Scotland Centre Backs

7 hours ago, Marshmallo said:

Cooper back in the Leeds team today. Starting ahead of German international Koch and Struijk, who has his pick between Belgium and the Netherlands.

Better with Jack Hendry though!

Cooper left centre back

Hendry right centre back , or sweeper

Duh !

On 15/03/2021 at 19:29, G51 said:

I’m fairly confident he’ll never play another minute for Scotland tbh. We’ll see.

Souttar has played in Hearts last two games and strolled through them.

He'll be one of the best CB's in the Scottish premiership next season, play for Scotland before the end of next season and be the subject of interest from down south and the Old Firm this time next year. 

3 hours ago, HalfCutNinja said:

Souttar has played in Hearts last two games and strolled through them.

He'll be one of the best CB's in the Scottish premiership next season, play for Scotland before the end of next season and be the subject of interest from down south and the Old Firm this time next year. 

Or his knee will blow up five minutes into the new season. One or the other.

Souttar is more likely to have to retire from football than play for Rangers/Celtic/a good English team the season after next.

Forecasting him as a top player next season on the basis of a game against Alloa 🤣

Don’t get me wrong, he’s got ability to some degree. He just hasn’t ever shown it for any sustained period at a decent level. And when he did last play for a sustained period it was as an integral part of the worst defence in the Premiership.

9 minutes ago, Jamie_Beatson said:

Souttar is more likely to have to retire from football than play for Rangers/Celtic/a good English team the season after next.

Forecasting him as a top player next season on the basis of a game against Alloa 🤣

Don’t get me wrong, he’s got ability to some degree. He just hasn’t ever shown it for any sustained period at a decent level. And when he did last play for a sustained period it was as an integral part of the worst defence in the Premiership.

Wow, I didn't know his doctor and his consultant posted here.

I'm forecasting him as being one of the best CB's in the country next season as that's what he was before he got injured, and now he's not injured, so that's what he's likely to be again.

Nothing to do with Alloa.

As for not showing it for any sustained period, its remarkable after over two years of injury he's still got over 200 games under his belt aged 24. f**k knows what a sustained period would look like then.

He's class and will be fine and get many more Scotland caps. Him and Jamie Hamilton are our best bet of releasing McTominay to play in midfield for the WC qualifiers.

1 hour ago, HalfCutNinja said:

I'm forecasting him as being one of the best CB's in the country next season as that's what he was before he got injured, and now he's not injured, so that's what he's likely to be again.

Well, that’s not true at all. He didn’t play much in Hearts relegation season - but did plenty the year before. Both seasons Hearts had (more or less) the worst defence in the league and Souttar was at the heart of that. For a guy who’s supposedly this great defender he’s been a key part of two absolutely shambolic teams (United 15/16, Hearts 2018-2020) who couldn’t defend for shit. He has obvious abilities especially with the ball. I’m not entirely convinced that defending in and of itself is his speciality though.

You don’t have to be a doctor to know his injury record is horrendous and littered with such serious injuries that he’s far more likely to pick up another bad one than to build on his early potential. The 200 games you point to are spread over 9 seasons in all competitions. That says it all about his injury record given he’s been a likely first pick when he has been fit.

8 minutes ago, Jamie_Beatson said:

Well, that’s not true at all. He didn’t play much in Hearts relegation season - but did plenty the year before. Both seasons Hearts had (more or less) the worst defence in the league and Souttar was at the heart of that. For a guy who’s supposedly this great defender he’s been a key part of two absolutely shambolic teams (United 15/16, Hearts 2018-2020) who couldn’t defend for shit. He has obvious abilities especially with the ball. I’m not entirely convinced that defending in and of itself is his speciality though.

You don’t have to be a doctor to know his injury record is horrendous and littered with such serious injuries that he’s far more likely to pick up another bad one than to build on his early potential. The 200 games you point to are spread over 9 seasons in all competitions. That says it all about his injury record given he’s been a likely first pick when he has been fit.

He's 24. So he's been mostly a first choice since he was 15 has he?  Must be some player.

I can't be bothered with this pish, people who know what they're talking about know what they're talking about, people who don't don't.

As for littered with serious injuries shut up. He had one injury that has reoccurred twice. A career 'littered' with serious injuries doesn't result in over 200 games aged 24. As I said if you ken you ken, if you dinna you come out with pish like this.

17 minutes ago, HalfCutNinja said:

He's 24. So he's been mostly a first choice since he was 15 has he?  Must be some player.

I can't be bothered with this pish, people who know what they're talking about know what they're talking about, people who don't don't.

As for littered with serious injuries shut up. He had one injury that has reoccurred twice. A career 'littered' with serious injuries doesn't result in over 200 games aged 24. As I said if you ken you ken, if you dinna you come out with pish like this.

Ah I see, you know more than anyone else, which is why you’re tipping crocks who have managed about two games in two years for international superstardom and rubbishing any idea that he could possibly ever get injured again. I see.

And just to clarify, at the age of 24 he’s had six separate injuries that have required him to miss three months or more, including three Achilles’ tendon ruptures and a separate serious ankle injury that required surgery. How would you define littered with injuries other than that? An awful lot of your talk about his ability doesn’t seem to have involved actually watching him play all that much. Then again, maybe he’s just been poor in the games I’ve seen him in. That can happen - especially when you’re the defensive lynchpin of a crap team.

Edited by Jamie_Beatson