Eurodisney

Newbornbairn

Just back from 7 days in France, 5 days at Disney. It was absolutely excellent, even if I am bloody knackered. The only decent looking ride that we missed was Crush's Coaster, my wife and the wee man were almost at the front of the queue on Friday night before the fecking thing broke down.

Thumbs up for probably around 90% of the rides although some just aren't worth the long queues for - the pinocchio ride next to the carousel was shite, as was the Flying Carpets in the studios.

On 7/8/2018 at 10:53, welshbairn said:

How did you get on with the wheelchair on the train?

Forgot, getting back was a nightmare. I'd gone to the station in the morning and booked the disabled space and the ticket guy said he'd arrange assistance but when we turned up in the afternoon the porters had gone on strike and it turned out our tickets didn't actually guarantee any of us a seat on the train. Complained loudly until we got the station manager who listened then dismissed us with a stream of fast French and stomped off. I caught up with him and it was only when I slipped him 20 Euros that he changed his mind and got somebody to help us onto the train.

12 minutes ago, G_Man1985 said:

So slipping people money abroad works? 

Explains why you're working in the stock department for a major supermarket and can't get hold of original Irn Bru.

On 08/07/2018 at 14:58, NewBornBairn said:

No bother.  Bribed a porter 10 Euro and he put us in 1st class. I'd booked the tickets at CdeG and they directed me to a kiosk where the porter did  lots of pointing and talking but when  I smiled and gave him the tenner he escorted us all the way to the seats.

TGV looks really, really good. Well, first class does.

On 24/07/2018 at 07:50, NewBornBairn said:

Forgot, getting back was a nightmare. I'd gone to the station in the morning and booked the disabled space and the ticket guy said he'd arrange assistance but when we turned up in the afternoon the porters had gone on strike and it turned out our tickets didn't actually guarantee any of us a seat on the train. Complained loudly until we got the station manager who listened then dismissed us with a stream of fast French and stomped off. I caught up with him and it was only when I slipped him 20 Euros that he changed his mind and got somebody to help us onto the train.

Bribery is just tipping in advance of service instead of after. Everyone's happy but it gets such a bad name. Almost looking forward to post brexit and sliding a note discreetly to the butcher for a couple of lamb chops off the ration book. Or like @NJ2 jumping the queue with the NHS by slipping a consultant a few quid.

Edited by welshbairn

• 1 year later...

I’m whisking the wife and bairn away for 5 days during Easter to gay Paris. 
The bairn doesn’t know but she is desperate to go to Paris to see all the usual shite. She’s not bothered about Disney but thinking of getting tickets for 1 day.

Question is what to do, one or try both parks? I know I’ll need to plan it and probably do the fastpass thingy. Is the studio park any good compared to the Disney one?

3 minutes ago, Melanius Mullarkey said:

The bairn doesn’t know but she is desperate to go to Paris to see all the usual shite. She’s not bothered about Disney but thinking of getting tickets for 1 day.

Question is what to do, one or try both parks? I know I’ll need to plan it and probably do the fastpass thingy. Is the studio park any good compared to the Disney one?

One day will be a bit of a rush to do both parks, unless you're happy to just wander round, go on a few rides and see a few shows.

Which one depends what they're into really. Check out the rides and shows and take your pic.

5 minutes ago, Mr X said:

One day will be a bit of a rush to do both parks, unless you're happy to just wander round, go on a few rides and see a few shows.

Which one depends what they're into really. Check out the rides and shows and take your pic.

Aye was going to surprise the bairn but I suspect I’ll need to tell her then see what she wants to do.  I’ll find out and see if just one park will be enough this time.

6 minutes ago, Melanius Mullarkey said:

Aye was going to surprise the bairn but I suspect I’ll need to tell her then see what she wants to do.  I’ll find out and see if just one park will be enough this time.

Im sure you could probably work it out based on the characters she likes. Theres no reason you couldnt hop between the two - see a show in one, go on a ride at the other etc - just dont think you'd be able to do both properly in a day.

Of course, if Daddy likes Star Wars ... ;) :lol:

ETA - whatever you choose, it'll still be an amazing day, its not like you can get it wrong!

Edited by Mr X

Guest Moomintroll
^^ Reported for homophobia.