A Photographic History Of Scottish Football

On 01/03/2023 at 10:24, jagfox said:

Sad to read about Allan McGraw passing away. A Scottish footballing legend and a great servant to Greenock Morton.

1155673485.jpg.dfa7bf78a8023dffa2c40d95632fb4bf.jpg1646676.main_image.webp.dfa43776b47b20f35542088e0989105a.webpnintchdbpict0003176465791.thumb.webp.34e0b518fa904371398d0185669ee259.webp

Sorry news, but great memories.  I recall seeing him in the Morton side which drew 1-1 at Boghead in a League Cup tie in August 1964, a side which included Erik Sorensen, Kai Johansen and Carl Bertelsen.

On 28/02/2023 at 13:35, paul wright scores said:

I love listening to the paranoia of these clowns.   

Wonder what I could complain about after you beat us in the semi final - not a lot, you took your chances, we didn't. 

Well took our chance rather than chances with the aptly named 'Cup-tie' McKay scoring one of only four goals in his Aberdeen career, all scored in that seasons Scottish Cup from the quarter-final onwards...

21-02-1970 Falkirk 0-1 Aberdeen (McKay 66) 13,500

14-03-1970 Aberdeen 1-0 Kilmarnock (McKay 21) 25,812 at Muriton Park

11-04-1970 Aberdeen 3-1 Celtic (Harper 27 (pen), McKay 83, Lennox 89, McKay 90) 108,434

I didn't realise Tommy McLean was still at Killie in 1970 so that makes it sweeter

Was any of our more mature contributers at Muriton Park on 14-03-1970?

KILLIE.jpg.a39f31da01358328213fb3f496872e5e.jpg

28 minutes ago, Bogbrush1903 said:

Well took our chance rather than chances with the aptly named 'Cup-tie' McKay scoring one of only four goals in his Aberdeen career, all scored in that seasons Scottish Cup from the quarter-final onwards...

11-04-1970 Aberdeen 3-1 Celtic (Harper 27 (pen), McKay 83, Lennox 89, McKay 90) 108,434

I didn't realise Tommy McLean was still at Killie in 1970 so that makes it sweeter

I was just a wean but eventually managed to convince my dad to take me. He was right pissed at having to travel to Perth as we had all hoped the game would, and should, have been in Glasgow. 

I remember being gutted at losing, but the fighting was something to behold and some of the best I have witnessed over the years. I was scared shitless mind.

Also went to the final with a Celtic supporting friend and had a great day out. It was my first cup final experience and, foolishly believing I would be back soon with Killie. Unfortunately the horrendous decline had already begun, our league winning team was gradually breaking up and part time football beckoned.

6 minutes ago, Hawkeye the Gnu said:

the fighting was something to behold and some of the best I have witnessed over the years. I was scared shitless mind.

Have heard a few tales from guys who went up on the football special trains, sounded absolutely wild!

aberdeen-kilmarnock-14-march-1970-progra

v-Kilmarnock-1970-SCSF-McKay-Goal-1024x7

1 hour ago, Bogbrush1903 said:

I went to all home and away cup games from 1966 through to mid 79’s. That semi was a pretty drab affair as was the Falkirk game. Too many players missing (flu iirc) hence Mackay getting a game. The memory that sticks out most for me was the absolute drunken carnage on the journey from train station to Muirton Park. 

2 hours ago, Bogbrush1903 said:

Unfortunately not, I was travelling back from Fort Augustus after playing hockey against the Abbey School (2nd X1, whom we beat). Great were the celebrations when the score came through, someone must have had a transistor.

I was at the final, however.

2 hours ago, Hawkeye the Gnu said:

He was right pissed at having to travel to Perth as we had all hoped the game would, and should, have been in Glasgow. 

Perth was almost the same distance for both sets of fans to travel, Glasgow certainly would not have been.

30 minutes ago, realmadrid said:

Perth was almost the same distance for both sets of fans to travel, Glasgow certainly would not have been.

As far as I know Perth is still almost the same distance unless it’s moved  😊

How many Scottish cup semi finals have been played outwith Glasgow, before that and after? Not many.

How many in Perth ffs?

Im not saying it’s right but as a wean I felt cheated out of going to Hampden and go to a place I thought was fucking miles away.

I get that it was probably fair to Aberdeen fans but I know that many more Killie fans would have been able to attend and I was totally miffed as it took a lot of persuasion for my dad to finally agree to take me.

Anyway, it’s an experience I’ll never forget.

Edited by Hawkeye the Gnu

6 minutes ago, Hawkeye the Gnu said:

How many Scottish cup semi finals have been played outwith Glasgow, before that and after? Not many.

How many in Perth ffs?

Im not saying it’s right but as a wean I felt cheated out of going to Hampden and go to a place I thought was fucking miles away.

I get that it was probably fair to Aberdeen fans but I know that many more Killie fans would have been able to attend and I was totally miffed as it took a lot of persuasion for my dad to finally agree to take me.

Anyway, it’s an experience I’ll never forget.

We played Dundee Utd at East End Park in 91 so maybe its just the west coast clubs that have expectations of Hampden.

League cup semi between Raith & Airdrie was at McDiarmid in 94

23 minutes ago, Hawkeye the Gnu said:

Having got into football in the 1980's when the the semi finals tended to be 1 at Hampden and one at either Celtic Park, Dens or Tynecastle  i had not realised in the 70's every other semi final was played at Hampden so your dad may have been right to be hacked off having to come to Perth.

Celtic Park, Dens and Tynecastle as well as East End Park, Easter Road and Ibrox were all used in the 90's until the debenture contact at Hampden required all semi finals to be played there. 

56 minutes ago, Hawkeye the Gnu said:

St. Mirren and Dunfermline played at Tynecastle in 60/61 and the replay with Aberdeen was played at Dens Park in 81/82.

1 hour ago, Steve McQueen said:

We played Dundee Utd at East End Park in 91 so maybe its just the west coast clubs that have expectations of Hampden.

League cup semi between Raith & Airdrie was at McDiarmid in 94

East End hosted the 1979/80 League Cup semi final between Dundee United and Hamilton as well.

6 hours ago, O'Kelly Isley III said:

... I recall seeing him in the Morton side which drew 1-1 at Boghead in a League Cup tie in August 1964, a side which included Erik Sorensen, Kai Johansen and Carl Bertelsen.

Oh aye, the "Scandinavian invasion of the 60's" ... I remember collecting Scottish fitba photo cards (was it from chewing gum or something like that?) back then when at school - Sorensen and Johansen were in my collection.  I think there was another in Govan (or did he start at Morton and ended up in Govan, not sure).  I wouldn't have seen them at Palmerston - Queens were relegated from the top flight in 64 and never made it back.

3 hours ago, Lurkst said:

v-Kilmarnock-1970-SCSF-McKay-Goal-1024x7

Damn me, that's a fine photo that, the jam-packed covered terrace looks amazing.  Unfortunately, I never made it to Muirton Park before the Saints moved to their lego ground.  Real shame.

20 minutes ago, jagfox said:

John Lambie - born on this day in 1941 - gone, but not forgotten.

20230302_195201.thumb.jpg.ca6ba75a366270c46e083729ce82d2fd.jpg

When you think of John Lambie, Frank Connor, Ally MacLeod, Eddie Hunter, Jock Wallace and Jim Leishman, you soon realise how bland and sterile today's managers are.

Edited by Specky Ginger

3 hours ago, Otis Blue said:

Oh aye, the "Scandinavian invasion of the 60's" ... I remember collecting Scottish fitba photo cards (was it from chewing gum or something like that?) back then when at school - Sorensen and Johansen were in my collection.  I think there was another in Govan (or did he start at Morton and ended up in Govan, not sure).  I wouldn't have seen them at Palmerston - Queens were relegated from the top flight in 64 and never made it back.

Yeah, Kai Johansen ended up at Ibrox. He subsequently did that footballer-retirement-thing and took over a pub in Govan and called it "Kai Johansen's".

ETA...picture

Kai-Johansen-s-Bar-March-1977-Govan-Road-at-Stag-Street.png

Edited by Arch Stanton

7 hours ago, Bogbrush1903 said:

We took our chance rather than chances with the aptly named 'Cup-tie' McKay scoring one of only four goals in his Aberdeen career, all scored in that seasons Scottish Cup from the quarter-final onwards...

I was tempted to say chance instead of chances but didn't want to be disrespectful 😀

Edited by paul wright scores
Typo