acknowledged his leaving on his Twitter. Normally he'd QT with an "didn't really work out but all the best" type thing.

47 minutes ago, Roxanne's man said:

Having a wee look at where Scotland are playing tonight, Torshavn Stadium, actually looks a nice wee stadium. Holds 5000, which might not look like much compared to larger attendances here in Scotland.

My thought process was:

It's a plastic pitch, which I'm personally not fond of 🙄 However, it would be amazing to see Ayr have a neat wee stadium similar to this in the future. A Nice wee ground with the atmosphere of Somerset park 😊 

maxresdefault.jpg

Yeah, this looks nice.  I like the closed in corners, the double-tiered seating and boxes behind the goals (although would add cost) and the modern floodlights - always like to see a sexy floodlight pylon (sad I know).  Only thing I'd maybe change would be to have terracing behind the goals (or behind one of the goals) for better atmosphere.

Totally agree, this sort of thing would be ideal for towns or towns with catchment areas around the size of Ayr, Kilmarnock, Motherwell, Inverness, Kircaldy, Dunfermline, Falkirk, Stirling, Greenock, Dumfries etc (really hoping I don't spark a population debate here).  I don't see the point in having larger capacity stadiums approaching the 10,000 mark which are only fully used once in a blue moon when the likes of the OF, Hearts etc come to visit (although in Ayr's case you have the additional case of derbies with your dear pals from Rugby Park).  Palmerston is rarely used to capacity now and I've seen some cracking atmospheres in there with crowds around the 4 - 6,000 mark over the years which is enough.  Otherwise you get saddled with a big stadium which mostly sits empty and struggles to generate any kind of atmosphere during "normal" games.

The Torshavn model is ideal for me.  That stand along the side of the pitch looks fairly similar to what we have at Palmerston already (maybe a couple of rows more in height), although it looks a bit steeper.  We should be making the matchday experience more comfortable, a good mix of seating and standing to cater for young and old, good cover, quality lighting, decent toilets, decent refreshment kiosks and safe entry/exit routes.  As we all know, the problem is how to fund all this in Scotland.  Multiple use community stadiums with some kind of local government funding input would have to be part of the mix I think - but of course local government is also cash strapped.  Wish I had the answers.

1 hour ago, Roxanne's man said:

My thought process was:

maxresdefault.jpg

If we've got any ambition at all, then we'd need to be aiming for around 8,000 at a minimum.

I agree that currently we're only pulling in 2,000 - 3,000 crowds in total, however were we to advance to the Premier then we'd really need a minimum of 8,000 in order to accommodate the likes of Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen, the ugly sisters and of course matches against our Ayrshire neighbours.

41 minutes ago, capt_oats said:

I could see the economics working in our favour if we've paid him in full until January rather than getting a couple of hundred quid from an Ayr or Thistle until the end of the season.

You're assuming he wasn't paid up in full and you could have got him out for nil cost in January? That's a significant reach.

Also no need for the loan to a Championship side to run to the end of season. Just run it to Jan 1st and then re-address the options at that point. It's about 12 weeks.

Like I said, to do what they have makes little sense. They have to have paid him up to January at least but in all likelihood he's got more than that to terminate what is I presume a contract that had around 8 months to run (if he was contracted next season as well even more). Could easily have got a few thousand pounds in through to the next window. Unless he's physically unfit and therefore nobody would take him I suppose.

5 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

Yeah, this looks nice.  I like the closed in corners, the double-tiered seating and boxes behind the goals (although would add cost) and the modern floodlights - always like to see a sexy floodlight pylon (sad I know).  Only thing I'd maybe change would be to have terracing behind the goals (or behind one of the goals) for better atmosphere.

Totally agree, this sort of thing would be ideal for towns or towns with catchment areas around the size of Ayr, Kilmarnock, Motherwell, Inverness, Kircaldy, Dunfermline, Falkirk, Stirling, Greenock, Dumfries etc (really hoping I don't spark a population debate here).  I don't see the point in having larger capacity stadiums approaching the 10,000 mark which are only fully used once in a blue moon when the likes of the OF, Hearts etc come to visit (although in Ayr's case you have the additional case of derbies with your dear pals from Rugby Park).  Palmerston is rarely used to capacity now and I've seen some cracking atmospheres in there with crowds around the 4 - 6,000 mark over the years which is enough.  Otherwise you get saddled with a big stadium which mostly sits empty and struggles to generate any kind of atmosphere during "normal" games.

The Torshavn model is ideal for me.  That stand along the side of the pitch looks fairly similar to what we have at Palmerston already (maybe a couple of rows more in height), although it looks a bit steeper.  We should be making the matchday experience more comfortable, a good mix of seating and standing to cater for young and old, good cover, quality lighting, decent toilets, decent refreshment kiosks and safe entry/exit routes.  As we all know, the problem is how to fund all this in Scotland.  Multiple use community stadiums with some kind of local government funding input would have to be part of the mix I think - but of course local government is also cash strapped.  Wish I had the answers.

I get where you're coming from but for the majority I'd reckon these things all come pretty far down the list when deciding whether or not to attend the football on a Saturday (despite the many myths).

I know from myself and others that some of our most memorable matches are at the old Broomfield, Brockville, the old Douglas Park, the old Rugby park, Cappielow and of course Somerset (which we all know hasn't changed much over the years). Similarly, some of my most forgettable matches have been at Almondvale (or whatever it's called this week) and Broadwood.

I'd also go as far as to say that one of the worst and lowest quality matches I've ever attended was Skonto Riga v Jurmala in the Latvian national stadium in Riga (which was great), however it's the football which makes it for me and not the facilities as that's not why we're there.

It's a bit like the Golf, most of us remember an outing or a course because of the pace of the greens, how well manicured the fairways and tees are etc as opposed to the meal we got in the clubhouse or the decor etc and I just feel the football is much the same.

Don't get me wrong, if we could combine quality of play, nice surrounds and a good atmosphere then that would be a real winner (like many German grounds), however the actual football and the interaction with my friends remains the number one priorities for me and way ahead of seating, toilet facilities or the pie shop but that's just me maybe ??

2 hours ago, diegomarahenry said:

No thank you. 

1 hour ago, Roxanne's man said:

My thought process was:

maxresdefault.jpg

No thanks. 

If we've got any ambition at all, then we'd need to be aiming for around 8,000 at a minimum.
I agree that currently we're only pulling in 2,000 - 3,000 crowds in total, however were we to advance to the Premier then we'd really need a minimum of 8,000 in order to accommodate the likes of Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen, the ugly sisters and of course matches against our Ayrshire neighbours.

Just had a look at your attendances this season after reading this. Was about to take my hat off to your support if 2/3000 crowds will still attending despite your start to the season. As expected you haven't got anywhere close to those figures.

An 8000 capacity stadium would be a ridiculous build IMO. You'd be willing to go to a quarter full lego brick stadium most weeks just to accommodate a handful of bigger clubs? f**k that.

28 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

Just had a look at your attendances this season after reading this. Was about to take my hat off to your support if 2/3000 crowds will still attending despite your start to the season. As expected you haven't got anywhere close to those figures.

An 8000 capacity stadium would be a ridiculous build IMO. You'd be willing to go to a quarter full lego brick stadium most weeks just to accommodate a handful of bigger clubs? f**k that.

We have a 10,000 stadium, but I think that is reliant on putting additional temporary toilets in the away end. Otherwise it is 8,000 I think. The problem with the Somerset is that people want to stand in the same part. So any crowds over 2500 and it is a pain in the arse to try and see anything from behind the goals or around the half way line. 

From what Smith is saying, he wants to keep the aesthetics of Somerset but also cater to fans who maybe want to have a bit more comfort. That may mean losing the side terrace as a stand or something like that but I doubt there will be any wholesale changes to Somerset in the next 20 years. 

In a fantasy land, if we were to build a new stadium, I'd like one like FK Pardubice's new planned Stadium. It has a 5000 capacity, the stands are raised like Hamiltons allowing for shops and office space below. 

letni_stadion_pardubice09.jpg.c85e2278a5072b07c93d703fd3e68f2d.jpg

42 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

8000 capacity stadium would be a ridiculous build IMO. You'd be willing to go to a quarter full lego brick stadium most weeks just to accommodate a handful of bigger clubs? f**k that.

I sort of Agree 🤔

I'm just a fan at the end of the day and have no say in a literal stadium being built for Ayr. Personally I quite like the historic feel around Somerset park, though there is a realisation that the stadium may at one point have to be improved or rebuilt.

Seeing Somerset packed a few seasons back, when the new rangers were coming through the leagues, made me think a higher attendance number than necessary. 

I think 5000 would be enough. 8000 for if we were solely relying on drawing in bigger crowds every other week. However, having a look at the attendance of the premiership out with the Glasgow two, 5000/6000 seems like a good amount.

That was all from just looking at the Faroe Islands national stadium though, which does look like the sort of thing that would be fitting of Ayr United 😊