What Happens if Cove Go Up?

honestman54

1 hour ago, Jacksgranda said:

Unlike the SPFL, the Highland and Lowland leagues are regional leagues (the clue is in their names) so it would make no sense for Cowdenbeath to go into the Highland League. (Say, heaven forbid, Ayr United finished bottom of League Two at some point and lost the play off to a HL team, would it make sense for Ayr to drop into the HL?)

I asked you a question too, care to answer?

1 hour ago, HibeeJibee said:

OP was pretty close tbf.

Cowdenbeath will be relegated into the Highland League, Cove promoted into the Lowland League, Berwick placed in the League of Gentlemen and Ayr Utd moved to 20,000 Leagues under the Sea.

Will the Fifers have to reinvent themselves into Highland-Cow-Denbeath can just imagine a huge set of horns over the entrance to Central Park :thumsup2

2 hours ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

More insults from an "intelligent debater". Very good.

I'll make it simple. In your original post you asked what happens if Cove Rangers get promoted to the Lowland League. There is no way this can happen; it's preposterous, that's why people ripped you for it.

If CR win the league, and as it appears, Cowden go down, then Cowden would go into the LL. The line dividing the country is approximately at the latitude of the river Tay. The HL would either run with 17 or admit a new member, for example Banks o' Dee. The LL would relegate two teams to the EoS/SoS as opposed to one, in order to remain capped at 16.

Now calm doon.

1 hour ago, honestman54 said:

Yes but you havent answered the question.  Where do HL get a replacement team from for their league. - That is what the question was if you all could read and understand.

You sure about that champ?

6 hours ago, honestman54 said:

Hi, this may have been mentioned and answered before but I cant find it but what happens in the Highland league if Cove Rangers get promoted to the Lowland League?  Who will fill the gap or will Cove ensure that they dont go up?

Nice edit. For someone who "understands the pyramid system" what do you think you got wrong most, Cowdenbeath getting demoted to the Highland League or Cove Rangers getting promoted to the Lowland League? I wouldn't ask but you said you reported everyone for questioning the accuracy of your premise.

Edited by welshbairn

The OP has been at this before, he's on the wind up or a bit spectral.

On 06/11/2017 at 21:11, honestman54 said:

Hi, I was wondering if there is any though around the Highland league to developing a promotion/relegation structure below it.  I just wondered as if Cowdenbeath were to be relegated from League 2, they would almost certainly select to play in the Highland League.  If that happened, how would they cope?

Edited by welshbairn

6 hours ago, Ginaro said:

The Lowland League rules mention 56.4513N as the dividing line - which means all Dundee clubs are Highland League, but St Johnstone (and Jeanfield Swifts from the East Superleague) would be in the Lowland League.

So, north and south of the Tay then.

Is this thread just a remake of 42" lcd TV for £50?

Actually laughing at half of you c***s that yous didn't understand the question.

http://‎www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php?/topic/86823-42-inch-lcd-tv-for-£50/

... what happens in the Highland league if Cove Rangers get promoted to the Lowland League?  Who will fill the gap or will Cove ensure that they dont go up?

What morons you all are... I asked a simple question...

I am well aware how the pyramid works... It would have been sensible ( I thought) that if Cowdenbeath lost a final to Cove then Cowdenbeath would enter the HL - but that seems to be a no no, why im not sure

[emoji38]

On 14/03/2018 at 17:12, Ginaro said:

The Lowland League rules mention 56.4513N as the dividing line - which means all Dundee clubs are Highland League, but St Johnstone (and Jeanfield Swifts from the East Superleague) would be in the Lowland League.

Though with trouble at Fort William you wonder if they might not return next year, so 16 teams would be better for the clubs to give parity with the Lowland and ease fixture congestion.

Has anyone got an update on the Fort William situation ? Will they fold ? Will they join the North Caledonian League ? Will they miraculously survive with a new Board ?

On 14/03/2018 at 16:28, Ranaldo Bairn said:

More insults from an "intelligent debater". Very good.

I'll make it simple. In your original post you asked what happens if Cove Rangers get promoted to the Lowland League. There is no way this can happen; it's preposterous, that's why people ripped you for it.

If CR win the league, and as it appears, Cowden go down, then Cowden would go into the LL. The line dividing the country is approximately at the latitude of the river Tay. The HL would either run with 17 or admit a new member, for example Banks o' Dee. The LL would relegate two teams to the EoS/SoS as opposed to one, in order to remain capped at 16.

Now calm doon.

Spot on ! However your phrase, "admit a new member" is an interesting question because :

* the SFA wants the HFL to be reduced to 16 clubs, in line with the Lowland League, but can't enforce the reduction (as no northern pyramid league currently exists)

* a few months ago, Banks O'Dee  issued a statement that they no longer want to join the HFL, yet in the more recent SJFA questionnaire, they voted in favour of the pyramid (surely a contradiction)

* if any East Region junior club situated north of the Tay has applied to join the EoSL, the geographic boundary set by the SFA,  becomes an issue (no' feeder' league to the HFL exists)

* if BoD (or Golspie Sutherland) apply to fill the vacancy created by Cove's play-off promotion, the HFL may be forced to promote one (or both ?) of them as they are both SFA member/licensed clubs (Gospie don't have floodlights, which is an HFL rule, but is not an SFA pyramid requirement at Tier 5)

And the answers are.................... ?

27 minutes ago, Robert James said:

Spot on ! However your phrase, "admit a new member" is an interesting question because :

* the SFA wants the HFL to be reduced to 16 clubs, in line with the Lowland League, but can't enforce the reduction (as no northern pyramid league currently exists)

* a few months ago, Banks O'Dee  issued a statement that they no longer want to join the HFL, yet in the more recent SJFA questionnaire, they voted in favour of the pyramid (surely a contradiction)

* if any East Region junior club situated north of the Tay has applied to join the EoSL, the geographic boundary set by the SFA,  becomes an issue (no' feeder' league to the HFL exists)

* if BoD (or Golspie Sutherland) apply to fill the vacancy created by Cove's play-off promotion, the HFL may be forced to promote one (or both ?) of them as they are both SFA member/licensed clubs (Gospie don't have floodlights, which is an HFL rule, but is not an SFA pyramid requirement at Tier 5)

And the answers are.................... ?

1. When have the SFA asked for the HL to be reduced to 16?

2. B o' D desperately want to get in the HL but their Chairman is fed up talking to them.

3. Whit?

4. The floodlight issue is a practical thing, not necessarily a regulatory one. Without the capacity to play midweek it would be impossible to fulfil the fixtures, even with a mild winter, and with the daftly early play offs. There's a fair chance we might get a 16 team league by attrition, but that's only 4 less games, midweek games would still be needed especially in a bad winter.

P.S. I wish Central Belt and Lowland football  fans would get it in their heads that with a much smaller population density and available financial support, it might not be possible to create an easy mechanism for the pyramid below HL level. They've failed pretty miserably at connecting up with the Junior Leagues in the South with all their availability of players and fan bases. 

Edited by welshbairn

8 hours ago, welshbairn said:

1. When have the SFA asked for the HL to be reduced to 16?

2. B o' D desperately want to get in the HL but their Chairman is fed up talking to them.

3. Whit?

4. The floodlight issue is a practical thing, not necessarily a regulatory one. Without the capacity to play midweek it would be impossible to fulfil the fixtures, even with a mild winter, and with the daftly early play offs. There's a fair chance we might get a 16 team league by attrition, but that's only 4 less games, midweek games would still be needed especially in a bad winter.

P.S. I wish Central Belt and Lowland football  fans would get it in their heads that with a much smaller population density and available financial support, it might not be possible to create an easy mechanism for the pyramid below HL level. They've failed pretty miserably at connecting up with the Junior Leagues in the South with all their availability of players and fan bases. 

1. When the HFL agreed to join the pyramid and participate in a promotion play off with the Lowland League for 2014/15. The HFL however, would not agree to the demotion of 2 clubs to achieve a 16 team league

2. That is not what Brian Winton said in his statement 3 months ago, as reported in the Press. However a vacancy may arise for next season, so let's see what happens. BoD would be a good addition to the HFL

3. "Whit" ????

4. Check the HFL rule book re membership

5. I agree with your views about the smaller Highland population spread across a vast area, which is very different from the situation in the area covered by the Lowland League. However changes are pending following the official announcement yesterday that "a substantial number of Junior clubs have applied to join the East of Scotland League for 2018/19.".

SFA proposed a "Highland Regional Division" and a Lowland equivalent, each of 10 clubs; rump HL, EOSL and SOSL sitting under.

This wasn't necessarily to trim the schedule - indeed logically both would have involved 36 games like SFL.

HL opposed this and asked to become feeder itself.

LL was then formed in its own right, but has always worked to 16-club ceiling.

Floodlight rule is HL-specific.