Popular Things You Know Nothing About

Kejan

5. Poker - tried to play it once or twice and didn't understand it - either didn't listen or I am too thick for it. Since I know nothing about it, how does online poker work - I thought a lot of the game was reading people's faces? I probably should try and read the rules as I am now just blindly assuming things that I do not know.

4. Science - I was given a book for Christmas which is basically a beginners beginner guide to Science and tries to make it light-hearted, easy to comprehend ; and I'm still struggling with it - having to re-read pages e.g DNA has an alphabet of 4 letters, eh????? I don't know if it's mild autism or whatnot ; but I can't seem to get my brain to function around anything to do with science - even films. Yet I'll be able to spout of the recent census/demographics of Slovenia to a reasonably correct number.

3. Phones - I've got a WileyFox Spark X. It was about £130 or so. It's got good memory - plenty of space for music, podcasts, and a few apps - eg I can tune my guitar through it, and another keeps a record of my running. The camera works reasonably good, it's fast enough when using the internet ; I get emails as they come in. So what I am missing with the iPhone or a £500 android phone?

2. Cars - a bit like the phone. If it goes, has a radio and doesn't suck up a lot of petrol ; I'll take it.

1. The British Bake Off - seriously, is this basically a cake-making competition? In the format of a reality program? Get 10/12/20 people to bake cakes? Judges taste them and then one is voted off much?  And it's massively popular?

• Replies 50

1. Social Media. I've had a Facebook account and Ye Olde Bebo back when I was at school, but I know virtually nothing beyond the name of most of the rest of the seemingly most popular social platforms or how to use them (Instagram, Whatsapp, Snapchat spring to mind, and I wouldn't be able to tell any of them apart)

2. Rugby and its more heavily armoured American cousin. Both very popular sports, both of which I'm absolutely clueless when seeing live on telly in the pub or whatever. Absolutely no interest in learning the rules, watching them or playing them. Certain popular sports I can kinda just about get (Basketball springs to mind, and tennis is fairly straightforward after getting your head round the scoring system) but I switch off completely with those two.

3. Spunking lots of money on certain clothing items or fashion statements, particularly trainers and watches. Lots of people spend incredible amounts of money on trainers and watches. I don't understand it, in fact I'm quite certain I'll never ever understand it. Can live with that tbqfhwy.

4.  Fifa games. Briefly played a couple of iterations of it at friends houses/house parties over the years, and I don't see the attraction, personally.

5. Credit cards, in fact most forms of popular debt (overdrafts, mortgages, hire purchase, payday loans). I'm incredibly averse to taking on debt (largely due to a resentment of paying interest though quite why I've built up such a hatred of owing money out over the years in rent or interest is something I can't really explain. To put it another way, I drive to a garage that's about a half a mile further than my nearest one purely because the nearest one charges money to withdraw your cash from its ATM, which is something I absolutely loathe in ways that I can't even describe) to the extent that I've never owned a credit card, own my car outright, and have a decentish chunk of savings, at least for my lowish wage package.

5. Game of Thrones. Never watched a minute of it, so obviously don't get the hype about it.

4. Religion. What's that all about?

3. Television......especially the soaps. What's the point in watching them when you know who's going to get raped/murdered/bummed and the likes.

2. Twitter and Facebook. Never understood why people take a picture of a plate of food or tell you they're checking in somewhere. Who gives a f**k?

1. Women. Do any of us know what makes them tick? Utter mentalists at times.

No real order:

Soaps - Unrelenting misery written by horrendous people. It's like they're designed to make people depressed. Who enjoys watching such garbage?

Cars - I don't drive so have no idea about them. I didn't realise a clutch was a thing until I was in my 20s, and used to think an automatic car was one where you didn't have to change the gears. Have zero idea about brands/types of cars either, so if someone was to say what kind they drive I would be no less confused.

Celebrities - It's someone famous. So? Are we supposed to think highly of them for this? Add to this autographs. A bit of paper on which someone has written their name. What's that about? What's the point of it? What do folk do with it?

Bigotry and xenophobia - So someone was born and lived in another place before moving here and this is supposed to make them somehow inferior or is a reason to dislike them? Likewise, someone has a different colour of skin and this somehow makes them a figure to dislike? Just what the f**k is that about? Sadly this shit seems very popular at the moment.

Patriotism - Bag of shite. Taking some sort of pride in being born somewhere, as if you had any sort of say in it, and as if it actually means anything.

Gambling, apart from the occasional lottery ticket I don't much get it. Facebook is full of people boasting about how they won but never mention how much they've spunked away.  If you could win all the time bookies wouldn't exist. Moronic pastime imo.

Card games, betting for more intelligent people? Green hat, cigar, green table. Look at me I'm al Capone!

Running/jogging , tried it a few times but can't get into it. I enjoy running on hills to save time but along housing estates? Nah not for me. Fair play to anyone who keeps fit this way. Is it boring though? Why not play a team sport?

People who build PCs. Mine has more RAM and a zico 3.5 punto chipset. Does it aye? I just pressed a button on a dell website and bought one. You took three months. What for? It's out of date now. Why make your life difficult? Are you just showing off?

Celebrity culture, I agree with DA. What's the point of this obsession? It seemed like sometime in the 90s papers just gave up and started writing trash about celebs and the general public seem to lap it up. A general dumbing down of media to the point it's become oversaturated with z list talentless gimps.

No particular order

Selfies: I don't particularly like photos of myself (the ugly fat b*****d) so I don't see the point really

What passes for "music" in the charts these days: I've turned into my dad. 

TV: I don't watch a lot of TV. I used to but I don't feel I'm missing out really. Lost, Game of Thrones, Deadwood, Breaking Bad etc. have all passed me by. 

Nandos: The youngsters in work go mad over Nando's. I've had two Nandos in my life. They were OK. 

Women's magazines: Newagensts shelves are groaning with magazines fulll of awful "real life" stories about stupid and awful people or stories about stupid and awful "celebrities". Maybe the wimmen folk read them to feel good about themselves but I just think "what a bunch of arseholes. Similarly I agree with DA Baracus about celebrities- the world could go to hell in a handcart but most folk would be caring about some tube I've never heard of cheating on some other tube I've never heard of. 

Popular Things you know nothing about: 

see also: Sex...

9 hours ago, D.A.F.C said:

People who build PCs. Mine has more RAM and a zico 3.5 punto chipset. Does it aye? I just pressed a button on a dell website and bought one. You took three months. What for? It's out of date now. Why make your life difficult? Are you just showing off?

Your mate is fucking shite at building PCs  :lol:

16 hours ago, Kejan said:

5. Poker - tried to play it once or twice and didn't understand it - either didn't listen or I am too thick for it. Since I know nothing about it, how does online poker work - I thought a lot of the game was reading people's faces? I probably should try and read the rules as I am now just blindly assuming things that I do not know.

4. Science - I was given a book for Christmas which is basically a beginners beginner guide to Science and tries to make it light-hearted, easy to comprehend ; and I'm still struggling with it - having to re-read pages e.g DNA has an alphabet of 4 letters, eh????? I don't know if it's mild autism or whatnot ; but I can't seem to get my brain to function around anything to do with science - even films. Yet I'll be able to spout of the recent census/demographics of Slovenia to a reasonably correct number.

3. Phones - I've got a WileyFox Spark X. It was about £130 or so. It's got good memory - plenty of space for music, podcasts, and a few apps - eg I can tune my guitar through it, and another keeps a record of my running. The camera works reasonably good, it's fast enough when using the internet ; I get emails as they come in. So what I am missing with the iPhone or a £500 android phone?

2. Cars - a bit like the phone. If it goes, has a radio and doesn't suck up a lot of petrol ; I'll take it.

1. The British Bake Off - seriously, is this basically a cake-making competition? In the format of a reality program? Get 10/12/20 people to bake cakes? Judges taste them and then one is voted off much?  And it's massively popular?

all of the above, i am completely clueless about

5 - TV. I can't seem to get into any form of TV series. Literally all I watch is live sport and occasionally things like Premier League Years and one-off documentaries. I watched all of Bosch and The Man in the High Castle when I got Amazon Prime, but finished both ages ago and haven't felt the need to find anything else. 

4 - Films. I have a pretty short attention span when it comes to scripted stuff. I get bored really quickly at the Cinema, and can't be bothered with the idea of sitting down in front of my TV for an hour and a bit to watch something. I've also no knowledge at all of actors and actresses.

3 - Alcohol. I don't drink, and I've very little idea of how to make up other people's drinks. Apparently red wine should be in a half empty glass to let it breathe? Get in the sea with that, fill it right up. It's a glass, that's what it's for. 

2 - YouTubers. Probably a good thing given that guy in Japan. I hate the whole 'YouTubers' concept, I couldn't name, well, any and I have no interest at all in finding out more.

1 - Wrestling. Everybody I know seems to absolutely love it, but I can't for the life of me see the attraction. I quite like boxing and will happily watch that, but Wrestling just seems weird. Apologies to the many, many members of P&B who have been insulted by that comment.

Social Media - I'm on Facebook but that's about it & spend most of my time trying to get rid of the ads or the sh*te people keep sharing, you know, pets, weans, their dinner etc.

Celebrities - A-list to Z-list, just not interested.

Current Pop Music - All sounds the same to me, which is mostly sh*te.

Computer Games - What's the point?

Betting - Horses, football etc. I'm clueless & if I want to waste money i'll just set it on fire.

5 - TV. I can't seem to get into any form of TV series. Literally all I watch is live sport and occasionally things like Premier League Years and one-off documentaries. I watched all of Bosch and The Man in the High Castle when I got Amazon Prime, but finished both ages ago and haven't felt the need to find anything else. 
4 - Films. I have a pretty short attention span when it comes to scripted stuff. I get bored really quickly at the Cinema, and can't be bothered with the idea of sitting down in front of my TV for an hour and a bit to watch something. I've also no knowledge at all of actors and actresses.
3 - Alcohol. I don't drink, and I've very little idea of how to make up other people's drinks. Apparently red wine should be in a half empty glass to let it breathe? Get in the sea with that, fill it right up. It's a glass, that's what it's for. 
2 - YouTubers. Probably a good thing given that guy in Japan. I hate the whole 'YouTubers' concept, I couldn't name, well, any and I have no interest at all in finding out more.
1 - Wrestling. Everybody I know seems to absolutely love it, but I can't for the life of me see the attraction. I quite like boxing and will happily watch that, but Wrestling just seems weird. Apologies to the many, many members of P&B who have been insulted by that comment.

Agree with pretty much all of that. I got Netflix a few weeks ago and all I've watched is re-runs of Friends [emoji38] Not bothered about new shows or movies.

My mates love wrestling but I just don't understand it. We're in our late 20s now but amazingly their interest in it hasn't diminished. Bizarre.

When it comes to alcohol I could tell you very little except what beers taste good and bad. Whisky and wine can piss off.

I like a few Youtubers but the majority are clickbaiting narcissists so I understand your point.

Pretty much everything the social media drones follow these days. Yes, that covers it. 

All I see is idiots hell bent on helping other non-entities make tons of cash at their expense and they lap it up like idiots. Each to their own though. 

1. Social Media. I've had a Facebook account and Ye Olde Bebo back when I was at school, but I know virtually nothing beyond the name of most of the rest of the seemingly most popular social platforms or how to use them (Instagram, Whatsapp, Snapchat spring to mind, and I wouldn't be able to tell any of them apart)

Instagram - For sharing photos, usually nice picturesque ones where you can edit the lighting a bit to make them look prettier.

Snapchat - For taking instant photos and sending them to your mates, they often have a wee caption on them with something supposedly quirky and only stay up on a friends phone for a number of seconds. Also has a setting where it locks into your face and can make you look like a dog/cat/clown etc. Ideally appeals to children but is used by many grown men and woman as well apparently.

What’s app - Messenger app that enables you send pics and videos easily. Not sure why some people don’t get what it is it’s basically just an sms that you can speak to the contacts of your phone through.

3 hours ago, throbber said:

What’s app - Messenger app that enables you send pics and videos easily. Not sure why some people don’t get what it is it’s basically just an sms that you can speak to the contacts of your phone through.

It's handy for sending a wee map of your location to meet up with someone in a town you don't know well. Couple of clicks.

Aye, I don’t use normal text at all anymore. Think all phones should just have what’s app by default now!