What's the most "Tin Pot" thing you've seen in the SPFL

12 hours ago, coprolite said:

Last 3 supports you brought to Pittodrie were 1,471, 1,045 and 368.

Clearly some fairweathers will miss out, but f**k em. Also some bona fides will miss out too.  f**k em too. 

Last three visits we were pish.

Diddy Aberdeen officially now part of the sub 10,000 tinpot brigade.^_^

5 minutes ago, topcat(The most tip top) said:

It's basically virtual panini sticker albums

Compared to the bookmaking industry it's going to be a pretty small niche

Ah, apologies, I thought it was something similar to the deal Rangers had signed with Bitci, which had been described to me as a Cryptocurrency trading platform.

2 hours ago, AJF said:

Unfortunately it seems that a lot of clubs are going down this route, Rangers included. I read somewhere they think it is in anticipation of gambling sponsorships being phased out.

I think you are right.................although I would prefer that we had perhaps done a wee bit more due diligence before getting into bed with what seems like a pile of rancid pish.

11 minutes ago, Leith Green said:

I think you are right.................although I would prefer that we had perhaps done a wee bit more due diligence before getting into bed with what seems like a pile of rancid pish.

it just looks like a method of raising funds from hibs. They’re not trying to make our like there’s any return in it for fans are they? 

7 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

it just looks like a method of raising funds from hibs. They’re not trying to make our like there’s any return in it for fans are they? 

No, I get that but much in the same way as some dafties are taken in by betting adverts, there will be some people who actually think this is a money making "opportunity" rather than what @topcat(The most tip top) says.

2 minutes ago, Leith Green said:

No, I get that but much in the same way as some dafties are taken in by betting adverts, there will be some people who actually think this is a money making "opportunity" rather than what @topcat(The most tip top) says.

That was kind of my question, is it hinting there’s anything in it for people beyond a few club benefits? As that would be pretty poor. 

17 hours ago, johnnydun said:

Sensible move imo.

17 hours ago, johnnydun said:

Or not giving a f**k about Hearts.

15 hours ago, RandomGuy. said:

Another injustice against Hearts. Aberdeen better get lawyered up.

14 hours ago, coprolite said:

Last 3 supports you brought to Pittodrie were 1,471, 1,045 and 368.

Clearly some fairweathers will miss out, but f**k em. Also some bona fides will miss out too.  f**k em too. 

This is absolute wee guy mentality.

Club with 14,000 gates limits capacity at 10,000 so that stewards don’t have to do some half-arsed, periodic checks. Just because it gives a chance to laugh at Hearts doesn’t mean it isn’t tinpot.

Edited by eez-eh

5 minutes ago, johnnydun said:

^^^^ My team: Ayr United.

The same Ayr United who have no problem with implementing the same checks, thus no need to limit attendance in the game against Kilmarnock next week.

Yet it’s such a problem for Aberdeen that they’re cutting their attendance by around a third.

17 minutes ago, eez-eh said:

The same Ayr United who have no problem with implementing the same checks, thus no need to limit attendance in the game against Kilmarnock next week.

Yet it’s such a problem for Aberdeen that they’re cutting their attendance by around a third.

Why would you need checks at Ayr United v Kilmarnock?

No, I get that but much in the same way as some dafties are taken in by betting adverts, there will be some people who actually think this is a money making "opportunity" rather than what [mention=27588]topcat(The most tip top)[/mention] says.

Having now read the full thing on the hibs website, instead of just the tweet, it looks a little more complex than I first thought

55 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

Fan Tokens have been gaining a lot of traction in football with most of the elite football clubs introducing them.

Various different Supporters Trusts in England have opposed them (Leeds and West Ham, mainly) due to fans being obliged to enter into a "cryptocurrency trading ecosystem" with little knowledge of it.

So while Hibs will be encouraging fans to purchase and keep the fan token, If you read the fine print, the value of Fan Tokens can rise and fall just like any cryptocurrency and you are able to purchase and sell the Fan Token via the provider.

The main criticisms seem to be that it is a way of exploiting and monetising fan engagement while also introducing them into a world of cryptocurrency trading which they may not be prepared for.

Atletico Madrid had an issue last season where due to them winning La Liga their Fan Token price rocketed only for it to be sold off in bulk as people cashed in on their investments.

Edited by AJF

58 minutes ago, eez-eh said:

This is absolute wee guy mentality.

Club with 14,000 gates limits capacity at 10,000 so that stewards don’t have to do some half-arsed, periodic checks. Just because it gives a chance to laugh at Hearts doesn’t mean it isn’t tinpot.

We haven't limited our capacity. We've limited our "expected capacity" of over 18s. If more than 10k turn up then we'll be shocked, really, but they really weren't expected. 

If Hearts have to suffer for our subterfuge that's acceptable collateral damage. 

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/hib-fan-token-on-pre-sale

So the HIB$ token itself is effectively a membership badge for a special online club of hibs supporters that's going to cost you money to join but you can potentially sell on. As someone who once spent three figures for the dubious honour of being able to call myself a Hearts shareholder I don't feel in a position to be too critical of anybody who opts to spend their money on being a cyber-uberhibee.

However some uberhibees are going to be more uber than others. Like the freemasons you can get basic levels of membership or spend more money and get "VIP benefits"

"The more tokens a fan holds, and they more they vote, the higher the level of that fan, more tokens, more activity = higher rewards and level achievements until they have access to the biggest VIP benefit offers."

So far so reasonable but the question would be...

Why is this being delivered using a crypto-currency technology as opposed to a central register of members? Aberdeen have their DNA thing and that didn't need crypto. Motherwell and Hearts fans have actually carried out takeovers without the help of the blockchain.

We then get this confusing statement

High Liquidity

The token is highly liquid with nearly 30,000 token holder members and growing.

30,000 really? for a token that's not been launched yet? This can't be true on face value so the most plausible interpretation is that there are 30,000 holders of tokens from their Australian sporting heroes and UK sporting heroes lines that are on their exchange and could theoretically buy your Hibs tokens off you. Their other NFT schemes are "Australian Sporting Heroes" and one might ask oneself why a supporter of the Sidney Sixers would want to buy it is another question.

And then we get to this bit

HIB$ Fan Token will be available for fans to purchase, Hibernian Season Ticket, Hospitality and Official Members over the age of 18 will have the opportunity receive £10 worth of $SGO with their first purchase of HIB$ fan token. Details will be provided upon registration. Non-members of Hibernian will have the opportunity to purchase HIB$ Fan Tokens in the highly-anticipated Fan Token Offering (FTO). Token price TBD.

$SGO  is a cryptocurrency so poorly established that when you google "$SGO " something else comes up and you need to search for "$SGO  crypto" instead. Launched in July they were worth 20 billionths of a dollar each, rose to 80 and are, at time of writing worth 18 billionths of a dollar

https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/sportemon-go/historical-data/

So in essence you'll already be signed up for their casino exchange and offered £10 worth of complimentary chips currency to get you going and should you take them they'll have one more currency "holder" to lend them some outward credibility.

This whole thing smells fishy

Edited by topcat(The most tip top)

12 minutes ago, topcat(The most tip top) said:

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/hib-fan-token-on-pre-sale

So the HIB$ token itself is effectively a membership badge for a special online club of hibs supporters that's going to cost you money to join but you can potentially sell on. As someone who once spent three figures for the dubious honour of being able to call myself a Hearts shareholder I don't feel in a position to be too critical of anybody who opts to spend their money on being a cyber-uberhibee.

However some uberhibees are going to be more uber than others. Like the freemasons you can get basic levels of membership or spend more money and get into inner circles

"The more tokens a fan holds, and they more they vote, the higher the level of that fan, more tokens, more activity = higher rewards and level achievements until they have access to the biggest VIP benefit offers."

So far so reasonable but the question would be...

Why is this being delivered using a crypto-currency technology as opposed to a central register of members? Aberdeen have their DNA thing and that didn't need crypto. Motherwell and Hearts fans have actually carried out takeovers without the help of the blockchain.

We then get this confusing statement

High Liquidity

The token is highly liquid with nearly 30,000 token holder members and growing.

30,000 really? for a token that's not been launched yet? This can't be true on face value so the most plausible interpretation is that there are 30,000 holders of tokens from their Australian sporting heroes and UK sporting heroes lines that are on their exchange and could theoretically buy your Hibs tokens off you. Their other NFT schemes are "Australian Sporting Heroes" and one might ask oneself why a supporter of the Sidney Sixers would want to buy it is another question.

And then we get to this bit

HIB$ Fan Token will be available for fans to purchase, Hibernian Season Ticket, Hospitality and Official Members over the age of 18 will have the opportunity receive £10 worth of $SGO with their first purchase of HIB$ fan token. Details will be provided upon registration. Non-members of Hibernian will have the opportunity to purchase HIB$ Fan Tokens in the highly-anticipated Fan Token Offering (FTO). Token price TBD.

$SGO  is a cryptocurrency so poorly established that when you google "$SGO " something else comes up and you need to search for "$SGO  crypto" instead. Launched in July they were worth 20 billionths of a dollar each, rose to 80 and are, at time of writing worth 18 billionths of a dollar

https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/sportemon-go/historical-data/

So in essence you'll already be signed up for their casino exchange and offered £10 worth of complimentary chips currency to get you going and should you take them they'll have one more currency "holder" to lend them some outward credibility.

This whole thing smells fishy

This whole fan token thing feels like another way to con fans out of money.

Edited by NorthernLights