BBC bias

18 minutes ago, Ned Nederlander said:

The Salmond/Robinson exchange sticks out for me.

I listened to it live on the radio when I was in the car - at the time I was intending to vote No and remember thinking it was a doozy of a question but I was really impressed with Salmond's answer, he broke the question down, ripped it to shreds really.

Even as a Yoon I was gobsmacked by how it was reported on the news, it fucking angered me tbh.

I put a weekend with some good friends down as the clincher for me with regards to Scotland running itself but it was sh't like that that had me on my way.

Just had a search through my posts from 2014 and found that the Yoon me referred to P&B as 'Aye & Bovril'

Both pleased and annoyed with myself 7 years on lol.

There is no debate to be had on this.

To attempt to draw a line, a BBC highheidyin admitted during a presentation at a SNP conference that their correspondents saw it as their duty to take a unionist line.

To deny this would be like Biden claiming a bigger inauguration crowd than Trump.

9 hours ago, lichtgilphead said:

A more pertinent question would be "Are they biased against Nicola and Salmond"

The simple answer is "Yes"

9 hours ago, Stormzy said:

Aye but surely they prefer one of them? 

BBC isn't biased against either of them. 

Pure conspiracy theory stuff.

The BBC is required to be biased against any party advocating independence for any part of the United Kingdom by the terms of its current charter. This requirement has been in place since the 2016 charter review.

Karen Bradley, the Tory culture secretary at the time, announced the draft new charter on 15th September 2016 and said (in the Commons) that a key part of the renewed BBC charter was “supporting greater cohesion between the nations of the UK”

At the time, BBC Scotland's Business and Economy editor Douglas Fraser stated on the BBC's own website

"Where it says 'the BBC should bring people together for shared experiences and help contribute to the social cohesion and wellbeing of the United Kingdom', that will be interpreted by some as more pro-union than the BBC's impartiality should allow it to be."

The requirement can be found in paragraph 6(4) of the charter (The Public Purpose)

Yeh mentioned that earlier not only did they bury positive stories they also burried retractions to negative stories when pulled up on them. RBS being a prime example.. Main news plastered everywhere then when the RBS top dog came out and said nothing will be moved apart from a plaque, you actually had to actively seek for the retraction.
Same when the supermarkets said our weekly messages would cost more - and then that was retracted. Top story and then somewhere near the bottom.

2 hours ago, NotThePars said:

Were you not the one who recently highlighted the Chomsky retort to Marr? I've posted excerpts from Tom Mill's book on the BBC which highlights among other things a hiring policy that was vetted by the security services. It's not a leap from there to suggest that undesirables are weeded out which skewers the coverage. 

Don't disagree with this tbh lol

I don't think that was me tbf. I'd be intrigued to read the security service stuff, I'd imagine that's more extremists than normal pro Indy folk though still?

5 hours ago, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said:

BBC has now slipped below Channel 5 to become the least trusted news service in Britain.  Bearing in mind they are the only one legally obliged to be impartial that is quite an indictment. We can't all be wrong.

I got an e-mail, being a mug licence fee payer, from the BBC this week asking for my views on what I think of the service they offer.

The good- CBBC/Cbeebies (having 3/6 year olds) continues to have quality programming. BBC4 has stuff like "Spiral", which they part fund. I like 6music/Five live at times on the radio. The occasional drama like "Peaky Blinders"

The bad- The news output has had an agenda for years. The coverage of the referendum, campaign and portrayal on the news agenda had propaganda written all over it. This hasn't improved in a UK context. Yer Kuenssbergs/Robinsons/Neils are Tory through and through. The licence fee debate and recent appointments show that they will tow the party line. A conservative party line. Recently, for all the pieces on bulletins of knackered medical staff and an NHS at breaking point, or brexit causing firms to pack in exporting through red tape and costs, I can't say I've seen any BBC news report truly take the Government to task.

There was a lot more complaints from me but that's the crux; their news output is fucked- skewed, leading and the editorial guidelines are being dictated by a "no more licence fee" nod and a wink.

The BBC will always hide behind the old "we get complaints from the right, we get complaints from the left, ergo we're impartial" trope. That's pish. It's currently a state broadcaster that is funded by threat of prosecution, that worries about its future funding from a Government that seems to be in perpetual office who will abolish that funding if it does not help further their agenda.

The BBC can get itself to f**k.

2 minutes ago, speckled tangerine said:

I got an e-mail, being a mug licence fee payer, from the BBC this week asking for my views on what I think of the service they offer.

The good- CBBC/Cbeebies (having 3/6 year olds) continues to have quality programming. BBC4 has stuff like "Spiral", which they part fund. I like 6music/Five live at times on the radio. The occasional drama like "Peaky Blinders"

The bad- The news output has had an agenda for years. The coverage of the referendum, campaign and portrayal on the news agenda had propaganda written all over it. This hasn't improved in a UK context. Yer Kuenssbergs/Robinsons/Neils are Tory through and through. The licence fee debate and recent appointments show that they will tow the party line. A conservative party line. Recently, for all the pieces on bulletins of knackered medical staff and an NHS at breaking point, or brexit causing firms to pack in exporting through red tape and costs, I can't say I've seen any BBC news report truly take the Government to task.

There was a lot more complaints from me but that's the crux; their news output is fucked- skewed, leading and the editorial guidelines are being dictated by a "no more licence fee" nod and a wink.

The BBC will always hide behind the old "we get complaints from the right, we get complaints from the left, ergo we're impartial" trope. That's pish. It's currently a state broadcaster that is funded by threat of prosecution, that worries about its future funding from a Government that seems to be in perpetual office who will abolish that funding if it does not help further their agenda.

Absolutely, I would find it hard to put into words the depth of contempt I have for the BBC. Suffice to say I'd probably pass out from the stauner I'd get if they were shut down.

They have no place in news or current affairs. Sturgeon is on Marr tomorrow, watch the difference between the treatment she gets compared to Bojo a few weeks ago.

One of the most recent incredibly egregious examples of their bias and dishonesty was Kuennsberg (worth googling her btw, absolute aristocracy) going on about the credit cards being maxed out etc.  Absolutely disgusting, complete lie, complete misrepresentation of how a country's finances works and doing the bidding of a monster Tory chancellor who wants to impose draconian and completely unnecessary austerity on a country to further his aim of a smaller state.  Outrageous and the absolute antithesis of journalism.

Funny thing is, it doesn’t matter from which political perspective you come from, you can always find bias.

I am a staunch unionist Brexiteer and the treatment Brexit received from the BBC was outrageous.

Every political programme was heavily weighted towards the anti Brexit cause and statistics have since proven that to be undoubtedly correct and the BBC has indeed since apologised.

Regarding Sturgeon, I would say she’s had a very easy ride especially from the Scottish media who allow her a regular free ride most days.

The point I’m trying to make is that it’s not all one sided.

4 minutes ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

Funny thing is, it doesn’t matter from which political perspective you come from, you can always find bias.

I am a staunch unionist Brexiteer and the treatment Brexit received from the BBC was outrageous.

Every political programme was heavily weighted towards the anti Brexit cause and statistics have since proven that to be undoubtedly correct and the BBC has indeed since apologised.

Regarding Sturgeon, I would say she’s had a very easy ride especially from the Scottish media who allow her a regular free ride most days.

The point I’m trying to make is that it’s not all one sided.

The point you have successfully made is you're a bit of a daftie tbf.

13 minutes ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

Why is loose political union that allows members to retain sovereign statehood bad, but deep political union which denies members sovereign statehood  good?

Edited by Antlion

33 minutes ago, speckled tangerine said:

I agree with this. It's not that the content is wholly disagreeable but that news coverage (Newsnight occasionally exempt) is fucking dire. 

Apart from the obvious stuff like their failure to hold Tories to account, they've retained the role of the national cheerleader when it's got f**k all to do with them. I honestly thought that the greatest risk to Captain Tom over the summer was that Louise Minchin might ride him to death in a fit of patriotic enthusiasm.

BBC Breakfast is akin to watching the Daily Mail come to life. 

On 21/01/2021 at 12:06, Gordon EF said:

That'll be a side effect of having a triple-digit IQ.

Re: ITV news, their 6:30 effort is tabloid-level garbage but their 10 version has been much, much more ready to skewer the government's handling of Brexit and the pandemic than the simpering nonsense on the BBC at the same time. There's the issue of Peston of course but the BBC had original ownership of the clown as well.

The only thing close to a legitimate 'public interest' provided by the BBC is the teuchter channel which would not be commercially viable. The trad music offering is good as well but that could be folded into BBC Scotland instead of the utter, utter garbage that the latter focuses on. That aside, there is still absolutely zero justification for compelling people to buy a TV licence when that regressive tax could be binned and the funds provided through a mix of advertising and (progressive) tax revenue instead.

Staunch right wingers still view the BBC as being "full of lefties". My old man tried to convince that this was because they allowed "socialists" on QT. I did try to point out that QT is supposed to provide a cross-section of UK politics, despite the ridiculously frequent appearances of Farage but he wasn't having it.

I think my point is that right wingers who think the BBC is too left wing are basically fucking stupid. 

15 minutes ago, sophia said:

my dear friend, this isn't an episode of Have I Got News For You and I think you know the serious answer.

On this occasion I think we divert. 

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/tennis/53172172

Edited by welshbairn