Airdrie v Stranraer

Happened to be looking at our away form after the EF game at the weekend and in the process saw we've only had 1 home league defeat all season. Cove game in the cup is a bit of a black mark on our record - but even including that one home defeat since mid September isn't bad at all!

6 of our last 9 games are at home so hoping we can put the weekends result behind us and take the 3 points here.

18 hours ago, TheBuckfastTriangle said:

Happened to be looking at our away form after the EF game at the weekend and in the process saw we've only had 1 home league defeat all season. Cove game in the cup is a bit of a black mark on our record - but even including that one home defeat since mid September isn't bad at all!

6 of our last 9 games are at home so hoping we can put the weekends result behind us and take the 3 points here.

Not a bad record at all, very unlucky to take nothing from last saturdays game!!  Hope it’s a better result tonight

21 minutes ago, Debs2101 said:

very unlucky to take nothing from last saturdays game!!  

Really?  We fail to take chances to score, we leave good players on the bench or in the stand, we fail to clear easily defended balls in our box to concede soft goals,  we show no commitment marking at late corners and we have rancid  negative attitudes from the same players who blame their team mates.

That's not unlucky, that's a losers mentality and fixed mindsets.

The new board and fans have given those players a level of security and hope that most never thought possible just a few months ago.  Manager and several players are already on long term deals at relatively decent money. 

Its about time all those players started repaying that commitment on the park.  The club have given their side, now the players have to do their bit to get the fans back in and that's by winning, being committed and by showing a winners attitude.

The change has to happen now! 

8 hours ago, touchedbymadness said:

Really?  We fail to take chances to score, we leave good players on the bench or in the stand, we fail to clear easily defended balls in our box to concede soft goals,  we show no commitment marking at late corners and we have rancid  negative attitudes from the same players who blame their team mates.

That's not unlucky, that's a losers mentality and fixed mindsets.

The new board and fans have given those players a level of security and hope that most never thought possible just a few months ago.  Manager and several players are already on long term deals at relatively decent money. 

Its about time all those players started repaying that commitment on the park.  The club have given their side, now the players have to do their bit to get the fans back in and that's by winning, being committed and by showing a winners attitude.

The change has to happen now! 

Alright Tbm pipe down, wee bit riled there!!!!!!  

A difficult watch tonight but at least it’s 3 valuable points which on another night might have gone against us. Not many players were great tonight but on the positive side I thought Muir was calm and assured in goal.

Scott Stewart had the worst game I ‘ve ever seen from him. Touch of an elephant tonight and quite rightly substituted. Let’s hope it’s a one off.

i thought that substituting Carrick with MacGregor at the end was unduly negative.

Game was pretty devoid of any quality. Can't really remember either 'keeper having to do anything other than make routine saves or pick the ball out the net.  Both penalties looked like the right decision. Both dispatched pretty well.

Our 'keeper is vocal and did the basics right, though will face much stiffer tests. We should be playing him ahead of Rohan as he'll be our No 1 next year.

Defence suffered from the usual yips and still doesn't strike me as anywhere near the quality required to be playing this "pass from the back" game which we appear to be trying. MacDonald again, burst forward, but again, cant EVER beat the first man with a cross. Brownlie was pretty poor throughout.

Midfield lacks quality. Conroy sits too deep - the one moment in the match he broke through the middle and injected a little pace into his performance, we looked dangerous.  Stewart was poor tonight. He's a  great engine but that's not enough when he's in that sort of form. He'll play like that maybe one in ten, and is still a starter for me.  

Fry takes quite a lot of criticism - and rightly so for some of the play he was involved in tonight.

Carrick tried very hard but got zero service, Duffy tries not so hard, but I wonder if he'd be better with a different style of play - MotM he was not...

Overall, we got probably an undeserved win - Stranraer were as good/bad as us for the most part - but you've got to take them. We tried to pass it about but never really got going and the passes seemed to go astray pretty often. Our best chances seemed to come from the second ball after hitting a Stranraer defender.

Nearly a very spectacular OG from Stranraer which would have been worth the admission money alone.

37 minutes ago, waysider said:

i thought that substituting Carrick with MacGregor at the end was unduly negative.

They threw giant defender Morgyn Neill upfront and made it clear they were going to pump the ball up to him at every opportunity. McGregor was a no-brainer.

Yes much as I don't rate McGregor, that was the wise decision by Findlay. Carrick had run himself ragged. My only other late night comment is "can Fry pass forward?"

Don’t get carried away , we are fast becoming the whipping boys of this league , that will be another 50 or so off the gate on Saturday .

Well if that continues there will ne no club for us to support. Crowds have dropped by 150 home fans. These crowds wont sustain us. The town will get their wish and we will become a south o scotland side. The reason the results are so bad is because of the poor squad. We got rid of experienced players. Other teams brought experience in. Some clowns on saturday were apparently shouting at the manager to bring a striker on. Numpties we dont have any where have they been. Frustrating. We only need probably 3 more points to see us definitely safe. Who knows.

Terrible game of football. Defending corners with 11 Airdrie players back in the box was madness. All it did was to invite Stranraer to have a go.

Except we didn't invite them to have a go. They were already losing the game and had clearly decided to put everyone in the box and risk losing another goal on the break whilst trying to get an equaliser. Even if we left men on the half way line they wouldn't have matched it and we'd have been outnumbered in the box.

Don’t get carried away , we are fast becoming the whipping boys of this league , that will be another 50 or so off the gate on Saturday .

With respect, Don't think anyone was getting carried away kvz.
It was agreed both teams shitfested 90 dire minutes and Airdrie were just slightly less p1sh.

9 hours ago, Pesadilla said:

Game was pretty devoid of any quality. Can't really remember either 'keeper having to do anything other than make routine saves or pick the ball out the net.  Both penalties looked like the right decision. Both dispatched pretty well.

Our 'keeper is vocal and did the basics right, though will face much stiffer tests. We should be playing him ahead of Rohan as he'll be our No 1 next year.

Defence suffered from the usual yips and still doesn't strike me as anywhere near the quality required to be playing this "pass from the back" game which we appear to be trying. MacDonald again, burst forward, but again, cant EVER beat the first man with a cross. Brownlie was pretty poor throughout.

Midfield lacks quality. Conroy sits too deep - the one moment in the match he broke through the middle and injected a little pace into his performance, we looked dangerous.  Stewart was poor tonight. He's a  great engine but that's not enough when he's in that sort of form. He'll play like that maybe one in ten, and is still a starter for me.  

Fry takes quite a lot of criticism - and rightly so for some of the play he was involved in tonight.

Carrick tried very hard but got zero service, Duffy tries not so hard, but I wonder if he'd be better with a different style of play - MotM he was not...

Overall, we got probably an undeserved win - Stranraer were as good/bad as us for the most part - but you've got to take them. We tried to pass it about but never really got going and the passes seemed to go astray pretty often. Our best chances seemed to come from the second ball after hitting a Stranraer defender.

Nearly a very spectacular OG from Stranraer which would have been worth the admission money alone.

Stranraer are a team who have lost a lot of quality and now look like a patchwork team that's begging for the finish line this season.

Stranraer had nothing up front except a young kid who seems to be running on fumes and they wasted a lot of good chances.   Airdrie had much more quality in Darryl Duffy and Dale Carrick, but we could barely get by them.  But that was the difference between the sides.

Stranraer's big no 5 looks the kind of defender we should aspire to in this league, and young Turner in midfield looks a great wee player too.   

Aye kyle turner was excellent. Pity some of the others were posted missing. However it is was it is. Patchwork team of young loanees. Hoping for the odd point to get us safe. Expect better from the old heid hamill. He gave airdrie a gift for the pen.