A Photographic History Of Scottish Football

21 hours ago, Flybhoy said:

Hibs 2 Dunfermline 0, 1991 Skol League Cup Final 

688e21fa2c101ca273dcfe7a26a83202.jpg

009__034__features__Tommy_McIntyre_news__1331835454_standard.jpg

271091-skol-cup-final-hibs-v-dunfermline-2-0-hampden-832617.jpg

271091-skol-cup-final-hibs-v-dunfermline-2-0-hampden-glasgow-the-dunfermline-BJGXN2.jpg

_42691609_wrightmcintyre270.jpg

Billy Davies looked focused for the game there... My first game at Hampden, standing on the terrace and being able to see only a small patch of the pitch, can't complain really as I'm sure my dad gave the guy on the turnstile a quid to let him lift me over. 

23 hours ago, Dundee Hibernian said:

St Mirren at St Mirren Park, 1970-71.

2hd1ks2.jpg

Andy McFadden to the left of Gordon McQueen, Willie Borland back row extreme right? Both later to sign for Sons, although I don't think McFadden played a first team game. I think it's Tony Connell ex Third Lanark front row extreme right.

5 minutes ago, lionel wickson said:

Andy McFadden to the left of Gordon McQueen, Willie Borland back row extreme right? Both later to sign for Sons, although I don't think McFadden played a first team game. I think it's Tony Connell ex Third Lanark front row extreme right.

back row-dk, dk, Brian Osborne ,dk, Connaghan, David Prentice, dk, Borland 

middle- dk, dk,  Hugh McLaughlin, Ken Brown, dk, McQueen, Cammy  Murray  Willie Fulton, dk

Front- dk, do,  Bobby McKean, McLeod , Munro, Ian Lister,  Connell 

1 hour ago, neildrake said:

middle- dk, dk,  Hugh McLaughlin, Ken Brown, dk, McQueen, Cammy  Murray  Willie Fulton, dk

Cheers: that Tony Connell looked like Pastor Jack Glass. Dunno why Ally McLeod had the ball in a captain type roll, he would have been one of the youngest players in that squad.

Hibs: MacLeod, Burridge, Miller, McGinlay, Mitchell, Weir, Wright, McIntyre, Evans, Hamilton, Hunter. Subs ?, Beaumont

Pars: McCathie, ? McWilliams, ? Moyes, Leitch, Davies, MacNamara, ? ? Robertson, Kozma, Rhodes.

18 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

Hibs: MacLeod, Burridge, Miller, McGinlay, Mitchell, Weir, Wright, McIntyre, Evans, Hamilton, Hunter. Subs ?, Beaumont

Pars: McCathie, ? McWilliams, ? Moyes, Leitch, Davies, MacNamara, ? ? Robertson, Kozma, Rhodes.

Screenshot_20190506-213331_Chrome.thumb.jpg.80043120a07368adb1f70b5b1af225a8.jpg

Jackie McNamara (not MacNamara) didn't make his first team debut until the season after.

Front row second left Ronnie Hamilton who won a champions medal with Killie in 64-65.

On ‎07‎/‎05‎/‎2019 at 00:58, Lyle Lanley said:

1994-11-27: Celtic 2-2 Raith Rovers, League Cup Final, Rovers win 6-5 on penalties - PicPaul McStay misses

McStay misses penalty 1994 LCF

Scott Thomson saves Paul McStay's penalty to win Raith the league cup in 94. 

I remember watching the game in the now demolished student halls in Aberdeen. There was a wee fat Celtic fan there while everyone else is, of course, supporting Raith. It got to McStay's spot kick- wee fat Celtic fan had to leave the room saying "I cannae look". Big roar goes up when he misses- cue wee fat Celtic fan sticking his head round the door with the words "I take it McStay missed then..."

As part of the 100th anniversary celebrations in 1990 of the Scottish Football League some bright spark thought a friendly between an SFL select and the national side would be of major appeal to the supporters, a crowd of about 10,000 turned up at Hampden (I vaguely recall a Scotsport special as well on STV :blink:) to see a Scotland side, fresh off the back of finding another way to not make the knockout phases of a major tournament at the world cup in Italy earlier that summer, by making an arse of ourselves against Costa Rica and then a Jim Leighton howler gifting an already qualified and uninterested Brazil a late winner when a point would have sent us to the last 16, sandwiched either side of a surprise win over Sweden. Still, at least we qualified for fucking tournaments back then. 

The 'glamour' friendly at Hampden which, merely pissed club fans off by delaying the start of the league campaign to the last weekend in August, was such a fucking non event played in a near deserted Hampden I can't even recall the score....anyone here remember?

Some good players in the SFL side mind you, ineligible for Scotland in the case of Gary Stevens, Theo Snelders, Miodrag Krivokapic, Chris Morris and Hans Gillhaus, young stars who would go on to star for Scotland such as Paul Lambert, David Robertson, Tom Boyd and Billy McKinlay or, guys not capped for Scotland because they were fucking pish like Keith Wright. 

Back row, Charlie Nicholas, Billy McKinlay, Keith Wright, Packie Bonner, Theo Snelders, Robert Conner, David Robertson, Mio Krivokapic, Tom Boyd.

Front row, Freddy Van Der Hoorn (I think), Hans Gilhaus, Istvan Kozma, Gary Stevens, Chris Morris, Paul Lambert, Jim McInally.

067_324__sfl1990_1471522619_standard.jpg

Edited by Flybhoy

49 minutes ago, Flybhoy said:

As part of the 100th anniversary celebrations in 1990 of the Scottish Football League some bright spark thought a friendly between an SFL select and the national side would be of major appeal to the supporters, a crowd of about 10,000 turned up at Hampden (I vaguely recall a Scotsport special as well on STV :blink:) to see a Scotland side, fresh off the back of finding another way to not make the knockout phases of a major tournament at the world cup in Italy earlier that summer, by making an arse of ourselves against Costa Rica and then a Jim Leighton howler gifting an already qualified and uninterested Brazil a late winner when a point would have sent us to the last 16, sandwiched either side of a surprise win over Sweden. Still, at least we qualified for fucking tournaments back then. 

The 'glamour' friendly at Hampden which, merely pissed club fans off by delaying the start of the league campaign to the last weekend in August, was such a fucking non event played in a near deserted Hampden I can't even recall the score....anyone here remember?

Some good players in the SFL side mind you, ineligible for Scotland in the case of Gary Stevens, Theo Snelders, Miodrag Krivokapic, Chris Morris and Hans Gillhaus, young stars who would go on to star for Scotland such as Paul Lambert, David Robertson, Tom Boyd and Billy McKinlay or, guys not capped for Scotland because they were fucking pish like Keith Wright

Back row, Charlie Nicholas, Billy McKinlay, Keith Wright, Packie Bonner, Theo Snelders, Robert Conner, David Robertson, Mio Krivokapic, Tom Boyd.

Front row, Freddy Van Der Hoorn (I think), Hans Gilhaus, Istvan Kozma, Gary Stevens, Chris Morris, Paul Lambert, Jim McInally.

067_324__sfl1990_1471522619_standard.jpg

Keith Wright was a decent player. Certainly not deserving of being singled out from a team containing McKinlay, McInally, Morris and Boyd.

btw how in God's name did Boyd get 72 Scotland caps ? Apart from playing for Celtic, obviously.

1 hour ago, Pet Jeden said:

Keith Wright was a decent player. Certainly not deserving of being singled out from a team containing McKinlay, McInally, Morris and Boyd.

btw how in God's name did Boyd get 72 Scotland caps ? Apart from playing for Celtic, obviously.

Keith Wright was shite sorry, Billy McKinlay was an excellent wee player who had a decent career down in England too, Chris Morris played in two World Cups for Ireland and was a fine attacking full back although, like many was sometimes caught out defensively, played every minute of every game in Celtic's centenary double season in 1988.

Jim McInally was never the most gifted midfielder ever but was a workhorse who did all the grafting and tackling to allow the likes of Eamonn Bannon and Kevin Gallagher to flourish, Jim McLean rated him highly and rarely dropped him, certainly much better at that role than, to use an example Peter Grant* at Celtic. 

Tom Boyd played in a Scotland side that wasn't overly blessed with full back options, David Robertson was mostly unavailable after a fall out of some sort with Craig Brown I recall, im sure he 'retired' from international football in his early 20's, that only really left Tosh McKinlay and Jackie McNamara as regular options in those positions, bear in mind Boyd could play both right and left back as well as in central defence, that coupled with the increased amount of international fixtures in the 90's was the main reason Boyd played so often, especially as he was rarely injured, not the greatest full back in Scottish history but by no means the worst and one of the most consistent. 

*I recall a discussion between a mate and the guy who ran our Celtic supporters bus in the 90's on the merits of Peter Grant, mate of mine points out Grant gives 100% every game he plays..

...bus convenor replies "Aye, well 100% of f**k all is still f**k all at the end of the day, chase the useless b*****d"  :lol:

Harsh but true. 

1 hour ago, Flybhoy said:

Keith Wright was shite sorry, Billy McKinlay was an excellent wee player who had a decent career down in England too, Chris Morris played in two World Cups for Ireland and was a fine attacking full back although, like many was sometimes caught out defensively, played every minute of every game in Celtic's centenary double season in 1988.

Jim McInally was never the most gifted midfielder ever but was a workhorse who did all the grafting and tackling to allow the likes of Eamonn Bannon and Kevin Gallagher to flourish, Jim McLean rated him highly and rarely dropped him, certainly much better at that role than, to use an example Peter Grant* at Celtic. 

Tom Boyd played in a Scotland side that wasn't overly blessed with full back options, David Robertson was mostly unavailable after a fall out of some sort with Craig Brown I recall, im sure he 'retired' from international football in his early 20's, that only really left Tosh McKinlay and Jackie McNamara as regular options in those positions, bear in mind Boyd could play both right and left back as well as in central defence, that coupled with the increased amount of international fixtures in the 90's was the main reason Boyd played so often, especially as he was rarely injured, not the greatest full back in Scottish history but by no means the worst and one of the most consistent. 

*I recall a discussion between a mate and the guy who ran our Celtic supporters bus in the 90's on the merits of Peter Grant, mate of mine points out Grant gives 100% every game he plays..

...bus convenor replies "Aye, well 100% of f**k all is still f**k all at the end of the day, chase the useless b*****d"  :lol:

Harsh but true. 

We'll have to disagree. One goal every three games for Raith, Dundee and Hibs isn't too shabby.