A Photographic History Of Scottish Football

Guest Moomintroll
Bottom right , just behind the old mannie that's side-on ?
Can anyone spot one-half of The Proclaimers ?........(actually , maybe it's Frankie Boyle's dad)
Top right, two along from the big yin. Hadn't even noticed him but which half is he(I'm here all week folks).

7 minutes ago, Moomintroll said:
13 minutes ago, A96 said:
Can anyone spot one-half of The Proclaimers ?........(actually , maybe it's Frankie Boyle's dad)

Top right, two along from the big yin. Hadn't even noticed him but which half is he(I'm here all week folks).

That's nae who I was thinking of ....but maybe the one you've spotted is the other Reid brother. Maybe Celtic were playing Hibs that day ?

Edited by A96

Guest Moomintroll
That's nae who I was thinking of ....but maybe the one you've spotted is the other Reid brother. Maybe Celtic were playing Hibs that day ?

That was Bernard Hill aka Yosser Hughes aka gizzajob.

30 minutes ago, A96 said:

......or anyone under the age of 40 by the look of it

According to worldfootball.net, there were only two folk in the entire Dundee roster for that year who were over 30 - Gordon Smith (37, to the right of the goalie) and Bobby Seith (turned 30 in March of that season, far right).

Spending time in Dundee takes it's toll on a man.

Edited by Aim Here

8 hours ago, Arch Stanton said:
20 hours ago, Flybhoy said:
Dundee with their last league championship trophy in 1961.
IMG_20190225_214238.thumb.jpg.24c8a3b3d9c73d047c7b6454ce310069.jpg

Rangers were champions in 1961, Dundee won it the following year.

I swear Flybhoy does it on purpose.  

He's a little bit out, ridiculously frequently.

Edited by Monkey Tennis

A young, peroxide blonde Peter Grant in action against Atletico Madrid in 1985, match played behind closed doors at Celtic Park after some naughty behaviour against Rapid Vienna (b*****ds) the previous season. A 2-1 defeat after drawing the first leg 1-1 in Spain. 

IMG_20190228_173656.jpg

47 minutes ago, Flybhoy said:

A young, peroxide blonde Peter Grant in action against Atletico Madrid in 1985, match played behind closed doors at Celtic Park after some naughty behaviour against Rapid Vienna (b*****ds) the previous season. A 2-1 defeat after drawing the first leg 1-1 in Spain. 

IMG_20190228_173656.jpg

He seems excited about something.

On ‎26‎/‎02‎/‎2019 at 10:23, Moomintroll said:
On ‎26‎/‎02‎/‎2019 at 10:17, A96 said:

That's my Uncle Jimmy. (Well, it would be if he had been interested in football...)

On 2/26/2019 at 08:06, Ken Fitlike said:

this one popped up on my twitter feed. titled 'Celtic End'  Parkhead 1971

https://twitter.com/oakroyd/status/1099767929267208192

celtic end.JPG

Great photo. Some observations:

Men going to games in suits, when did that stop being a thing?;

Large amount of elderly fans in attendance compared to nowadays;

I can only see four female fans in the entire photo, very much a "man's game" back then;

The men's faces look more, I don't know, weather-beaten. Not much in the way of Nivea moisturiser for men or designer haircuts in those times.

11 hours ago, Flybhoy said:

IMG_20190228_173656.jpg

You could tell what religion someone is with those shorts....

On Tuesday, February 26, 2019 at 08:06, Ken Fitlike said:

this one popped up on my twitter feed. titled 'Celtic End'  Parkhead 1971

https://twitter.com/oakroyd/status/1099767929267208192

celtic end.JPG

Great photo, and not a greyscale green parka in sight.

On Tuesday, February 26, 2019 at 10:10, Ken Fitlike said:

Billy Connolly side by side with Andy Roxburgh?  central near the top.....

Actually the guy to the right of them in the light Harrington looks like a shorter haired Big Yin, and the fella who I presume you referred to as Roxy looks quite like Gerry Rafferty back in the day. Hmmmm???...

Edited by Lurkst

On 26/02/2019 at 10:06, A96 said:

One of the Alvin Stardust twins looks likes he's had a stroke.  - (second/third folk in from the left about half-way up the photo)

Think it’s the boy oot the Flying Pickets that was in Coronation Street.